We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,062)
Filter reviews
3,062 results
Traveller rating
1,344
921
470
171
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,344
921
470
171
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurant smaller resort costa rica onion rings nightly entertainment all inclusive resort chicken wings cab ride howler monkeys pool bar langosta beach in town recommend this resort low tide resort staff zip lining rip tides
Filter
Updating list...
1,132 - 1,137 of 3,062 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Just returned from the Barcelo, our room was of a very high standard and cleaned very well it had a well stocked minibar and coffee making facilities. The buffet restaurant had theme nights which were ok, the let down would be the restaurant staff were very slow at refilling the drinks, this was at all meal times. The evening entertainment left a lot to be desired though. Plenty of sunloungers to go around, the beach was not great for swimming,also jelly fish were swept up on the beach,so be careful. Men were not allowed to wear vests into the restaurants even at breakfast which we thougtht was petty and they do stick to this policy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2010

All inclusive, great accommidations, great pool, really good food, weak drinks. The beach has some great swimming areas at high tide. The beach is great for morning walks before breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoundRockBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2010

This hotel was amazing, we had the time of our lives at this hotel. The staff was so friendly and fun. Loved the salsa classes, beach volleyball, ping pong, pool games, kayak tours and I even joined them on their daily dance on stage! The food was so yummmmmy, there was no shortage what so ever. The rooms were spacious and the views wonderful. The gardens walking to the suits are gorgeous. The langosta beach which is a national park was spectacular, we wandered off for hours. When 4 o'clock rolled around we played beach volleyball with the locals and watched the magnificent sunset that is to die for. Over all it was a great magnificient that will never be forgotten. and if you wanna go out for the night into tamarindo the hotel has cabs outside waiting and they are very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcabrera07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night after traveling from La Fortuna... The stayed was great. The best things to expect: Service, Ammenities, Weather, Food and Location. Just great but not Excellent: Room Quality and Price.
We arrived at 2.30pm and the food was just awesome!! then went to the beach for a walk and come balk to the pool later, late that night we enjoy music and food and later a show and party until 1am.
If you are going with your spouse is good for a romantic getaway... if you are going in a group is perfect for a party!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Second time to Guanacaste and love it even more. Hot every day (35C+), sun every day (despite several weather website forecasts for rain we seldom even saw clouds), friendly, helpful people (from groundskeepers to travel guides) everywhere you turn.
Langosta Beach is great smaller resort with all the food, drinks and water to play in you could want.
Close to Tamarindo so there is less wildlife than Tambor, but if you look you will find monkeys and iguanas on the resort. We had a dozen hummingbirds in our front yard which faced the ocean.
Food was good and varied, beer was plentiful and the pool and ocean were always warm. You are probably better to take a $5 cab ride to the beach in Tamarindo than to brave the strong currents out front of the resort but you can and lots do. Every morning by 6 you can watch surfers out front of the resort. Heck for a couple of bucks you can learn to surf.
The trips are plentiful and enough variety to satisfy a lot of tastes. Two favourites: a trip north to the green, green farms and towns in the rainforests, and a impromptu visit to the dry season fiesta in Liberia to watch young cowboys tempt fate and restless bulls.
A trip to the nearby town of Guatil will fascinate you. The Chorotega Indians still live there and produce fine pottery that makes for a fine gift. The potter was making lunch while we were there. Kernels of corn and corn meal were boiling on the wood stove. Later the corn paste would be rolled into corn tortillas. Authentic Costa Rican culture just 30 minutes from the comfort of the all inclusive.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bartToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews