We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,988)
Filter reviews
2,988 results
Traveller rating
1,321
905
452
161
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,321
905
452
161
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantsmaller resortcosta ricanightly entertainmentonion ringsall inclusive resortcab ridechicken wingshowler monkeyspool barlangosta beachin townlow tiderecommend this resortresort staffdance lessonszip lining
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 2,988 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2015

I fell robbed, disrespected and offended by Barcelo Playa Langosta!!!!!!!!!!

My honey moon was great at this hotel, but I have to expose this awful experience I had.

I had to leave the hotel 2 days earlier then planned, so I went to the manager to discuss about this personally. She gave me her word that the 2 days would be credited back to my credit card in 4 days or so. 16 days have passed and I still don't see my money back. I've been trying to contact them by email for the past week, but all I got was "the manager will reply to you"

Again, the hotel is great, but I feel extremely offended, disrespected and robbed.

I DO NOT recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tomaz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandra G, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado Tomas,

Hemos estado en contacto con usted via email y ya se le devolvio el dinero.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2015

This was our 2nd visit and we weren't disappointed! Our room was clean and comfortable, and we had a great view of the ocean between the trees where the monkeys and birds kept us entertained. The best part was the hotel staff. Thanks to the front desk girls, we were greeted warmly and got a great room (the 1st two were not in a favorable location). Claudio was our friendly and very patient porter. The waitstaff went out of their way to serve us above and beyond their duties. Deiner was one of our favorites, who spoke great English and served great drinks, all with a huge smile! One of the highlights of our stay was seeing Joaquin again. He is the head of the entertainment department who also dances and coordinates shows. He was there when we first visited and did a Michael Jackson show that was the best we've ever seen! They performed it again this visit and it was awesome! We also enjoyed doing the water aerobics, dance lessons and ping pong with Joaquin,Freddy, Kevin, Jordan, Ruth, and Josephine who also superbly performed in the shows nightly! They all work so hard all day and night to please the guests....they deserve and appreciate your tips! We really felt at home because of the resort staff....after a few days everyone knew our names. I have to mention that the new restaurant was amazing...the food was great, and the service was sophisticated and impeccable! Thank you to all who made our trip a memorable one! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 9 on the 2nd floor, which has a semi ocean view,was close to the pool, very quiet and we could get wifi in our room.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandra G, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2015

Dear Susie,
Thank you very much for your comments!
It was a real pleasure having stay with us again. Our main priority it’s always the satisfaction of our customers, we are very pleased to know that our resort meet your expectations one more time.
We hope the you can comeback soon.
Regards,

Jorge Jimenez Montero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2015

We recently stayed here for 4 nights and we would definitely choose another hotel next time. The pros of this hotel were the nice lobby area, a large pool, a beautiful beach, the mountain view we had from our balcony, and majority of staff was pleasant. Now the cons: food was horrible they had a buffet for all meals breakfast was best but just average. As for lunch and dinner everything was pretty much the same, re-fried beans with every meal that nobody touched it just seamed like the kept reheating them. All meats very salty. I'm not a snooty eater but it was hard to find food you liked. The bars only offered basic type drinks when you go on vacation you look forward to those specialty drinks/ drink of the day none of that here. As for our room basic but that's all you need, had no water one night for couple hours think that was because so many others using water at that time, bathroom had a musty smell. The worse part of room was our building was right near the entertaining arena. At 9:15 pm the shows would start and it was so loud and that lasted until around 11:00 pm. Being in sun all day you are exhausted early so that was annoying.
Overall I would not recommend this resort. For the price it wasn't worth it. Next time we plan to stay in town. The beach is right there too and plenty of restaurants to choose which were much better than our hotel and cheaper so no need to do an all inclusive.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank loopyklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandra G, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2015

Dear Mr. Loopykic,


Thank you for your valuable comments, we apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay.
We are proceeding to gather all of the staff involved in them to correct them. Specially in the food area.
Our goal is to reach our clients satisfaction and hopefully we will have the opportunity to improve our services.
Regards,
Jorge Jimenez Montero. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2015

Clean well kept hotel and a good value in the price range. Food was great and freshly prepared everyday.
Personnel was friendly and put up with a lot of crap from some people that believe they own the hotel because they stay there. Their were patient and friendly even if some (you know who you are) behave completely inapropiately and treat workers like their servants.

Not a day went by where you couldn't see anyone doing some type of maintenance work on the grounds.

Some small gripes or tips:

1) Please fix the weight room in the gym
2) Improve the quality of the food in the snack area. Its not in line with the rest of the quality.
3) Let your staff put some of the unruly visitor in their place if they act like jerks and please accept my apology for some of the gringos that don't have any manners. :-)

We had a great time in a place thats a bit away from Tamarindo circus.

Room Tip: If you don't like nightly entertainment until 10:30 stay away from the rooms in the 3000/4000 numbers.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank retepger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandra G, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2015

Dear Retepger,


Thank you very much for your comments! Our main priority it’s always the satisfaction of our customers, we are very pleased to know that our resort meet your expectations Regarding the little inconvenience with the staff you mention, we are going to pay a close attention to it and take the actions that correspond.
It will be a real pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Jorge Jimenez Montero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2015

we are travelling to this hotel next week was wondering what surface the tennis courts are and are there racquets to rent. Also was wondering if they have connecting rooms as we are a family of 6. 2 adults and a 3 year old and infant 1 year in One room and my brother and father in another room

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Nosmo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandra G, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2015

Dear NosmoK,
To answer your questions please contac us directly, so we can help you.
langosta@barcelo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews