We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Oxley”

Oxley Estate Winery
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Oxley Estate Winery is nestled on 38 beautiful acres of property in the heart of Lake Erie North Shores' wine region. We opened in July 2012, as a full service winery, restaurant, retail and event space - what an exciting journey, we would love to have you join us. Please visit our website for current offerings and hours of operation.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch at Oxley”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

What a delightful location for lunch. The food selection is wonderful and the service is first class. There is no question that this restaurant should be on your list for lunch.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Omer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 4 December 2016
Thank you very much for visiting, we are pleased you had a nice time. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richards Landing, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm Reception on a Gloomy Day”
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We came to sample the wines, eat at the restaurant and walk around the property on the shores of Lake Erie. It was too rainy to do the last activity but the rest made up for it. We spoke with the owner Ann who shared a lot of information about the hybrid grapes they grow along with the standard vinifera varieties. As a grape grower myself I found that interesting and informative. I also found the wine produced by the red hybrids called Ripper Red to be my favourite of what I tasted. Complex, gamey bouquet with more tannin than one usually finds in wines made with hybrid grapes.

The lunch was well-enjoyed by the four of us with two ordering the burger and two eating the perch. Our waitress was very well-informed about the wines produced there and received us warmly. All in all it was a good experience and we plan to come back next time we are in the area.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 4 December 2016
What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to write. We love our place, and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wildly Popular Place with Remarkable Wine”
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Our off season visit coincided with some Springlike weather. As a result, the place was jammed that Saturday. Two full size buses and a stretch limo, plus a full parking lot made for a good test of Oxley's hospitality. I'm pleased to say they passed with flying colours.

The wood fired oven outside was churning out pizzas at a furious pace. Nearly every seat on the patio and inside was occupied. My wife and I found seats at one edge of the tasting bar and one of the staff immediately greeted us. We tasted quite a few wines. The red standouts for us were the 2015 Cabernet Sauvignon and 2013 Cabernet Franc. Their Wowza White blend was also a bell ringer. The staffer was very knowledgable about each wine and helpful in choosing what to try. She also arranged for a non-seafood alternative to the appetizer we earned via the EPIC Wine Country Passport. Regrettably, the "appetizer" was a single tiny cracker with sausage and cheese. Underwhelming.

This Winery participates in the EPIC (Essex Pelee Island Coast) Wine Country Passport program. The passport can be purchased at any participating winery for $10 CAD. The freebies range from tastings for 2 to etched wine glasses depending on the place. Get the passport stamped at 5 wineries and you can enter a contest for a $400 VIP tour of the region. Quite a deal.

A recommended stop if you're in the Essex Wine Country region.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank BrantfordMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 10 November 2016
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us, thank you for your kind review. We must make a clarification - our patio features a wood burning fireplace, however we do not offer pizza. Our friends in the local wine industry at Muscedere Vineyards create delicious wood-fired pizza. Thank you and we hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dreamy!”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful tasting room and grounds! We enjoyed a glass of wine on the patio before the outdoor fireplace in a cool autumn night. It's a great place to relax and meet new friends.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 26 October 2016
How lovely! We are delighted you enjoyed ~ thank you for visiting, and for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting”
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stopped in and were very warmly greeted. There was a wedding that was going to be happening so we couldnt stay for any food but we did try their wines. Ended up buying a bottle and loved it.. Would of loved to have had lunch here also and not sure when we will be driving all the way to Windsor again. Anyhow kudos to the lovely young girl behind the wine tasting counter. She was a delight !

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 13 October 2016
We are happy you enjoyed your time with us, and our wine! Thank you for visiting, we hope to see you again. Windsor/Essex is a wonderful region! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxley Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to Oxley Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing