We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rowan Tree Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Alvie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Our room was comfortable and quiet. We had dinner and drinks at the hotel, both of which were great. There are many different areas, indoor and out, where you can sit and have a drink, chat, or even play board games. My only complaint is that, while it says on their website that they will do light laundry, we were told that this isn't the case when we asked about it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley_blakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights and what a lovely country hotel in a fantastic location! Our room was superb,lovely comfy bed with all the things we needed. Food was amazing! Like the roast lamb!! Wow!! Thank you very much!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We stayed just one night on a long drive South , partly to try again the excellent dinner.
We were not disappointed.Good choice from the menu of mainly locally sourced items.
Well chosen wines, the house Garnacha being very pleasant.Being elderly motorists, , we found our two courses rather large, perhaps better suited to walkers and climbers. Another time,we shall try a main with the possibility of dessert or cheese to follow.
Perhaps because we had booked at short notice, our bedroom 9 would not have been our first choice, with heavily coombed ceilings and overlooking the surprisingly busy and at times noisy road. Worth checking the fire escape, as the potentially useful external stair was not marked as the main escape route.
The staff were excellent, cheerful and efficient.
Worth mentioning that a number of families with children were staying, and seemed to be well catered for.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Can't praise the Rowan Tree highly enough. Such a homely, comfortable and friendly hotel...with absolutely delicious food! The staff were lovely and nothing seemed to be too much trouble...also dog friendly without inconveniencing other guests which was perfect for us and our pooch. Lovely setting too...close to Aviemore but with a real country house hotel feel. Really loved our brief stay and will be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Bed so comfortable it was difficult getting up in the morning but breakfast made it all worthwhile. My favourite chocolate ginger biscuits provided in the room too!! And supper was superb! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

My wife and I (and dog) were travelling south from a week on Orkney and decided to break our journey with a one night stay at The Rowan Tree just outside Aviemore. We were delighted with the greeting we received, the comfortable room, and the amazing dinner in the evening - one of the best on our entire holiday.
There is a separate dining area for guests without dogs, but our dog was allowed in the Bar area during our meal and he was provided with water and a treat. The hotel is in full view of lovely scenery and has two large car parking areas. As The Rowan Tree is sited very close to the A9 it is ideally placed for anyone travelling towards (or from) the north coast of Scotland - with (or without) a dog.

Room Tip: We had a road side room but we could not hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amiddletonsct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We were looking for small wedding venues in Scotland last year and came across this little gem. With the Exclusive Hire rate for dinner, rooms and breakfast included, this was perfect for us and our 18 guests.

We had communicated with Monique over the months and everything was explained - she and Steven even worked out a menu for us.

We arrived on Thursday and were greeted by Sheena, we unpacked the car and we went through all the final details before our wedding the next day. As we had complete use of the hotel, the staff were on hand to answer questions or make suggestions.

I was in the Super King Room (Room 5) which was extremely spacious, clean and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and an ipod docking station.

We went out into Aviemore for dinner, but returned to the hotel and had a couple of drinks before bed.

Breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled egg was amazing! Served with toast, tea or coffee and also fruits and cereals.

I am not sure what went on behind the scenes on the morning of our wedding as I was getting my hair and make up done and getting into my dress, but when I came down for the ceremony, the breakfast area had been transformed for our guests to sit and for the ceremony to be performed.

Canapes were provided after the ceremony and also at that point, the guests dinner orders were taken.

The dining room was beautifully decorated and it was perfect for all 20 of us. The food was absolutely amazing - all our guests were in heaven with the food. Generous portions too. Coffee was served in the lounge afterwards.

Our guitar player for the evening arrived and he was shown to the bar area of the hotel. We had a perfect, cosy evening in the bar. We had a lovely singalong with the guitarist and the staff (particularly Sheena) were always on hand. A buffet was served during the evening along with our wedding cake, but a lot of guests were still full. However, we had guests that had travelled a long way, so they were given leftover food for the journey home next day.

Everything was perfect and our day was truly memorable. A lot of our guests said it was one of the best weddings they attended thanks to the intimacy, personal touches and of course the food.

We can't wait to spend our 1st anniversary here next year!

Thank you so so much!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VodkaQueenNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvie
3.6 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
11.7 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,350 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
19.4 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
588 reviews
3.5 km away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 28 in Aviemore
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Tree Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Tree Country Hotel

Address: Loch Alvie, Alvie, Aviemore PH22 1QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Alvie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alvie
Price Range: $145 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowan Tree Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rowan Tree Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowan Tree Country Aviemore
Hotel Rowan Tree Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing