We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,461)
Filter reviews
8,461 results
Traveller rating
4,174
2,721
975
369
222
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,174
2,721
975
369
222
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardenmojito bara la carte restaurantsseafoodthomas cooklobby barice cream parlourthe grillgreat holidayla gondolapremium sectionsuperior roomdolphin tripprawnstwo weeksisland paradisegolf buggy
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 8,461 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I have visited this hotel several times in the past few years, and it is difficult to find anything to say that has not already been said. This year however was our best trip yet,there has been improvement in the foods on offer at breakfast in the Buffett eggs and omelettes are cooked to your own personal taste while pancakes and doughnuts are freshly cooked and on the fruit bar the fruit is all freshly prepared at lunch time again most of the food is freshly cooked while you Waite. In the evening in the buffet you can pick your own piece of meat from behind glass, the chief will then cook it to your own taste .The al a cart restaurant's are for the most part beyond reproach with service equal to top class restaurants in England.

Our room was cleaned daily, beds made up and the mini bar topped up daily and as with many hotels if you need fresh towels just leave the ones you want changed in the bath

At times there does seem to be a shortage of buggies

Water sports are Hobby Cat pedlow and wind surfing plus laser sailing boats. hobby cats you are taken out with a skipper while the others are watched from the shore by the boat men I found the system employed to be very safe

There was entertainment for most of the day from pool and beach activities while there are shows in the evening at the theatre

While it might be a bit expensive we found the trip to Havana to be well worth wile
when everything is taken into account this is the best value for money holiday I have found.and this was our best visit so i am already looking to return

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dqn77n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you have had an amazing holiday with us.

We appreciate your loyalty comming over and over again as well as your words saying this time was the best time. That shows we are in a good path. Thank you for your praises to our services at the buffet and to our staff, they are the main asset we have. Great to hear you were pretty active and try different stuffs like a trip to Havana.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world and we will be very happy to have you back to our hotel anytime soon.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Not what you expect pool good rooms good beach good food terrible always cold same food everyday service poor expect lots of queuing if you like chips you won't see them they have none beach restraint rubbish food terrible their if you want beach sunbed get up early beach staff save them fortemselves so when you go down they always expect tips as if they are doing you favours good luck if you go to this hotel and yes watch out for the French Canadians ignorant people

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank barny445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

We would like to apologize if your stay in our hotel was not as satisfactory as you were expecting. We appreciate your review and we really sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced. We've been having some issues with the availability of potatoes and potatoes chips, this is not a commong situation at our resort. Nevertheless we will analize all the problems mentioned by you with our staff and we will work to eliminate them. Also we have clients mainly Canadian and British, we do not like the insults so please, keep them to yourself.

Kind regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Another great holiday in Cuba. Loved Playa Pesquera it's a large hotel with rooms in blocks of two tiers we had a lovely room in block 10 which was pretty central to everything. It was large with a king size bed and a good bathroom it was kept immaculate by our lovely housekeeper Anna Iris who was so pleasant and kind. All the hotel is kept spotless cleaning everything all the time as are the gardens. I have never seen such a large swimming pool It's beautiful plenty of Sun beds can get one anytime. There's a lovely little bar at the pool with a very friendly lady making cocktails also a pool bar The beach is gorgeous again plenty of beds but limited umbrellas'try the freshly made pizza at the beach There are lots of Al a carte restaurants to choose from you can book 4 a week we particularly liked the Italian. Buffet restaurants had limited choice but you will find something and you won't go hungry as there's other places to eat theres one next to the pool area where you can have breakfast and lunch which was really good at night it's the grill restaurant. There's the lobby bar which is busy and very lively a 24 hour at the beer garden where you get bottled beer and tapas recommend this bar also the mojito bar and an ice cream parlour. The staff are very friendly and helpful all Cuban people are so friendly and welcoming Entertainment varies from Cuban music to singers watch the water ballet and shows in the Theatre Really loved this hotel and would definitely return.

Stayed: March 2018
4  Thank tamyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

We would like to thank you for your review, it was lovely. We are happy to know that you’ve had a very nice stay with us at Playa Pesquero. We really appreciate all your praises given to our services, they are made with hard work and loads of love. Great to know you enjoyed our food, that encourage us to work harder to please our clients. Thank you for sharing with the world and we will be very pleased when you return once again.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We recently came back from a one week stay at this resort. It was our first time visiting Holguín and we were extremely pleased. The airport customs was very smooth and quick as well as the bus ride to the hotel( 50 minutes ). We were very impressed with the level of customer service once we arrived at the hotel !! Everyone was extremely nice and welcoming. The resort itself is beautiful with perfectly manicured grounds and free of any garbage or debris. The staff work really hard and deserve many compliments. The room was always clean and bug free and any issue with maintenance was quickly taken care of when reported. The food was great and always plentiful , with many places to find food and the restaurant staff work really hard to provide people excellent service. The beach was clean , the water was warm and beautiful, however the only issue to point out was that there were come local men who made a point of reserving loungers/palapas for pay. We witness them tying their own clothing to specific spots for people who sometimes shown up and sometimes didn’t. We did not appreciate this. All in all this was one of the best vacation spot we have experience in Cuba for the past 10 years. We will definitely be coming back and would recommend anyone to visit the Playa Pesquero hotel.

Stayed: March 2018
6  Thank Rosita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

We would like to thank you for your review, it was lovely, also for the five point. We are happy to know that you’ve had a very nice stay with us at Playa Pesquero. We really appreciate how nice you are and all your praises to our facilities, services and mainly our staff, they are our main asset an one of the main reason clients returns over and over again. Thank you for sharing your concerns we will analize them to address this issue. Thank you for sharing with the world and we will be very pleased when you return once again.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We visited this hotel for 2 weeks in feb/Mar,lovely hotel,great people and beach,the rooms are very big and kept clean.the hotel could do with a bit of a refurb but not a problem. The food was good but very repetitive although the alaCarte restaurants are first class.would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elsie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you have had an amazing holiday with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with the world and we will be very happy to have you back to our hotel anytime soon.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews