We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
11
22
8
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
22
8
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basilica of st next door retreat trail beds loyola ignatius walking
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile

No air conditioner or electric fan in any room even after latest renovation. Service less than 1 star. Morning receptionist grouchy. Food inadequate for our group. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED NOT to use this hotel AT ALL COSTS.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank C Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016

This is the best hotel of the region, no doubt about it.
The location is unbeatable, since is inside the basilica's area, near a jesuit retreat house that used to be the novitiate of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits).
The staff is competent and very warming. They know the region and are always willing to help, from tips about tourist points to transportation timetables, etc.

If your trip is a pilgrimage or if you live the ignatian spirituality, there's no other place I can think of for stay instead of Hotel Arrupe. Everything is prepared to accomodate people who wants to visit, reflect and pray. There's even a little chapel inside the hotel.
The rooms and bathrooms are perfectly clean. Free Wi-Fi all over the hotel, including inside the rooms. The hotel is silent, because there's no traffic nearby and the staff is very quiet and discreet. My wife and I've been there 3 times already and there's no other place we could recommend more.

Tip: Ask for a full board meal type reservation (pensión completa) with breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the best way to spend a cozy time within the ignatian grounds of Loyola. And it's well worth the money. Taste the "pimientos"!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view for the basilica's dome. They're quiet and the view is amazing at night.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Couplecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArrupe, Propietario at Hotel Arrupe, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2017

Dear Couplecamp, thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again in Loyola. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2016

The rooms were simple and clean, with a room set aside for prayer and personal reflection. The staff was extremely kind, welcoming and helpful. The location was absolutely perfect and near both the Basilica and a walking trail.

I highly recommend ordering dinner at the hotel as it comes with a delicious and fresh three course meal with a bottle of water and wine. Service at dinner was impeccable.

Thank you Hotel Arrupe for an amazing visit!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

Clean and with a good quality/cost. Next to the basilica, it is a very convenient place to stay, considering also the various pedestrian lanes.
The personnel is friendly and the breakfast was ok. Wi-Fi connection was free of charter and there is also a laundry service.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
3  Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel is a converted retreat center and is a great way to visit the Basilica next door. The staff is fantastic: one of the receptionists took the time to explain the schedule of Sunday masses, advising me to attend the 8:30am service in the Chapel, instead of waiting to attend the 11am service in the big basilica. What she didn't tell me was that what is now the Chapel is, in fact, the bedroom where Saint Ignatius was healing from wounds suffered in a battle with the French when he was a soldier. This was the very place where he experienced his spiritual experience that transformed him from a solider to a priest -- at the age of 47 -- and later, the founder of the Jesuits.

Be sure to visit the Chapel on the third floor of the hotel. You won't see many hotel chapels like this one. Also, be sure to pay the 3 euros for the self-guided tour of the home of St. Ignatius right next to the Basilica. You will find it very inspirational.

Spend the extra 5 euros per person for the hotel breakfast when you check in (you have to reserve breakfast the night before). Though it's a continental breakfast, it will be one of the best continental breakfasts you will ever have for 5 euros.

Finally, if you need to eat dinner, there's a restaurant right outside of the hotel, Uranga Restaurante. The food is quite good, and the other options in town are a good walk away from the hotel.

The rooms are basic: the beds are good, the internet works well, and the bathrooms are very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JimboDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews