We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish curry great but very slow”
Review of The Highwayman

The Highwayman
Ranked #10 of 80 Restaurants in Berkhamsted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in an old Georgian building this brasserie boasts a wonderful interior with several levels providing different dining environments overlooking an open, mezzanine kitchen. On arrival you will be greeted by our friendly, knowledgeable team and the lively ambience is complemented by a menu inspired by the simple, hearty dishes of M. Blanc's childhood. Alongside an appetising a la carte menu and carefully selected wine list we offer an excellent value set menu and on Sundays we serve a classic roast with all the trimmings. Younger diners can choose from a special children's menu or order a half sized portion of many of the a la carte dishes on offer.For summer dining our secluded terrace is the ideal escape.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We were table of 10 and had to preorder online which my 65 year old mum struggled with she call the night before and was told that is the deal or lose the table. I know this was probably during a busy service but not very helpful.

My brother then sorted the order on Friday.
We arrived at 8.00pm and the order was checked by 8.20. We then waited another 15mins for our drinks one was a cocktail and the bar was rammed. The staff were very friendly and pleasant but just not able to cope with the amount people. We finally got our mains at 9.40 pm. 3 had the fish curry and loved it. I had the steak it was standard. My husband had the lime chicken which was not to his taste. It's a nice place but a bit over priced for what you get and it was slow.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mazza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwaymanBerko, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hello Mazza M,

Thank you for taking the time to send us in a review. We always really appreciate a pre-order so thank you very much for working with us.

I'm really sorry to hear that despite being good, your experience with us was not perfect. We would relish the opportunity to chat about this further. If you would like to do this please get in touch via email (highwayman.berkhamsted@whitebrasserie.com) or give us a call on 01442 285480.

Aside from this, I'm glad to read that most of our dishes went down well, the Malabar Fish Curry definitely is a firecracker of a dish!

I hope that the overall experience was a positive and memorable one and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best wishes

The Highwayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 431 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and service can’t fault this place have visited several times and leave satisfied.!we went for Sunday lunch 2 courses £20.00 pp excellent highly recommend

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank joannewN9964LX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwaymanBerko, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hello Joanne W,

Thank you for your lovely comments. The two course deal is always the cherry on the cake after a comforting tasty roast.

We also do unlimited fluffy roast potatoes and vegetables free of charge on Sundays!

Best wishes

The Highwayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018

We were visiting friends in Berkhamsted, and had a great evening drinking and dining here.

Enjoyed everything, from the interesting and varied menu, excellent service, pleasant surroundings, and perfectly cooked food!

Nothing more to say, other than we will definitely return when next in town!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank steveomcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwaymanBerko, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hello Steveomcfc,

It's always a pleasure to read such a fantastic review and that you had a memorable experience with us.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes

The Highwayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed the October menu which is a great selection of starters, mains and puddings using pears. If pears not your thing don’t worry as there are courses which do not use pears. Highly recommend the steak and frites, and the sticky toffee pudding with Cointreau.
Service is warm and friendly, lovely dining room, food is delicious

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 366CarolineB366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwaymanBerko, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hello Caroline B,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. Our set menu is such great value always using seasonal produce.

Keep an eye out for our next star ingredient in November's Set Menu!

Best wishes

The Highwayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere; excellent service and enjoyed finding more interesting menu options to cater for all food tastes. Pleasant surprise! Will go back!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwaymanBerko, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hello Debbie J,

Thank you for giving us such a warm review. For us it is so important to have a range of ingredients and choices in our menu to cater for everyone. I'm glad to read that our Autumn A La Carte was to your liking!

Best wishes

The Highwayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Highwayman also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Highwayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing