We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$109
US$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
348
90
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
90
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hoteloutstanding foodscallopsopen firefantastic hotelcomfortable roomaviemore areacooked to perfectiona wonderful stayshort breakthree nightsfull scottish breakfastloch alviefiresstevenloungedog
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 453 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights and what a lovely country hotel in a fantastic location! Our room was superb,lovely comfy bed with all the things we needed. Food was amazing! Like the roast lamb!! Wow!! Thank you very much!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

We stayed just one night on a long drive South , partly to try again the excellent dinner.
We were not disappointed.Good choice from the menu of mainly locally sourced items.
Well chosen wines, the house Garnacha being very pleasant.Being elderly motorists, , we found our two courses rather large, perhaps better suited to walkers and climbers. Another time,we shall try a main with the possibility of dessert or cheese to follow.
Perhaps because we had booked at short notice, our bedroom 9 would not have been our first choice, with heavily coombed ceilings and overlooking the surprisingly busy and at times noisy road. Worth checking the fire escape, as the potentially useful external stair was not marked as the main escape route.
The staff were excellent, cheerful and efficient.
Worth mentioning that a number of families with children were staying, and seemed to be well catered for.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the road.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Can't praise the Rowan Tree highly enough. Such a homely, comfortable and friendly hotel...with absolutely delicious food! The staff were lovely and nothing seemed to be too much trouble...also dog friendly without inconveniencing other guests which was perfect for us and our pooch. Lovely setting too...close to Aviemore but with a real country house hotel feel. Really loved our brief stay and will be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2017

Bed so comfortable it was difficult getting up in the morning but breakfast made it all worthwhile. My favourite chocolate ginger biscuits provided in the room too!! And supper was superb! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

My wife and I (and dog) were travelling south from a week on Orkney and decided to break our journey with a one night stay at The Rowan Tree just outside Aviemore. We were delighted with the greeting we received, the comfortable room, and the amazing dinner in the evening - one of the best on our entire holiday.
There is a separate dining area for guests without dogs, but our dog was allowed in the Bar area during our meal and he was provided with water and a treat. The hotel is in full view of lovely scenery and has two large car parking areas. As The Rowan Tree is sited very close to the A9 it is ideally placed for anyone travelling towards (or from) the north coast of Scotland - with (or without) a dog.

Room Tip: We had a road side room but we could not hear any traffic.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amiddletonsct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews