We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
11
22
8
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
22
8
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basilica of st next door retreat trail beds loyola ignatius walking location
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 48 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2016

The rooms were simple and clean, with a room set aside for prayer and personal reflection. The staff was extremely kind, welcoming and helpful. The location was absolutely perfect and near both the Basilica and a walking trail.

I highly recommend ordering dinner at the hotel as it comes with a delicious and fresh three course meal with a bottle of water and wine. Service at dinner was impeccable.

Thank you Hotel Arrupe for an amazing visit!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

Clean and with a good quality/cost. Next to the basilica, it is a very convenient place to stay, considering also the various pedestrian lanes.
The personnel is friendly and the breakfast was ok. Wi-Fi connection was free of charter and there is also a laundry service.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel is a converted retreat center and is a great way to visit the Basilica next door. The staff is fantastic: one of the receptionists took the time to explain the schedule of Sunday masses, advising me to attend the 8:30am service in the Chapel, instead of waiting to attend the 11am service in the big basilica. What she didn't tell me was that what is now the Chapel is, in fact, the bedroom where Saint Ignatius was healing from wounds suffered in a battle with the French when he was a soldier. This was the very place where he experienced his spiritual experience that transformed him from a solider to a priest -- at the age of 47 -- and later, the founder of the Jesuits.

Be sure to visit the Chapel on the third floor of the hotel. You won't see many hotel chapels like this one. Also, be sure to pay the 3 euros for the self-guided tour of the home of St. Ignatius right next to the Basilica. You will find it very inspirational.

Spend the extra 5 euros per person for the hotel breakfast when you check in (you have to reserve breakfast the night before). Though it's a continental breakfast, it will be one of the best continental breakfasts you will ever have for 5 euros.

Finally, if you need to eat dinner, there's a restaurant right outside of the hotel, Uranga Restaurante. The food is quite good, and the other options in town are a good walk away from the hotel.

The rooms are basic: the beds are good, the internet works well, and the bathrooms are very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to you.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JimboDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our pilgrimage in the footsteps of St. Ignatius Loyola began in Loyola with our first night at the Hotel Arrupe overlooking the Sanctuary. A beautiful, cool moonlit evening with this unbelievable piece of history peeking at us through our window. A wonderful shower (stalls are small), nice firm mattress and clean linens, small storage, however. But what more could a traveler want? Breakfasts are basically continental, great coffee machines for espresso and cappuccino and plenty of fruit. Lunch and dinner are family style with big platters of meat and vegetables along with rice. Desserts were good, my favorite was a platter of 5 different pastries - enough for everyone to try. Our room was #207, quick access up the elevator with a view overlooking the Sanctuary grounds. Recommend the rooms on the 207,09,11,13 side on any of the 4 floors for the best view. Service was good and reception desk was most helpful. There are several private rooms for prayer, Mass, cocktail reception, etc. in the hotel. Would recommend a stay and visit to the Basilica, a view from the gardens in the back and especially the Conversion Chapel where Ignatius' life was changed forever. Very moving especially if you are able to celebrate Mass in this Chapel. A piece of phenomenal history from the 16th century. Very fond memories of the beginning of our pilgrimage. Steps presented a challenge getting up to the Basilica since my husband was in a wheelchair but there is an elevator and lift in the other parts of the Sanctuary which is separate from the Basilica.

Room tip: Rooms on the 207, 09, 11, 13 on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors provide the best view. All the rooms are quiet. This part of town is away from the more commercial areas.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 67shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were on route from Santander to St Jean Pied de Port in France and needed somewhere to stay. I struggled to find anywhere and didn't know what to expect of this hotel. On the way to Loyola, although the countryside was great, the towns we had driven through were pretty unattractive. Loyola, in contrast, was really nice. Unknown to us, Loyola is famous as the birthplace of St Ignatious who founded the Jesuits. The hotel is within the religious area and is next door to the grand church and the museum for his birthplace. Both are well worth a visit and open to around 7pm.

The hotel itself seems to be very much linked to the church so that in the hallways there were signs asking for silence. The rooms were not luxurious, but were perfectly satisfactory for an overnight stay, and reasonable value. We paid E80 for a double room with a curtained off area for a large pullout sofa bed.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wentworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArrupe, Gerente at Hotel Arrupe, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your opinion and kind words. We are glad to learn you had a good experience among us. And we hoe to see you again in Loyola in the future. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews