We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time and...”
Review of Nordik Spa-Nature

Nordik Spa-Nature
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Chelsea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the entrance of Gatineau Park, Nordik Spa-Nature is a haven that features relaxation techniques from the Nordic countries. Take the time to unwind and reenergize in our Nordic baths and waterfalls, steam baths, saunas, and relaxation areas. Revitalize all of your senses with a massage or a body treatment and a delicious and healthy meal at our restaurant & bar - you’ve earned it! Only 10 minutes from downtown Gatineau-Ottawa. Situé aux abords du parc de la Gatineau, Nordik Spa-Nature est un centre de détente privilégiant les techniques de relaxation des pays nordiques. Prenez le temps de relaxer et de refaire le plein d’énergie en profitant de nos bains extérieurs, chutes nordiques, baina de vapeur, saunas, et aires de détente. Combinez le tout à un massage ou a un soin corporel et un délicieux repas à notre resto-bar. À seulement 10 minutes du centre-ville de Gatineau-Ottawa.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First time and...”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had our first visit to le Nordik a few weeks ago. This is our take on the good, the not so good and our overall impression.

The good: Very relaxing atmosphere; Lots of options to cater to deferent likes; generally well maintained; the exfoliating area is a must go; come early (like when they open) to get the best experience.

The not so good: It can get very busy which for some can hamper the overall experience; their food is a bit pricey; the bigger wet sauna (the eucalyptus scented one ) had a foul smell - probably due to all the sweating. The orange scented one next door, did not smell as much. Far too many people don't shower before going into the spa. For the sake of the other guests, please have a shower before entering the spa. Towels are often mixed up so it's very likely that you could end up with another person's. Reduce the risk of that happening by bringing yours from home.

Overall impression: Loved the experience and would go back again. If you don't care for a noisy and seemingly overcrowded spa experience, I highly recommend arriving when they open at 9:00 am. We stayed until 3:30 pm and by that time, it was way too busy for our liking. I hear it can get really busy to the point that people are waiting for hours to get in. Avoid paying an extra fee to rent a robe. Bring yours especially if it's not white as all their robes are white. A water bottle will be very handy as will a pair of sleepers.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Matsebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    232
    106
    76
    68
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Dirty and loud, overpriced”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We have been going to Le Nordik for years. This little charming place that used to be a real retreat has turned into party haven. Silence was strictly reinforced with relaxing music playing in the back ground.
Now there are three different noise level, before you only had a silent one which was wonderful. You can not have three noise levels since people do not care. Your meals were taking in the restaurant and when you arrived at the place you where greeted with a bottle of water as you payed your fee. After all this is suppose to be a place to detox and refuel your soul.
The way they management wants you to refuel is with a beer garden on site. People are half in the bag frolicking in the water with plastic glasses in their hands. Laughing, talking...I do not mind partying and all but not at a spa. Glasses ended up sitting all over the premises, ladies showers were covered in hair and disgusting. Q-tips all over the counters and floor as well as used Kleenex. The sauna etiquettw is to sit on your towel yet people are sitting on the wooden benches, feet, butts are touching the wood and you are forced to sit on top of their sweat or place your towel on top of it. They have wonderful outdoor hammocks, fleece lined that will zip up to keep you nice and cozy. However hundred of people have used them before you, I never seen them cleaned and changed. Would you want to sleep in a bedding where hundred of people have slept before? The towels are given out are too small to cover the surface. The exfoliation area was covered in salt and dead skin and was never once cleaned. Lovely new Russian sauna, however patrons climbed the rocks, started mock yoga classes, laughed,and talked, (Which brings me back to alcohol on premises). After paying admission of $144 for two people one should expect more. The prices have gone up and the standards have gone down. It is all about selling, selling and selling some more. Very disappointed and I will not be back.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
112 Thank Viola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrazerBerry, Directeur général at Nordik Spa-Nature, responded to this review, 6 April 2017
Dear Viola L,

I would like to sincerely thank you for your time and commitment in sharing your impressions about the evolution of our enterprise as a long time loyal customer. Your perception on our evolution is highly valued and greatly appreciated. Please allow me to express my most sincere apologies for the inconvenient and the cleanliness of our facility during your last visit. It is certainly not acceptable and I may assure you that very serious steps have been initiated to resolve the situation.

As a dynamic and responsible company in our beautiful region and a leader in the spa industry, being one of the largest property in North America, we feel it is one of our duty to explore and share new avenues and services for the pleasure of our guests. As we are generally highly successful in our commitment in pleasing our customers with new experiences, sometime, as mentioned in your comments, we rant into some challenges. Your comments help us improving our facility to make it better and better every day. Nordik Spa-Nature team strives and is very proud to offer a service of excellence to all our guests.

It is true that we have being experiencing some challenges with the level of noise on the site and volume of popularity for the past few months, we are extremely happy to inform you that very serious actions are being put in place to ease your next visit and maximize your relaxing experience. We are expending and redesigning different sections on site that will allow different concepts of services. Each of them will be separated in unique zones to please everyone as a complete and distinctive area; complete silence, friendly relaxation (low voices) and a social section. We are also increasing our employee presence in each zone to insure our spa etiquette is respected and follow by everyone. We are also increasing our locker’s room space with a more efficient service area helping our devotion to cleanliness.

I sincerely hope you will give my team another chance. We are certainly neglecting no effort to insure your next visit will be with an exemplary inspiration for relaxation.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, if you require any additional information or would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 819-827-1111.

Best regards,
Frazer Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Could have been 4 or 5 star but...”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

There is no doubt that the facilities are great, staff are polite and responsive but Le Nordik does not seem to enforce there own basic rules for guests. The silent and hushed zones are filled with people talking loudly and making noise. This greatly detracts from the overall experience. Although there are signs, there are completely ignored. I see that management responses to other similar complaints indicate that they have staff tasked with keeping noise down but in 8+ hours yesterday, never saw anyone or any enforcement of this. I would like to come back regularly (yesterday was first visit) but this really put me off. Suggestions:
- truly enforcement the rules;
- brief guests arrive at check-in on the zones and the rules;
- if it is so difficult due to the number of people, then you are letting too many people in (consider quality of the experience and the reputation of the spa).

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
26 Thank WaynePod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing Time - Do's and Don'ts”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We spent a 3 day trip in Chelsea, with the 2nd day being a full day at the Nordik Spa.

We went to the spa at 9:30am and never left until 10:00pm.

The spa exceeded our expectations. It has a large variety of wet and dry saunas, cool (21C) and hot pools. It has other unique things like inside lounge gazeebos, fire places and open fires and a couple of bistros and restaurants.

The spa was huge, there's 3 distinct areas, one is free for talking and chatting, another is whispers allowed, and the last area is for silence only. It lets you pick the level of serenity you want and you can wander from area to area as you see fit.

The spa itself is great value, so much variety and pools and saunas that you can spend the full day.

The staff are professional and very polite, speaking excellent French and English.

We did also pay for the Kalla treatment (underground saltwater pool) which was $40 each as we already paid for the saunas and baths. While the saltwater pool was nice, serene and beautiful, it's certainly not worth the $40 extra you paid for it. It's slightly nicer than the other bath pools, but not worth the premium.

All in all I highly recommend this spa, just skip the Kalla add on.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamincarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going back in December.”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

It was lovely, the atmosphere is quiet and calming. Kalla pool is so amazing, just float for 10 minutes, then feel yourself totally relax.

A couple little things, staff could just smile abit. They were not unfriendly, just seemed indifferent. Also, if there was some sort of way to store flip flops, in the mean time I suggest to the customer to personalize them as it is difficult to sort through the footwear at night.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank BCChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nordik Spa-Nature also viewed

Chelsea, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Chelsea, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Nordik Spa-Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing