We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
155
170
90
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
170
90
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering enjoyed our stay minute walk to the beach braai area long weekend very pleasant stay main bedroom plettenberg bay breakfast and dinner underfloor heating beautiful place garden route unit duplex rci accommodation maintenance
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 481 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

My husband and I stayed at The Dunes Hotel & Resort for our anniversary weekend. We had an amazing weekend. It was so peaceful. Definitely the place to go if you want to break away from the busy city life. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nissad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDunesHotelGM, General Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

We are very happy that you chose The Dunes Hotel and Resort for your Anniversary Weekend and we able to make it special for you. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We spent seven nights in unit H5. Reception staff very friendly and accommodating. Room was neat, clean and tastefully furnished and decorated. Room service staff friendly and efficient. Grounds, bar area and swimming pool areas neat and well maintained. Dining and bar area staff friendly and very attentive. Food tasty and of good quality. Kitchen service very slow during peak periods (evening meals over week-ends).
Wi-Fi unfortunately only available in the main building, and was also off-line for two days. The bathroom bath/shower is not designed for larger people. I am 1.94m tall and weigh 120kg, and found it very cramped. The bath/shower tap mixer was also not working, which I did report to housekeeping.
All in all, a pleasant stay, although I feel not quite up to the four star rating they presently carry.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ColinR1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDunesHotelGM, General Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed you stay, and do apologize for the WiFi interruption. Our providor has addressed the problem. Thank you for notifying Housekeeping of the problem with the tap mixer. I will follow up to ensure the issue has been resolved. Please let us know of any special requirements which will make your stay with us more comfortable in advance so we may make the appropriate arrangements for you. We look forward to the opportunity for you to visit us again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

There is nothing wrong with the rooms but when parties are held at the Bar area and go on until early hours of the morning this is unacceptable, I don't think one person at your Hotel was able to sleep that night and we noticed there were a lot of children staying with parents. I don't think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank plusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDunesHotelGM, General Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

We appreciate your feedback and have implemented the enforcement of the appropriate operating hours of the Bar. We pride ourselves with being a family oriented Hotel and Resort and gravely apologize for the issue. We do hope you will reconsider your options and choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

Beautiful setting, clean, well maintained rooms. We did however struggle with the lack of service in the restuarant on both nights of our stay and did not end up having the dinners I had paid for in advance as a result. The manager on Saturday night also had a poor attitude and approached me to complain about my take away order from the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinedarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDunesHotelGM, General Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you not accommodated properly in the Restaurant. We pride ourselves in prompt and friendly service and are sorely disappointed that we have fallen short for you. This matter has been taken under advisement and appropriately addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

The Hotel was pleasant, the staff were attentive. The problem was that they do not seem able to cater for large groups with F & B. Breakfast required long waits for the food to be replenished at the buffet. When eggs arrived, the bacon was finished, by the time the bacon arrived, the eggs were finished again. It seems as if they waited for food to be finished before cooking more. There was no butter the first morning and we do not eat margarine. We did get butter the second morning. It is a nice place to stay, but would recommend getting bed only and visit the local cafe's and restaurants for food.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeGonubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitaW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Mike Gonubie

We are extremely sorry to hear about this, and even more sorry to disappoint a customer. Next time, please walk right up a manager and voice your concerns. We'd like to make sure that such mistakes don't happen again. Please reach out to us on call (044 535 9606) or by email (reservations@dunesresort.co.za) .
We want hear all about your concerns and address them in the most suitable way.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Your feedback makes us better.

Kind Regards
Nita Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews