We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience!”

Oxley Estate Winery
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Oxley Estate Winery is nestled on 38 beautiful acres of property in the heart of Lake Erie North Shores' wine region. We opened in July 2012, as a full service winery, restaurant, retail and event space - what an exciting journey, we would love to have you join us. Please visit our website for current offerings and hours of operation.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience!”
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We stopped in on a Friday night to take advantage of the"Winter Bites" promotion. It was our first visit, and we were very pleased with the food, service and atmosphere. The promotion offered 3 choices each for an appetizer, entree and dessert. The baked oysters were fantastic! Everyone in our group loved their choices. We even had a visit at our table from Executive Chef Aaron - you can tell he is passionate about what he does. The wait staff took very good care of us.Sitting by the fireplace outside is another part of the experience. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Semi-retiredOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
What a lovely review, thank you very much. We are happy you had a nice time with us ~ we love what we do, and when guests enjoy themselves we are pleased. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Astounding!”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Three generations...two were birthday girls...we ladies went on our own wine tour and stopped at Oxley Estate Winery....what an absolutely wonderful experience! We were greeted upon entering and brought to the counter for our tasting experience...the young lady who was looking after us was quite engaging and knowledgable...we explained why we were out this day and she was quite excited for us...after setting up our first tasting...she excused herself for a moment and when she returned...she had a little plate with two very tastey buscuits and two lit bday candles! Very thoughtful! We learned about how their wines are paired with music! Exquisite! She heard us mention about finding something light to eat and showed us their menu...we decided to order a sharing plate of cheese and meats and it was all so wonderful...the flavours of the cheeses and the shaved meats...lovely red onion relish...a type of mustard..tastey slightly sweet walnuts...fresh sweet grapes...our tastebuds were dancing ....the other young lady who looked after us in the dining area was very nice too and took the time to even take our picture for us...all in all it was a wonderful visit to a special local winery...oh and of course we also each bought a bottle of one of the wines we tasted...we would recommend this winery not only for their unique wine...but for the way they welcome you like family...we will definitely go back...next time for lunch and another time for dinner...their menu...while it does change often...from what we saw...looked and sounded wonderful...and not too pricey either...thank you Oxley...we were quite impressed...oh and we look forward to a fall time visit to check out the outdoor patio with the beautiful fireplace...

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Your review paints a beautiful picture, thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted you had a nice time with us, and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch at Oxley”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

What a delightful location for lunch. The food selection is wonderful and the service is first class. There is no question that this restaurant should be on your list for lunch.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Omer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 4 December 2016
Thank you very much for visiting, we are pleased you had a nice time. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Landing, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm Reception on a Gloomy Day”
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We came to sample the wines, eat at the restaurant and walk around the property on the shores of Lake Erie. It was too rainy to do the last activity but the rest made up for it. We spoke with the owner Ann who shared a lot of information about the hybrid grapes they grow along with the standard vinifera varieties. As a grape grower myself I found that interesting and informative. I also found the wine produced by the red hybrids called Ripper Red to be my favourite of what I tasted. Complex, gamey bouquet with more tannin than one usually finds in wines made with hybrid grapes.

The lunch was well-enjoyed by the four of us with two ordering the burger and two eating the perch. Our waitress was very well-informed about the wines produced there and received us warmly. All in all it was a good experience and we plan to come back next time we are in the area.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 4 December 2016
What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to write. We love our place, and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wildly Popular Place with Remarkable Wine”
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Our off season visit coincided with some Springlike weather. As a result, the place was jammed that Saturday. Two full size buses and a stretch limo, plus a full parking lot made for a good test of Oxley's hospitality. I'm pleased to say they passed with flying colours.

The wood fired oven outside was churning out pizzas at a furious pace. Nearly every seat on the patio and inside was occupied. My wife and I found seats at one edge of the tasting bar and one of the staff immediately greeted us. We tasted quite a few wines. The red standouts for us were the 2015 Cabernet Sauvignon and 2013 Cabernet Franc. Their Wowza White blend was also a bell ringer. The staffer was very knowledgable about each wine and helpful in choosing what to try. She also arranged for a non-seafood alternative to the appetizer we earned via the EPIC Wine Country Passport. Regrettably, the "appetizer" was a single tiny cracker with sausage and cheese. Underwhelming.

This Winery participates in the EPIC (Essex Pelee Island Coast) Wine Country Passport program. The passport can be purchased at any participating winery for $10 CAD. The freebies range from tastings for 2 to etched wine glasses depending on the place. Get the passport stamped at 5 wineries and you can enter a contest for a $400 VIP tour of the region. Quite a deal.

A recommended stop if you're in the Essex Wine Country region.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank BrantfordMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyWinery, Director of Sales at Oxley Estate Winery, responded to this review, 10 November 2016
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us, thank you for your kind review. We must make a clarification - our patio features a wood burning fireplace, however we do not offer pizza. Our friends in the local wine industry at Muscedere Vineyards create delicious wood-fired pizza. Thank you and we hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxley Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to Oxley Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing