We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wonderful Little Museum

We have visited the great little gem twice during the past year. A wonderful collection of pioneer... read more

Reviewed May 21, 2018
GiftedSkier
,
Cahir, Ireland
A View in tot the Past

Middleville Museum is an excellent view into the history of Lanark Township and area. It is... read more

Reviewed May 6, 2018
highlandboy2016
,
Lanark, Canada
Read all 7 reviews
  
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
6
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

I was amazed at how good and interesting this little museum was. It really captures a lot of local history and gives you a glimpse into days long past. The quality and extent of the artifacts are excellent. It’s a great place to learn more about our history if you’re from the area. I’d also recommend it as a place to take visitors not familiar with the area.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank AlexaR599
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 21, 2017

This little museum is off Wolf's Grove Road at the main intersection of Middleville. It is highly farm-oriented and it has a lot of interesting stuff for its size. I was lucky when I visited, to have a volunteer gentleman who contributed some of his family things. An interesting highlight is a rock that was put into a maple tree on a local farm, and over the course of half a century, it grew into the tree. When the tree was harvested, the rock was embedded.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank TechLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

We visited this museum with a visiting Australian cousin, after having made arrangements with the curator. This wonderful museum surprised us with the most extensive and beautiful displays of pioneer life, in the local area. I believe the quality of the items is on par with museums in Ottawa! The collections were immaculate, thoughtfully displayed with dates and names of the donors. The curator was extremely knowledgable. There is a small research area! There is a beautiful display of an old weaving loom and examples of weaving patterns. Displays of blacksmithing, schoolhouse, carpentry, funeral hearse, cooking utensils, etc. Admission fee is very reasonable:$5.00 per person. I will definitely go back with family and friends. Well worth a trip to Middleville!

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank JycelineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 6, 2015

If you are looking for a charming, little museum in rural Ontario, this is it! The host was a local who has lived in the area all his life. Because of that, he was able to give us a lot of background information on the area and on each item we viewed.

This is not a sophisticated museum - no buttons to push or high technology to explain what you are seeing. For my husband and myself, this is what makes it the perfect place to visit. It's a community museum put together by volunteers. We had actually visited the place years ago, but wanted to see it again. It is now much larger, so there were a lot more items on display.

My recommendation for all - have lunch in Almonte, then go for a drive along Wolfgrove Road. Enjoy the scenery you will experience, then arrive at the Middleville District Museum (only open on the weekends). You won't be disappointed!

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank dramagal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews