We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and amazing service!”
Review of The Bicycle Cafe

The Bicycle Cafe
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Flesherton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Cafe, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bicycle Cafe makes delicious food to order. Reasonably priced, fresh ingredients and casual dining. Listen to music, play games, have a glass of wine, local beer or a cocktail. Take your time. We also make proper coffee supplied by I Deal out of Toronto. Delicious desserts made in house as well. What you put in your body is serious business, we respect that. Take out available but not encouraged. We would sooner you take a break and enjoy your food at a table rather than a car seat. You will not be disappointed when you visit or return.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

Stopped in for lunch on an exploratory excursion to the region, and was so glad we did! Welcoming and attentive service-even scared up a charge cord for my phone which was about to die-and delicious fresh food. Loved the relaxed and relaxing atmosphere. Truly felt invited is "sit back and rest a spell". It looks like it would be fun to catch a live show there too. A gem!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, Owner at The Bicycle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to spread the love. Glad you came to visit the Highlands... we have loads to offer. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 103 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2018 via mobile

I had the BBQ Pork bowl for lunch and my life will never be the same! I can't stop thinking about it....So... I went back the next and tried the chicken shawarma bowl and was just as mind blown. Just go there.
The owner was absolutely wonderful, so helpful, kind and welcoming.
I will be bringing back my family on a two hour drive that will be so worth the drive

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Andrea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, Owner at The Bicycle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you, thank you, thank you. So glad you appreciate what it is we do. Your praise is encouragement to continue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018

If you're looking for steak on a kaiser or a roast beef sandwich with gravy, this is not the place for you. With menu items like Perch Sandwich, Spicy African Stew and Pork & Chive Dumplings, this cafe offers a truly unique assortment of foods in a very pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. Prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is very 'homey'. We'll stop there any time we're passing through. Truly lovely

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, Owner at The Bicycle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

We do our best to have something for everyone. We don't always succeed, but most of the time we feel we hit the mark. Thank you for taking the time to show your appreciation. It means a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Very nice little spot with great food. Very eclectic menu. Loved it! Will be back for sure even though it will be out of the way for me.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, Owner at The Bicycle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

And we will make it worth it! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2017

The atmosphere is interesting and the food is very good, although different from an usual fair. Popcorn was brought instead of bread for an appetizer which was OK. However, although the waitress was very friendly and personable, we had to wait over 45 minutes for the food to be brought. There are; many games to play while waiting if you wish along with magazines to read. The perch was well cooked and the dumplings delicious. However, the sweet potatoes were burnt and the zucchini not that tasty. Uncooked and charred. The waitress did offer a cookie as an replacement, which was acceptable. Would rather have had the sweet potatoes replaced when I complained they were burnt rather than restitution made at the end of the meal. Probably will not return because of the extremely slow service.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, Owner at The Bicycle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Yah, we could tell that you were not having a good time from the onset. We did what we could for you but it did not seem to be enough. To be clear, the perch dinner you ordered is called the "Big Grill" as the vegetables are grilled... which charrs them. What seemed "burnt" to you were the skins of the sweet potatoes. Some enjoy eating these, others do not. We choose to leave them on for ascetic reasons and to give the diner the choice. Zucchini in itself is rather plain as well... we do not season the vegetables as we let nature speak for itself on this one. This particular offering is the most "traditional" item on our menu and for those who generally prefer to have a less adventurous experience when dining out. You did indeed complain after you had eaten, instead of when you begun when we could have offered you an alternative, this was your choice. As for the cookie, well, this was not so much offered to you but what you asked for as compensation, which of course, we were happy to provide. I will also note, for the record, that although you might have been with us for 45 min from your time of arrival until you left, your meal took 25 min from the time you placed your order. Dumplings take a minimum of 20 minutes to prepare to proper serving temperature. Not much we can do about this. We do hope you give us another shot... just communicate with us a little more up front about your needs so that we can do our best to meet them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bicycle Cafe also viewed

Flesherton, Grey County
 
Flesherton, Grey County
 
Markdale, Grey County
Flesherton, Grey County
 

Been to The Bicycle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing