We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croton Suites @ Bay Gardens Hotel - perfect Familymoon”
Review of Bay Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Gardens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rodney Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We got married in St Lucia and after looking around for a suitable and value for money hotel to accommodate our family of five (3 kids aged 5months, 3 and 4 years) we booked into the Bay Gardens Hotel for 10 days in January/February.

The Croton suites were ideal. We had a living room/kitchen diner and two separate bedrooms both with en-suite facilities. One bedroom had a king-size bed, the other bedroom had two queen-size beds, all rooms were big with plenty of storage.

We had looked at a few hotels, the main selling point for us had been the kitchen since we figured that eating out for three meals a day with our endlessly hungry and thirsty children would turn out far too expensive. The kitchen was adequately equipped, we prepared some basic meals in there and the fridge was big enough to hold the usual supply of sandwich toppings and water. The supermarket is around the corner and turned out less pricey than anticipated (bottle of water 2 EC$, freshly baked baguette 2.30EC$).

The rooms were cleaned everyday, we always had enough towels and a bonus were the beach towels which we could take along when using the other two Bay Gardens hotel pools or the beach and also took with us on tours - not having to take beach towels on holidays saved us nearly a full suitcase load.

Our wedding party stayed in various hotels throughout the Rodney Bay village, some of which looked somehow more atmospheric than the Bay Gardens Hotel (I liked the look of Coco Palm), but the staff to us made all the difference during our stay. Everyone from the receptionists to the cleaner were extremely friendly and helpful and most importantly were very child friendly.

I had to have my wedding dress steamed which was arranged by Marina from reception and returned next day at a reasonable rate. For our wedding night our room had been beautifully decorated and we received some champagne and a fruit platter which was a lovely surprise! We unfortunately only got to see the pictures of the decoration since it got ruined by our kids before our arrival, my husband had arranged for us to stay at the Ti Kaye Village (see separate review), but it was lovely to experience how interested absolutely everyone was in how the day went. After 10 days it felt like we got to know people, the cleaners gave us big hugs when we moved out (on to the Coconut Bay Beach resort, again see separate review) and I was for the first time ever genuinely sad to leave a hotel and really hope that we will get to return one day.

We can highly recommend the Bay Gardens Hotel for a family with children, an extremely friendly hotel with good facilities for self-catering in a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2010

Saw the Bay Gardens Hotel on Trip Advisor, realised that it was miles cheaper than Bay Gardens Resort, a sister hotel, and booked it. My travel agent met the owners in London and was impressed.
Reception was a joy. Olive the receptionist was full of life, even at 11pm when we arrived. The porter showed us to room 103 which faces the small pool area and we realise our only gripe. No storage space save a large wardrobe. Seems that 103 is the first to be refurbished with new furniture and no one had realised there were no drawers except three small ones in the table and bedside cabinates. No where to put t shirts etc. We lived out of the cases.
The staff in total are excellent. In no order, Melissa, Olive, Jerimiah, Wendy, Techkla Emily and others who's names are at the bottom of a suitcase in the loft. Nothing was too much trouble, always a smile, never a frown. These guys are worth their weight in gold. As already said the rooms are being upgraded with new dark furniture, beds that you sink into.
Food was reasonable when compared to places outside the hotel. Bit limited in choice but well cooked and presented. Good value too compared to other places. You have to try a Roti, choice of fillings in a wrap. Big enough for two
You have the use of the facilities at the Bay Gardens Resort which is about a mile away. Regular shuttle evey hour on the half hour(apart from 1.30 and 5.30 for some reason) that was always there. Its only a 15 minute walk on the level so no hardship. The Resort has its own beach that everyone uses but the security staff quickly identify if you are not a guest and keep things in order. Good beach bar service and new facilities being added.
The cruise ships send their guests to this beach so it can get a bit crowded and noisey but they all go about 3.30pm and you have the whole beach to yourself. The sunsets are stunning.
There is a large supermarket,banks and tourist places next to the Hotel. Cash machines seem to work only in banking hours 8am to 2 pm. Hotel rooms have large fridge so its cheaper to stock up the booze at the super market. Kettle mugs and the makings are provided. KFC and SubWay in the mall so everyone is looked after.
There is a second larger pool behind the main building. While we were there they were finishing off larger rooms that had full cooking facilities and what looked to be another bar area was being prepared. There are a couple of function rooms for weddings that looked nice as well.
We paid less for 5 nights here than we did for 2 in San Juan, Peurto Rico. The quality was better, the atmosphere was better and the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Stayed at the Bay Gardens Hotel for eight nights and found it to be a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The Hotel property and rooms are maintained in a very high standard. The breakfast buffet and other meals off the menu are well prepared and genorous. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Have no hesitations about staying there in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The hotel had a certain charm. The room was pleasant with a small fridge (but no microwave). The A/C was cold and the shower water was hot! A big plus for me!!
The shampoo and body wash was a nice touch. There's a complimentary shuttle that takes you to the sister property on the beach, which is very nice. There's a supermarket, bank, and Subway shop nearby. There are several complimentary computers available.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Hotel is not located in the best area, however it is only about 5-10 mins walk from the village's restaurantsof which there are many very good, if a bit expensive, ones to choose from. It's about 20 mins walk to the beach at the hotel's sister property the Bay Gardens Beach Resort which is very nice and where you can use all the facilities. The beach here is beautiful. You get a bit of hassle from local sellers, but nothing too bad.
They run a shuttle bus every hour supposedly however since the hotel was quiet it often didn't turn up unless you asked for it.

The room was Ok for the money paid and we often got any one of the hotel's 2 pools to ourselves which was great.

House keeping was good. Only had one breakfast in hotel so can't really comment on the food. The bars in the town were cheaper than the hotel bar and twice during the 2 for 1 drinks at Happy Hour we were charged full price. We also had a problem when the toilet blocked. A maintenance man came, looked at it and went away saying he'd return, whcih he didn't. Eventually I went to reception and asked what was going on and they said they were going to move us to another room which was inconvenient. It apperas they were not going to tell us about this unless I had asked and I got the impression they just couldn't be bothered sorting the problem. We took the keys for another room so we could use the facilities there and stayed in our own room. They eventualyy sorted the blockage the next morning which took 2 minutes.

Not the place to go for a once in a lifetime trip to the Carribean but fine if you want a cheaper option in an otherwise expensive part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

we recently stayed here as our niece was getting married on pidgeon island there was 10 of us in this hotel and 11 in its sister hotel the bay gardens beach resort of which we had the use of its facilities and beyond doubt if we were going back we would all stay here again the food was good and the hotel was well maintained if a little dated but when you're looking for value this is what you get but by far the most appealing thing about this hotel for us was the good natured staff which we all had a great time with,rosaleen and olive on the front heleena anice esther and catherine in the bay beach and too many others too mention really made the holiday for us and will long live in our memory

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plysuCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I have stayed here on three occasions and it is the best value for money in the Gros Islet area. The hotel facilities are clean and the staff provides good service. The Hotel is easily accessible to all the nightclubs and shopping areas. I will definitely stay there again in the future.

Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
1  Thank BobCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodney Bay
1.0 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
475 reviews
13.8 km away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
29.4 km away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,190 reviews
0.3 km away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,683 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Hotel

Address: Rodney Bay Village, Rodney Bay 1892, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Rodney Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rodney Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Rodney Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rodney Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Rodney Bay
Price Range: $141 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great choice for those seeking a small, intimate and centrally located base - personalised service will ensure guests capture the unique cultural and tropical flavour of St Lucia. Situated on the south side of Rodney Bay marina and within walking distance of the well known Reduit Beach, nearby shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Castries
Hotel Bay Gardens
Bay Gardens Hotel St Lucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing