We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$217
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$183
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$142
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
348
91
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
91
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hoteloutstanding foodscallopsopen firefantastic hotelcomfortable roomaviemore areacooked to perfectiona wonderful stayshort breakthree nightsfull scottish breakfastloch alviefiresstevenloungedog
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 454 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Booked a table for two last weekend for this Saturday night for my mums birthday. Although I was not there she has raved about it since she got back. Having visited the Rowan Tree for a wedding and for dinner I understand why she loves this place so much. She said the food was delicious and the service was warm and friendly, also confirmed by the friend she was dining with.
When I stopped by to book the table the lady was very friendly and accommodating.
I would very much recommend this hotel to others and will be definitely be returning myself.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamster1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at the rowan tree hotel and from start to finish the hotel and staff were amazing. We stayed 2 nights and our room was very comfortable. The food was absolutely amazing and such big portions. We got married at loch morlich and arrived back at the hotel earlier than planned but they were very accommodating and we were made to feel very relaxed. We will definitely be back in the future.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017

Had a wonderful meal in this restaurant which was freshly made, beautifully cooked and well presented - the taste was wonderful so much so we went back a second time within a few days and again were not disappointed. Definitely worth a visit without question.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here only ate in restaurant
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainejanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at this hotel! Was such a lovely stay!

The views were beautiful with a short walk to loch Alvie round the back of hotel!

Breakfast was included within the cost and was superb! Full English breakfast it was and quality of this was tremendous!

Our room and bathroom was very clean and tidy with a bath and shower! Rooms were heated with a temperature gauge so you could choose how you would like it!

Hotel was about 4 minutes from aviemore with taxi services that came right away! (£8) to get into centre for such a short journey is a bit expensive but hey you're on holiday!

The only downside to this hotel was that you're next to a railway line! Fortunately the line isn't very busy but when a train passes the room shakes a little bit! Not too much though to make your stay uncomfortable!

To add lastly, the beds are incredibly comfortable which made it hard to get out of in the morning! (Not sure if this is a good thing or bad haha!)

Thank you for a wonderful stay and we are sure we will return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nicolelgraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We just returned today from having a short break in our favourite part of the world. We got a discounted break using booking.com.
The hotel is nicely furnished in a comfortable country style- coal fires and comfy seats. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the food is amazing. We' ve eaten there before but never stayed. We'd definitely eat there again but don't think we'd stay.
The bedroom was small but nicely furnished. Lovely fluffy towels in the bathroom. Our problem was the bed, the mattress was just too soft and by morning the pair of us had sore backs and hardly any sleep. Things didn't get any better the second night even though we were very tired by then.
Our other complaint was the lack of toiletries. Not even a bar of soap in the toilet to wash your hands! Our deal cost us £178.20 instead of the hotel rate of £198.00. I don't think it's unreasonable to expect the usual small soap and shampoo toiletries that even budget hotels supply. We asked a member of staff in the morning if these were usually supplied and she said yes but they never arrived so we went into town to buy some.
It's just a minor thing but very annoying as I would have brought some with me if I'd known.

Room Tip: Don't ask for room 4 - soft mattress on double bed - not king size.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews