We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rowan Tree Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Alvie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We had a night here and it was wonderful. Log fires to greet you as you enter, cosy atmosphere, drawing rooms to sit and relax in. The food was wonderful in the evening and also at breakfast. The staff are incredibly efficient and friendly, our breakfast waitress Katie, did a briliant job attending to all aspects in the hotel. Lovely walks around the hotel too.

Room Tip: We had a room over the road which was rather noisy but the traffic slows off in the later evening...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruby1234966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

Booked a table for two last weekend for this Saturday night for my mums birthday. Although I was not there she has raved about it since she got back. Having visited the Rowan Tree for a wedding and for dinner I understand why she loves this place so much. She said the food was delicious and the service was warm and friendly, also confirmed by the friend she was dining with.
When I stopped by to book the table the lady was very friendly and accommodating.
I would very much recommend this hotel to others and will be definitely be returning myself.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamster1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at the rowan tree hotel and from start to finish the hotel and staff were amazing. We stayed 2 nights and our room was very comfortable. The food was absolutely amazing and such big portions. We got married at loch morlich and arrived back at the hotel earlier than planned but they were very accommodating and we were made to feel very relaxed. We will definitely be back in the future.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Had a wonderful meal in this restaurant which was freshly made, beautifully cooked and well presented - the taste was wonderful so much so we went back a second time within a few days and again were not disappointed. Definitely worth a visit without question.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here only ate in restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainejanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at this hotel! Was such a lovely stay!

The views were beautiful with a short walk to loch Alvie round the back of hotel!

Breakfast was included within the cost and was superb! Full English breakfast it was and quality of this was tremendous!

Our room and bathroom was very clean and tidy with a bath and shower! Rooms were heated with a temperature gauge so you could choose how you would like it!

Hotel was about 4 minutes from aviemore with taxi services that came right away! (£8) to get into centre for such a short journey is a bit expensive but hey you're on holiday!

The only downside to this hotel was that you're next to a railway line! Fortunately the line isn't very busy but when a train passes the room shakes a little bit! Not too much though to make your stay uncomfortable!

To add lastly, the beds are incredibly comfortable which made it hard to get out of in the morning! (Not sure if this is a good thing or bad haha!)

Thank you for a wonderful stay and we are sure we will return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nicolelgraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We just returned today from having a short break in our favourite part of the world. We got a discounted break using booking.com.
The hotel is nicely furnished in a comfortable country style- coal fires and comfy seats. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the food is amazing. We' ve eaten there before but never stayed. We'd definitely eat there again but don't think we'd stay.
The bedroom was small but nicely furnished. Lovely fluffy towels in the bathroom. Our problem was the bed, the mattress was just too soft and by morning the pair of us had sore backs and hardly any sleep. Things didn't get any better the second night even though we were very tired by then.
Our other complaint was the lack of toiletries. Not even a bar of soap in the toilet to wash your hands! Our deal cost us £178.20 instead of the hotel rate of £198.00. I don't think it's unreasonable to expect the usual small soap and shampoo toiletries that even budget hotels supply. We asked a member of staff in the morning if these were usually supplied and she said yes but they never arrived so we went into town to buy some.
It's just a minor thing but very annoying as I would have brought some with me if I'd known.

Room Tip: Don't ask for room 4 - soft mattress on double bed - not king size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Having visited Aviemore many times before, we decided to try somewhere new and settled on this hotel, located about four miles south of the town on the quiet back road to Kincraig. It is very nicely decorated throughout, and has the feel of being someone's home, which is very welcoming. Our room was large and well appointed, and very comfortable. An excellent breakfast was served, including a selection of hot dishes, cooked fresh to order. The only issue was the free Wi-Fi signal,which was really only strong enough to enable emails to be received and sent. We'll definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvie
3.6 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
11.7 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,350 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
19.4 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
588 reviews
3.5 km away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 28 in Aviemore
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Tree Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Tree Country Hotel

Address: Loch Alvie, Alvie, Aviemore PH22 1QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Alvie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alvie
Price Range: $145 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowan Tree Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rowan Tree Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowan Tree Country Aviemore
Hotel Rowan Tree Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing