We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Infinity pool and spectacular view”
Review of Nordik Spa-Nature

Nordik Spa-Nature
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Chelsea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the entrance of Gatineau Park, Nordik Spa-Nature is a haven that features relaxation techniques from the Nordic countries. Take the time to unwind and reenergize in our Nordic baths and waterfalls, steam baths, saunas, and relaxation areas. Revitalize all of your senses with a massage or a body treatment and a delicious and healthy meal at our restaurant & bar - you’ve earned it! Only 10 minutes from downtown Gatineau-Ottawa. Situé aux abords du parc de la Gatineau, Nordik Spa-Nature est un centre de détente privilégiant les techniques de relaxation des pays nordiques. Prenez le temps de relaxer et de refaire le plein d’énergie en profitant de nos bains extérieurs, chutes nordiques, baina de vapeur, saunas, et aires de détente. Combinez le tout à un massage ou a un soin corporel et un délicieux repas à notre resto-bar. À seulement 10 minutes du centre-ville de Gatineau-Ottawa.
Chelsea, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Infinity pool and spectacular view”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I hadn't been for several years- I recently visited at night during a full moon. - it has grown so much - lots to choose from and the view is spectacular. It was a terribly cold evening so we had the experience of frozen hair combined with towels which we'd foolishly hung outside. Very bracing moving between pools and steam rooms.

There was a billing bracelet issue - one of my colleagues was overcharged - but the staff sorted it out immediately sans fuss.

There appears to be a fairly active pickup scene there - perhaps partly the moon and partly Friday night?

This is a high quality spa experience which is outside of time and space - truly a get a way - easy to forget where you are - feels very remote - but less than 20 mins North of Ottawa. Would highly recommend it as part of a weekend getaway to Chelsea and Wakefield.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    233
    107
    76
    68
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ruined Honeymoon - DisneyLand waiting times”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

What a horrible service! We called a month in advance to make sure we had great and relax honeymoon after our wedding and requested about the least busy days (a monday that was). We took some vacation time for this as a highlight of our trip to find out when we got there that it's DisneyLand-waiting lines and not too relax at all. We ended up leaving the place (selling our apointments to others waiting guests) and they were ok enough to give us a 2 for 1 for our next visit. 2 weeks later we wanted to go back in the week, took a day off work, drove another 2h (we live in Montreal) to go and give it a second chance. Line is as bad as the last time but we were told 15 min and we should be right in. I'm still in the waiting room, one hour waiting and not even close to the top of the waiting list. Never again!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
73 Thank Rudy495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne T, Responsable des relations publiques at Nordik Spa-Nature, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Dear Rudy495,

Thank you for your time and commitment in sharing your impression about both your attempts to visit Nordik Spa-Nature. Unfortunately, you are completely right in your statement that the past 3 weeks have been very challenging with our welcoming process due to an extraordinary high volume of visitors during March break of faculties, Ontario and Québec schools vacation. Even with all of our counters open fully and pre opening the building earlier and for that, please allow me to express our most sincere apologies for the inconvenient and delay upon your arrival at our establishment.

We may assure you that very serious steps are being actioned to resolve the matter including the soon to start construction of a new much larger pavilion for our registration process. We are also working closely with our technology team to accelerate the process of registration and possibly on line process. Your comments are highly valued and are greatly appreciated helping us improving our facility and services. Nordik Spa-Nature team strives and is very proud to offer a service of excellence to all our guests in normal circumstances although it was flawless on your last visit.

We sincerely hope you will give our team another chance upon your next visit, so you may experience our welcoming and relaxing spa as a premium destination of relaxation in the beautiful Outaouais region.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, if you require any additional information or have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us directly by phone at 819-827-1111.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you soon again.
Best regards,
Marianne Trotier
Spokesperson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, QC
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice settings for a relaxing visit”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Huge spa located close to Ottawa. Plenty of parking with easy access off the highway. The settings is just about perfect with load of trees and a very relaxing atmosphere. The bath and saunas are great. Food and drink are also very good. It is indeed a bit expensive but still worth the trip. I like the fact that they split up the place in two with a section where people can talk and bit a bit more noisy and a section more calm.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Boutip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselman, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice facilities but very expensive ”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

I go to Nordik spa about 4 times a year or more and that's been about 5 years now. I will start looking to other places because it just ridiculous pricey now and more and more louder.

Don't get me wrong the food is amazing, but the lounge dinning area is ridiculous people were waiting for 30 minutes and then new people were arrive and take the table. Which made an argument between two group of people right in front of us, I felt very uncomfortable. People should take numbers and waiters should assign tables to avoid this.

Also, people were yelling in the silence people. No joke, the employee went talk to them thank god! In an other quiet area we had headphones and we could ear people talking. People were just so disrespectful.

However I always enjoy relaxing time even all of those down side. I just hope that my comments will help you guys to improve customer service.

Oh, and the Kalla is amazing!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen-Emereza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne T, Responsable des relations publiques at Nordik Spa-Nature, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Dear Karen-Emereza,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your comments have been taken to heart and will help us improve our services moving forward.

We have recently been a victim of our own success, but rest assured we are taking action. Unfortunately it is difficult for us to take reservations at our restaurants. Guests typically don't keep track of time when they are enjoying our facilities and most would not arrive on time. This would often leave our dining room with empty tables instead of accommodating a guest immediately. Our first come first serve policy is in place in order to accommodate the maximum number of guests.

However, we are working on a better solution. We are beginning an expansion of our Panoramic Lounge this Fall. We will be building a state of the art kitchen and adding approximately 150 seats in the dining room. This will definitely help eliminate any wait times.

We are in the midst of solving the noise level problems as well. Our guests enjoy the fact that we have several different, but we need to ensure that those zones are being respected at all times. We have added full time employees responsible for monitoring guests behaviours in all 3 sections. We are also adding more visible signage and even separators which will help our guests recognize the transition from one zone to the next.

Rest assured that your comments have not fallen on deaf ears and we take all guest comments seriously. We plan on improving continually and thank you once again for helping us along our journey.

Best regards,
Marianne Trotier
Spokesperson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We visited the site and we had a great time. The variety of saunas available is superb. Its truly a full day spa..maybe even a week..

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sputnik6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nordik Spa-Nature also viewed

Chelsea, Outaouais Region
Chelsea, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Nordik Spa-Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing