We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,058)
Filter reviews
3,058 results
Traveller rating
1,342
920
469
171
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,342
920
469
171
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurant smaller resort costa rica onion rings nightly entertainment all inclusive resort chicken wings cab ride howler monkeys pool bar langosta beach in town recommend this resort low tide resort staff zip lining rip tides
Filter
Updating list...
1,162 - 1,167 of 3,058 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I can't say enough about this Vacation, my family enjoy all that was offered the people are more then happy to sever you and they are very kind, they are always smiling, we could learn a thing or to from them. The food was so good. The tour guides are top notch and have a lot of knowledge about there country and the tour they are taking you on. I would be going back for sure

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeyDundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I was really afraid when I was reading the reviews on this hotel because I was traveling with my 8 year old son and I didn't want the noise at night to disrupt our sleep. I was lucky enough not to have any large groups staying in our building, so no problems at night :). Although 5-star advertised, the hotel is pretty modest so I'm going to try to be as objective as possible.
1. Going to the Hotel: The best way would definitively be by plane but in case you travel by car then I'd recommend you go to Langosta's brother "San Jose Palacio" Hotel where you can pick up a brochure indicating the different ways to get to the hotel. I personally recommend going by Belen. The road is neat and it's not that far. Once in Tamarindo you may get lost as there are no visible signs of where to go to Playa Langosta. Best advice: Ask Locals
2. Check-In: Although it was vacation time in Costa Rica, the check-in was smooth. However, I noticed that it starts to get crowded after 12 noon, so if you want to skip lines, you better get early. You can drop by the hotel after 10 AM and they'll give you the bracelet for you to start your stay. Notice that the rooms are not available until 2 PM though, so you need to go back to the Front-Desk to pick up your keys after that time.
3. The parking lot: There are way too little spots for a 700+ guests hotel. I had a difficult time finding a spot and had to wait for someone to check-out in order to have a space. There is a 150 yards distance from the parking lot to the Hotel's Lobby.
4. The Room: The rooms are divided by buildings from the 11XX to the 94XX. I stayed on the third building and it was close enough to the main area (pool, lobby, restaurant) as well as the Amphitheater, Tennis Court and Parking lot. It was comfortable and clean. It had a 21" old TV, although my neighbor's was 29". It didn't bother me because we almost didn't spend time in the room. The alarm clock was programmed to wake you up at 3:00AM--nice prank from the previous room-owner-- so it's important that you check it's turned off. The minibar was stuffed but they don't do refill during your stay (unless you "tip" the maid) There were shaving creams, razors and all kind of details in there, so you don't need to bring your stuff.
5. Daily Activities: The daily activities are not the hotel's strengths since there are only a few programmed activities (aerobics by the pool, Bingo) There are pool tables and Foosball Tables but you got to deposit a coin on them to work.
6. Night Activities: There is a children show at 8PM at the amphitheater and the night show after 9PM which is about dancing. The dancers really try their best and although not a Broadway, you can definitively enjoy their performance.
--During the activities, the staff give some freebies like T-Shirts and Baseball Caps as prizes. --
7. Disco: I couldn't go to the disco but it looked nice and the music --as all latino beats-- was catchy.
8. Casino: There are a lot of slot machines and a kind of Caribbean Poker (called Tutte) and BlackJack (called Rummy) Tables. It's open all night long.
9. Beach: Definitively not the best beach in Costa Rica. There are many stones and if you want to go for a swim, you need to pass along a river exit. The waves are perfect for surfing but not for swimming.
10. The Food: Definitively the highest point during our stay. The menu was divided by themes (seafood, caribbean, etc) but they also had varieties of other dishes in case you couldn't eat what they were serving on the buffet. Also, if you're on a specific diet, you may approach a waiter and have special requests given to the chefs. There is room service but you have to pay in full the food (This was a bit illogical since you already paid for the food) instead of paying the room service itself.
11. The drinks: You have free local drinks and cocktails. However, you can buy your own drinks from your like. A Red Johnnie Walker on the rocks was around $6 while the free whisky was from an unknown brand. The cocktails are not that good.
12. Check-Out: As with the Check-In the better it's done the less people in line. Be ready to leave at 11:30 and you'll have no problem leaving the hotel.

Overall it was a great experience with more Pros than Cons and the staff made our stay a lot better.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCabezas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2010

9 of us spent Christmas week 2009 at the Barcelo Langosta and all of us ( age 19-61 ) feel it was a life time high. The weather was spectacular ( 1 cup of rain over the resort on one day), the food was plentiful and varied. Sun screen is a must. The included A la carte meal was served in a separate venue giving a special experience and the food was first rate. The beach was super clean , supervised by security and lifeguards and enjoyable to walk on , in both directions.The volleyball court could have been raked. The rip tide is a bit stronger than some liked but the surfers gave the beach high ratings. We went into town 3-4 times each by walking on beach, road and by taking a taxi( 5$ one way) . The kids used the Disco each eve til midnight and went into town one night to Dance til 2 but the parents went to bed after the eve show and night cap. Drinks were plentiful and varied. The house wines were OK but name brand bottles were available for separate puchase. We had expected to have a family meal in Tamarindo for variety but didn't need to because of variety at the buffett ( even sushi ) and the special A la carte meal so we saved the $. 7 of us went on a day trip to the volcano at Arenal and went Zip lining, a long day 07-midnight but worth the 165$ charge ( 2 meals and hot springs included). The staff at the resort were fabulous and work very hard at making everyone's vacation enjoyable. The night performers do day work teaching aquabics, salsa dancing, playing ping pong and practicing for the night show. We loved the Guaro (liquor made from sugar cane) and brought back 26 ounces for 9$ at the local grocery store. Raccoons were a surprise but not threatening.
Christmas, lighting music and decorations added to the experience but I'm confident another week ( maybe not the raining season ) would be just as nice. We are hoping to return and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The Barcelo Langosta 1.5 hrs outside of Liberia just minutes from Tamarindo beach was really fantastic. The resort was rated 3.5 stars and
I usually stay away from anything under four stars but this was really great.

Great surf beach.

The rooms were well eqiped with mini fridge stocked with drinks. The room was very clean and the bed and bedding was super comfy. The resort wasen't too fancy but very well equipped with one a la carte restaurant and one large buffet serving everything nightly from fresh sushi, to whole roasted baby pig,etc...

The beach was stunning located next to a national park with lush mangroves and estuary to the left and vast white sand and ocean with black volcanic rock peering from the ocean. Tamarindo beach was a 20 min walk or $5.00 cab ride and offered amazing surf shopping and dress shopping.

Lots of birds at the resort and the staff spoke decent english and were extremely friendly. I highly recommend Iguana surf tours or hotel beds tours for atv-ing or the adventure combo of zip lineing,waterfall hike, horseback riding, mud baths and hot springs.

Loads of couples and a good number of families so night life at Langosta a little quiet but 5 mins away in Tamarindo it's hopping. Nightly dance show at the hotel is very good.

no bottled beer just draught so if your a beer drinker you can go into Tamarindo and buy beer at the grocery store.

The little store at the resort is very reasonable priced and carries a variety of toilitries, clothes, bathing suits, jewelery, etc...

Great trip not bad for a 3.5 star.

Lisa Perrot

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2010

An advice for people who whined about the hotel and the roads in Costa Rica. If you are expecting a 5 star sophisticated hotel like that in New York or Paris, this is not it. This is Costa Rica people; it’s not New York or Paris. So, please realign your expectations else don’t visit the country.
The resort was amazing and well located near the beach. Be careful when you swim, this side of the beach is meant for surfing and there are lots of rocks. The tide is unpredictable. You can take a 2o minute beautiful walk from the beach and visit the nearest town of Tamarindo. The resort is kept very clean and tidy. There is lot of people keeping the place clean round the clock. The all inclusive food can’t be any better – for those who are whining, try eating at a local place, you will know the difference. The bar is good. The drinks were good because I always tipped.
One advice, please tip. If you do, you will get the best service. I did tip at the bar, at the dinner and the person who was cleaning the room. The result was amazing.
Other tips -
There is a pool for the kids which is safe.
Unlimited beer and some mixed drinks. Long island ice teas was free.Tip and it gets better.
You can get the towels just before going to the beach.
There is one bar,snack joint very close to the entrance of the beach/pool.
The bar near the welcome desk is open till 12 AM
There are some musicals/entertainment programs performed every night in amphitheatre.
Breakfast starts at 7:30,Lunch at 12:30,Dinner at 7:00.

Overall,we loved it. Not many people could speak English. But, we understand that we are not in England but in Costa Rica.:)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews