We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Magical Rustic Cottage with a superb...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose Bay Cottage

side view from the garden, side deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
side view from the garden, side deck
front entry deck view front view of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
side view from the garden, side deck
front entry deck view
front view of cottage
screened porch
tallship Picton Castle setting sail in view
living room area
living room window seat
kitchen area
dining area
master suite; queen bed, 3-pc bath, water view
front yard view from master suite
small upstairs bedroom; double bed
small upstairs bedroom; twin beds
sunrise over our inlet
rainbow over our inlet
the 'glade', by the creek
front entry deck
A great place to relax!
sunset view
nearby Hirtle's Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rose Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cvschnitz...
Dundas, Canada
2 reviews
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed June 23, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is a lovely rustic cottage on a beautiful property with a great view. The perennial gardens through out the property were delightful to explore. However, the interior of the cottage did not meet the standard of many vacation homes which we have rented in the past and on this vacation. The main bathroom was not very clean with brown hair littering the floor and bathtub. The bath shower curtain liner was moldy. The en suite shower head was but a dribble. There were no crisp clean feeling bed linens or blankets. The carpet upstairs smelled musty. The bed mattresses are well worn.

We were informed less than a week before our stay that the dish washer was broken( no big deal). Two days before our stay we were informed that a friend was staying at the home and would be vacating for our stay but one of the bedrooms would not be available for use. We were also informed en route that the oven was not operational. After seeing the bathroom and bedrooms we washed all eating utensils and dishes prior to use. Electric baseboard heating is provided but is inadequate to take away the chill of a cool, rainy day and night

This cottage needs some TLC and a few upgrades. It was not worth the money paid.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2018
Yes, these renters were the first of the season and we had some unfortunate surprises, as well as new cleaning help. These issues have all been addressed, including a new stove/oven, so hopefully renters going forward will have a more favourable experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little feaures of the property; the kid-friendly house; the ability to accommodate guests
Liked least: The need to buy water as the well-water is heavy with iron
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal
Reviewed July 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal
Reviewed July 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed November 6, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver
Reviewed October 31, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing