We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$517
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Palm Resort(Rodney Bay)(Great Value!)
US$358
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Heritage House Rodney Bay(Rodney Bay)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
blu St Lucia(Gros Islet)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ginger Lily Hotel(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie's Hotel(Gros Islet)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Gardens Marina Haven(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,323 results
Traveller rating
571
537
167
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
537
167
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelst luciahourly shuttleshuttle servicesuperior roomenjoyed my staybreakfast was includedhotel restaurantreduit beachhome away from homerotirum punchbeach chairsbars and restaurantsgros isletthe general managerpigeon island
Filter
Updating list...
1,068 - 1,073 of 1,323 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Bay Gardens Hotel is a very nice Hotel that is located in the tourist area of Rodney Bay, St Lucia. The staff is most professional and will see to your needs and wants. There is great shopping and beaches within walking distance of the hotel. There is also a shuttle that will take you to the Bay Gardens Resort that is located on the Carribbean Sea that is only 5 minutes away by bus. The overall experience is one that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: The rooms located in the back of the Hotel offer the greatest privacy and seclusion.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIOMEDICAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We were looking for nice, clean and safe place with reasonable prices. In that case, Bay gardes hotels was really good choice. It was really basic but you get what you ask for. Our room was downstairs near the smaller pool and had garden view. It was quiet and we felt it was safe to leave our values in the room when exploring the island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elli124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We traveled to St. Lucia for our Honeymoon in October 2010. We originally were staying at the Jalousie Plantation in Soufriere, between the Pitons, but unfortunately hurricane Tomas wiped out our resort during our trip. We were transferred up to Bay Gardens in Rodney Bay, and could not have been more disappointed.

We arrived in Rodney Bay very late one evening after being evacuated from Jalousie, and were taken to the Bay Gardens Hotel, where there was supposed to have been reservations arranged for us for three nights. Tired, worn, and weary after our long boat journey through the night, we were disappointed when upon arrival at the hotel, the gentleman at the front desk rudely advised us that he had no reservation on file for us. We pleaded with him that there must have been some mistake, as we were part of a group of travelers who were evacuated from Jalousie and re-booked at the Bay Gardens. He relented, but finally looked further into the matter, and very rudely stated to us, "Your arrival wasn't supposed to be until tomorrow." Pardon me, sir, but since when did an emergency evacuation constitute a "schedule"???? Rather than being welcoming and hospitable in our time of dire need and desperation (we had been awake for 24 hours, hadn't eaten in nearly a day, and had not showered in 3 days due to the hurricane and Jalousie being completely cut off from civilization by the storm), our first impression of Bay Gardens that was created by this gentleman was certainly not a good one.

THE ROOM
Where do I begin? The room was so incredibly dumpy, outdated, and filthy, that if we had not been so very desperate for a shower and a place to sleep, we would have surely left. The walls of the room were painted an awful (literally) neon green color, there was dirty tile flooring, and the room was very dark and small. The bathroom had a slatted "window" in the shower, which, when opened, had no screen, and looked out directly onto the balcony of the hotel. Bugs were crawling in, and it was completely disgusting. My husband and I, exhausted from our long journey, each showered and laid down in the bed for some much-needed sleep, but as we laid down, it only took about 10 seconds to realize that there were bugs crawling on us. Red fire ants, to be exact. We had to strip the bed down completely to rid it of the ants, and were so tired and desperate to sleep, that we slept on just the fitted sheet, with no pillows, comforter, or blankets. The first thing we said to one another after that, was that we were going to try to find another resort to go to in the morning, because this one was so dreadfully awful.

THE FOOD
My husband and I hadn't had a good meal in three days due to the hurricane destroying our previous resort, so I'm not sure if the food at Bay Gardens was good, or it's just that we were so hungry. The only meal we ate there was breakfast, and while it was decent (a buffet), it was incredibly overpriced. At least the waitresses were nicer than the man at the front desk.

THE LOCATION
Bay Gardens is located in the center of Rodney Bay, and you can easily walk to various shops and restaurants. There is no scenery there, and some of the surrounding town looks a little "shady" in certain areas. Definitely be cautious if you venture out.

THE POOL
I think that it was very sad that the pool area was nicer and cleaner than the rooms. The pool area is centralized within a courtyard which the hotel surrounds, and while it was small, it was nice that there were lounge chairs to relax in. We spent most of the day at the pool and exploring the town, to avoid being in our disgusting room.

Room Tip: The best tip I can provide about choosing a "good room", is to do yourself a favor, and choose one at another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColleenBills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

I am so sorry to know that you did not have a good experience at the Bay Gardens Hotel. It must have been awful to have a hurricane ruin your dream honeymoon and have to be relocated. As I am sure you can imagine, Hurricane Thomas was a devastating and traumatic event, for both visitors and locals alike. Many of our staff members had been stuck at the hotel for over 24 hrs without being in contact with their loved ones, and the hotel itself as well as the rest of the island was experiencing a severe water shortage. Although many hotels in the north of the island were declining to accept evacuees from the properties in the south, we felt that it was our responsibility to try to accommodate as many as we could to alleviate the pressure on properties such as Jalousie which were severely damaged.

We are not excusing ourselves, however, for failing to live up to the high standards we have set for ourselves at Bay Gardens Resorts and for your discomfort we do apologise. Your experience was certainly not typical of the Bay Gardens Hotel, and we assure you that if you ever decide to holiday at a small, family owned property right in the middle of Saint Lucia’s tourism capital, the Bay Gardens Hotel would be an ideal choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2012

While not the most luxurious of accommodations, Bay Gardens was very functional and satisfactory. Our room was comfortable and clean although the bathroom was in serious need of renovation. The staff here was wonderful, friendly and attentive. The restaurant had tasty food and the breakfast was exceptional with different local foods to try each morning in addition to the standard cereal, eggs, etc.. We loved the salt fish and the roti (the rum punch was pretty good too). There was also a cocktail party for the hotel guests during our stay with free appetizers and drinks. The beach is only a short free shuttle ride away to the sister property Bay Gardens Beach Resort. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I went to Bay Gardens Hotel for 3 nights accompanying my husband who was there on a business trip.

The hotel is conveniently located in the Rodney Bay area which is home to a wide variety of bars and restaurants, a medical center and 2 shopping centers- all a short walking distance from the hotel. The area, I understand, is very safe and I can say that the one morning we went jogging at about 6 am, we felt comfortable in the area.

The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. When we asked to be located to another room becuase the first room to which we had been assigned had 2 small beds as opposed to one large one, we were quickly obliged at no additional cost. Our new room contained a king sized bed and a small kitchenette with fridge, sink and microwave. Didnt see a stovetop though....

The rooms are clean and pleasanty, though simply, decorated. There needs to be a bit of an update however, as the bathroom sink and vanity was scratched and had spots. The TV was also a bit small. However, this wasnt a huge problem as we didnt watch much TV during out stay. One thing that did give problems was the internet connection, which though free in the rooms, seemed intermittent during the time I was there.

Also, I dont know if it is that the walls were thin or that the people in the adjacent room were just very loud, but at nights I was able to hear a man talking next door, while I was trying to sleep

The breakfast buffet was nothing to shout about. Not much variety of options unfortunately and the taste was average.

Unfortunately, the hotel doesnt have many activities for guests or a gym-I understand that the sister hotel "Bay Gardens Resort" does have these services. Bay Gardens Hotel caters more to business travellers. There is however a tour service desk that one could use to book tours of island with.

All in all, its pretty basic. I would recommend Bay Gardens Hotel to someone who is not looking for too much in a hotel and I would not be averse to staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jangelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews