We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”
Review of Bay Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Gardens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rodney Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed here for the 2nd. year running.A great ambience, so friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.Good food, great happy hour. Hope to go back again

Room Tip: Any overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangaroo017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Bay Gardens Hotel is a very nice Hotel that is located in the tourist area of Rodney Bay, St Lucia. The staff is most professional and will see to your needs and wants. There is great shopping and beaches within walking distance of the hotel. There is also a shuttle that will take you to the Bay Gardens Resort that is located on the Carribbean Sea that is only 5 minutes away by bus. The overall experience is one that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: The rooms located in the back of the Hotel offer the greatest privacy and seclusion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIOMEDICAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were looking for nice, clean and safe place with reasonable prices. In that case, Bay gardes hotels was really good choice. It was really basic but you get what you ask for. Our room was downstairs near the smaller pool and had garden view. It was quiet and we felt it was safe to leave our values in the room when exploring the island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elli124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We traveled to St. Lucia for our Honeymoon in October 2010. We originally were staying at the Jalousie Plantation in Soufriere, between the Pitons, but unfortunately hurricane Tomas wiped out our resort during our trip. We were transferred up to Bay Gardens in Rodney Bay, and could not have been more disappointed.

We arrived in Rodney Bay very late one evening after being evacuated from Jalousie, and were taken to the Bay Gardens Hotel, where there was supposed to have been reservations arranged for us for three nights. Tired, worn, and weary after our long boat journey through the night, we were disappointed when upon arrival at the hotel, the gentleman at the front desk rudely advised us that he had no reservation on file for us. We pleaded with him that there must have been some mistake, as we were part of a group of travelers who were evacuated from Jalousie and re-booked at the Bay Gardens. He relented, but finally looked further into the matter, and very rudely stated to us, "Your arrival wasn't supposed to be until tomorrow." Pardon me, sir, but since when did an emergency evacuation constitute a "schedule"???? Rather than being welcoming and hospitable in our time of dire need and desperation (we had been awake for 24 hours, hadn't eaten in nearly a day, and had not showered in 3 days due to the hurricane and Jalousie being completely cut off from civilization by the storm), our first impression of Bay Gardens that was created by this gentleman was certainly not a good one.

THE ROOM
Where do I begin? The room was so incredibly dumpy, outdated, and filthy, that if we had not been so very desperate for a shower and a place to sleep, we would have surely left. The walls of the room were painted an awful (literally) neon green color, there was dirty tile flooring, and the room was very dark and small. The bathroom had a slatted "window" in the shower, which, when opened, had no screen, and looked out directly onto the balcony of the hotel. Bugs were crawling in, and it was completely disgusting. My husband and I, exhausted from our long journey, each showered and laid down in the bed for some much-needed sleep, but as we laid down, it only took about 10 seconds to realize that there were bugs crawling on us. Red fire ants, to be exact. We had to strip the bed down completely to rid it of the ants, and were so tired and desperate to sleep, that we slept on just the fitted sheet, with no pillows, comforter, or blankets. The first thing we said to one another after that, was that we were going to try to find another resort to go to in the morning, because this one was so dreadfully awful.

THE FOOD
My husband and I hadn't had a good meal in three days due to the hurricane destroying our previous resort, so I'm not sure if the food at Bay Gardens was good, or it's just that we were so hungry. The only meal we ate there was breakfast, and while it was decent (a buffet), it was incredibly overpriced. At least the waitresses were nicer than the man at the front desk.

THE LOCATION
Bay Gardens is located in the center of Rodney Bay, and you can easily walk to various shops and restaurants. There is no scenery there, and some of the surrounding town looks a little "shady" in certain areas. Definitely be cautious if you venture out.

THE POOL
I think that it was very sad that the pool area was nicer and cleaner than the rooms. The pool area is centralized within a courtyard which the hotel surrounds, and while it was small, it was nice that there were lounge chairs to relax in. We spent most of the day at the pool and exploring the town, to avoid being in our disgusting room.

Room Tip: The best tip I can provide about choosing a "good room", is to do yourself a favor, and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColleenBills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

I am so sorry to know that you did not have a good experience at the Bay Gardens Hotel. It must have been awful to have a hurricane ruin your dream honeymoon and have to be relocated. As I am sure you can imagine, Hurricane Thomas was a devastating and traumatic event, for both visitors and locals alike. Many of our staff members had been stuck at the hotel for over 24 hrs without being in contact with their loved ones, and the hotel itself as well as the rest of the island was experiencing a severe water shortage. Although many hotels in the north of the island were declining to accept evacuees from the properties in the south, we felt that it was our responsibility to try to accommodate as many as we could to alleviate the pressure on properties such as Jalousie which were severely damaged.

We are not excusing ourselves, however, for failing to live up to the high standards we have set for ourselves at Bay Gardens Resorts and for your discomfort we do apologise. Your experience was certainly not typical of the Bay Gardens Hotel, and we assure you that if you ever decide to holiday at a small, family owned property right in the middle of Saint Lucia’s tourism capital, the Bay Gardens Hotel would be an ideal choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

While not the most luxurious of accommodations, Bay Gardens was very functional and satisfactory. Our room was comfortable and clean although the bathroom was in serious need of renovation. The staff here was wonderful, friendly and attentive. The restaurant had tasty food and the breakfast was exceptional with different local foods to try each morning in addition to the standard cereal, eggs, etc.. We loved the salt fish and the roti (the rum punch was pretty good too). There was also a cocktail party for the hotel guests during our stay with free appetizers and drinks. The beach is only a short free shuttle ride away to the sister property Bay Gardens Beach Resort. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I went to Bay Gardens Hotel for 3 nights accompanying my husband who was there on a business trip.

The hotel is conveniently located in the Rodney Bay area which is home to a wide variety of bars and restaurants, a medical center and 2 shopping centers- all a short walking distance from the hotel. The area, I understand, is very safe and I can say that the one morning we went jogging at about 6 am, we felt comfortable in the area.

The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. When we asked to be located to another room becuase the first room to which we had been assigned had 2 small beds as opposed to one large one, we were quickly obliged at no additional cost. Our new room contained a king sized bed and a small kitchenette with fridge, sink and microwave. Didnt see a stovetop though....

The rooms are clean and pleasanty, though simply, decorated. There needs to be a bit of an update however, as the bathroom sink and vanity was scratched and had spots. The TV was also a bit small. However, this wasnt a huge problem as we didnt watch much TV during out stay. One thing that did give problems was the internet connection, which though free in the rooms, seemed intermittent during the time I was there.

Also, I dont know if it is that the walls were thin or that the people in the adjacent room were just very loud, but at nights I was able to hear a man talking next door, while I was trying to sleep

The breakfast buffet was nothing to shout about. Not much variety of options unfortunately and the taste was average.

Unfortunately, the hotel doesnt have many activities for guests or a gym-I understand that the sister hotel "Bay Gardens Resort" does have these services. Bay Gardens Hotel caters more to business travellers. There is however a tour service desk that one could use to book tours of island with.

All in all, its pretty basic. I would recommend Bay Gardens Hotel to someone who is not looking for too much in a hotel and I would not be averse to staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jangelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My 18 year old daughter and myself, a 66 year old computer geek, really enjoyed 10 days in St Lucia from 11-28-2011 thru 1-6-2012, at the Bay Garden Hotel. The hotel is ideally located near Rodney Bay Village, and is directly affiliated with Bay Garden Resort and Bay Garden Inn. Use of all three facilities is free and available via a 5 minute shuttle. The staff at the hotel was excellent and developed an affection for us during our stay. I definitely recommend this convenient, and warm facility to my fellow travelers.

Chuck and Sarah from the USA

Room Tip: We stayed in a Standard room the Deluxe would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodney Bay
4.5 km away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#2 of 11 in Castries
677 reviews
0.8 km away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#6 of 15 in Gros Islet
254 reviews
1 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#7 of 15 in Gros Islet
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 km away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
13.8 km away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
1 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#4 of 15 in Gros Islet
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Hotel

Address: Rodney Bay Village, Rodney Bay 1892, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Rodney Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rodney Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Rodney Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rodney Bay
Price Range: $140 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape on an authentic St. Lucian holiday at Bay Gardens Hotel, a boutique tropical retreat offering a relaxing island experience. Cherishing a long tradition of unmatched Caribbean hospitality, our St. Lucia hotel in Rodney Bay, St. Lucia has built a reputation on friendly service, stylish accommodations, and unforgettable scenery. Our inviting oasis features island-inspired guest rooms and suites with private balconies and views of our lush gardens. The idyllic property also offers three sparkling swimming pools, on-site dining at Spices Restaurant, signature cocktails at the Cinnamon Bar, and convenient access to some of the top attractions in St. Lucia, from white sand beaches like Reduit Beach to the nightlife spots and shopping centres of Rodney Bay Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Castries
Hotel Bay Gardens
Bay Gardens Hotel St Lucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing