We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently lovely”

Billy's on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Described in The Sunday Telegraph as 'The Best Beach Café in the World', Billy's on The Beach is a fully licensed beach cafe with fantastic views, just along the beach from East Wittering with good parking, great staff, and tasty beachside food. Everything we produce is cooked fresh to order or prepared daily, from fish & chips to burgers, moules frites, kippers, breakfasts, brunches, lunches and three course dinners on every day of the week in the summer except Sundays. We do coffees, cakes, scones, hot chocolates for chilly surfers, ice cream sundaes for kids, big & small, sundowners, wines, and our web site tells you all about us . Come and visit us if you get to the south coast, or visit our sister cafe Billy's on the Road, just north of Billingshurst on the A29. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have taken various friends and family with me on four occasions. A lovely position looking out to sea. The welcome is second to none. Brett is so obliging, helpful and friendly. The food is great. Obviously the seafood is fresh and very tasty. A great place to eat but book as it is so popular.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lindel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Again a lovely visit to Billy's where we were wonderfully catered for by the staff even though the place was packed (as it always seems to be). The combination of glorious sunshine sparkling on the low tide, southerly breeze, delicious lunch and toast fire made it difficult to leave. Splendid.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t0nywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We hadn't planned to eat at Billy's as we'd just gone to Bracklesham Bay for a walk along the beach. But as we'd had a late breakfast and the sun was starting to set, we thought we'd pop in for a quick snack before we headed home as we were getting hungry.
Inside it was cosy and warm with a log-burning fire and great views of the sunset and Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight in the distance.
As we're vegans, we opted for a salad and some chips (both the thin and fat fries), which came in some cute buckets. The food was good and it's not surprising this place is so popular. If we're ever in the area again, we'll definitely go back (and would also encourage Billy's to offer a vegan cake of some sort).

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Stopped in for a coffee at 11.30am and were snappily told we were too late for breakfast but too early for lunch and could we vacate our table by 12noon. Erm, ok... Coffee was ok. Service seemed chaotic. I guess just a bit too busy. Maybe we went on an off-day. The food looked nice, but we weren't allowed any :-(

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018

We've been to Billy's a few times now and can thoroughly recommend it. Whether it's the daily specials (tasty dover sole on a recent visit, served with some very fine new potatoes) or one of the standards such as their great fish and chips or fish cakes, the food is good, honest, and fairly priced - in fact, excellent value. Breakfasts too are good. Service is very good, everyone's friendly, the view is tremendous, it's always busy and thus has atmosphere. The wine list may be short but still produces good bottles. What's not to like? This is very much a hidden gem, as someone else suggested and I am close to suggesting it should have a fifth star...

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MontrachetJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy's on the Beach also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Billy's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing