We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
737
52
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
52
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ben cruz palapa bar atm cave mayan ruins horseback riding every morning yoga deck daily specials zip lining on site goat cheese our honeymoon packed lunch san pedro the open air restaurant hiking trails belize city
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 805 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

When you hit the dirt road and you still have 6 miles to go, you then realize you really are remote and in the jungle. We arrived at night, the staff was very helpful in getting us checked in. The bar was open and we sat down and had a late dinner. The food was great, loved the bar area in the evenings. The fireflies off our balcony over the river were mesmerizing as well as the howling cicadas, the toucans and the large lizards. Our room was gorgeous down to the lovely flower decorations. The rooms do not have air conditioning but each room is provided a fan. We slept with the windows open and the noises of the jungle in the background. We took a canoe down the river to the city of San Ignacio and had a great trip. The staff provided us with an ice chest and cervezas. Enjoyed our day in town and at the ruins. Highly recommend this hotel, their staff and the beautiful location.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scenic396720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Good morning,
Yes we are remote and we love it! No traffic noises, no population noises! Just the soothing sounds of the jungles, birds, crickets, cicadas and sometimes Howler monkeys! I am so happy you enjoyed our location and that your stay with us was wonderful. I will make sure our staff knows what a great job they did along with our kitchen staff! Thanks you for taking the time to share your e periences with others. Take care and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

This is a gorgeous hotel to enjoy after a day in the Mayan sites... with very likely the best service to the guests that I have experienced. Everyone introduced themselves and offered tips to enjoy the day trips. The restaurant was a little pricey, but the quality was there, so no remorse.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lhzamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Good morning,
Thank you so much for your kind words and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! I am so happy to read that you had a fabulous time with us at Mystic River. Take care and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

We spent four nights at Mystic River during the low season, in between stays in San Pedro and Hopkins.

As others have noted, no wifi or TV in the cottages. But we knew that ahead of time so no surprises; use it as an opportunity to be alone with your thoughts – or bring a book and some downloaded movies. Good wifi in the bar and restaurant so you can keep in touch with the outside world as you are having breakfast or a drink at the end of the day.

Very friendly and accommodating staff across the board. We felt well taken care of during our stay. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony in the trees drinking coffee that was delivered to our room each morning.

As far as the property itself, we went hiking on the trails and floated on the river in inner tubes. If you aren’t in one of the cottages with a plunge pool, there’s a small wading pool to sit in at the spa. Overall a neat jungle experience.

We ate mostly on-site – the menu changes every day and we enjoyed the food. Slightly more expensive than eating in town but not overpriced by any means. The resort is remote, which is part of the attraction. As we were there for four nights, we were happy to have our rental car (bumpy dirt roads so make sure you have an SUV) to go into town to eat and explore for one day.

We took two excellent tours arranged by the lodge. Visited Actun Tunichil Muknal (the highlight of our nine-day trip in Belize; a must-see) and also Tikal in Guatemala. Again, possibly a bit more expensive than if we had arranged tours in town but worth it given the well-organized logistics, packed lunches etc.

At the end of our stay we went out to our rental car to discover the bumpy roads had flattened one tire (turned out we had driven over a nail). Fortunately, the staff at Mystic River were able to patch our tire and we were on our way. Full service!

Would highly recommend Mystic River as a reasonably priced (~$120/night during the low season) option in the San Ignacio area.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 423samuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Hello Samuel,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I am so happy to see you thoroughly enjoyed Mystic River Resort and took advantage of our tour company, BushDog Adventures. I am also glad our staff was able to help with the flat tire and you were on your way! It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope you return to Belize! Take care and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

This place is fantastic. It's out in the jungle and does an amazing job of combining wild, authentic jungle with luxury accommodations and amenities. The Palapa Bar is just adorable and I loved getting pre- and post-dinner cocktails there - it's a perfect evening spot! There is a full service restaurant onsite - the food was great and the coffee was amazing.
This place is expensive AND it's so difficult to get to that you almost have to book all your tours through them - which did initially annoy me because they aren't cheap and I do like to have options as well as easy access to town. BUT - we did do two full day tours through them and it was truly worth it - they stick to small group tours and are extremely well organized and prompt with pickups and details. And though you almost have to eat all your meals onsite, they were actually reasonably priced - averaging $20 for an entree at dinner, though there are cheaper options available as well.
Mystic River went out of the way to accommodate us (even taking my husband on a personal tarantula hunt on request) and the managers Ricky and Ellie are extremely hands on.
If you're looking for luxury accommodation in the jungle with a staff that anticipates your every need, this is the choice for you!

Room tip: we had a cloud nine suite with a plunge pool - amazing!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Good morning Andrea,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us and sharing your experience at Mystic River Resort with others. I am so glad you had a great time with us and enjoyed our tour company BushDog Adventures as well as the tours we offer. We do strive to offer a very unique experience for our guests by offering very small tour groups rather than the larger groups in town. We do feel that our approach does work very well and have never had a disappointed customer! Thank you again and we hope you return for another visit in the future. Take care and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Go here and book the ATM tour with Mr. Ben as your guide. He knows so much about the cave, history, archaeology, and geology. It has easily been the highlight of our trip, and a life experience I will never forget. Don't bother bringing a camera - photography is prohibited in this sacred and historically-significant site. Be ready to get wet in the cool cave water and hike, walk, climb, crawl, and swim. Perhaps one of my top ten adventures ever.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Hello Scott,
So glad to read that ATM Cave was the highlight of your trip! It is a fabulous sight and I think a once in a lifetime experience for sure. Thank you for taking the time to share this amazing adventure with others. Take care and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews