We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Certificate of Excellence
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had a great time at the Brisas, myself, my husband and two daughters all loved it. It was so relaxing and friendly. We spent everyday on the beach and always found shade under a tree or parasol if we go up early enough, but you could get sunbeds for most of the day. The pool area was stifling hot as there was no breeze so we stuck with the beach and it was a beautiful beach. The local market was only a short walk away by either the promenade or the main road and well worth visiting, though the costs of items were pretty much the same as on resort.

We had connecting rooms in the hotel which we asked for and they were great, OK so they were tired, but everything worked and had everything we needed, the maid cleaned them daily and left fresh towels and made wonderful towel art. We had views of the beach and the pool and we didn't hear too much noise at night from the 24 hour bar. We preferred the hotel to the Villa as we had our kids with us and it was closer to everything for them, but if we were on our own I would probably have preferred larger rooms that the Villas have.

All the staff were friendly and we never saw a miserable face whilst there. We ate in all the restaurants, and the Italian and the International were our favourite for food but the Seafood had the best atmosphere as the waiters all have mini acts, such as singing, magic, musicians and they put on a few mini shows in between serving food in the evening which I thought was great. We loved the Cuban for breakfast as it was so relaxing sitting overlooking the beach whilst breakfast is served to you, a much nicer experience than the Buffet, but the food was OK in the buffet too and we didn't have a bad meal whilst there.

We went to the disco a couple of times and my eldest daughter went with friends she had made, it was great fun, though my husband and I didn't stay till the end as we were worn out by all the sunbathing and fresh air!!

We met great friends at the TA meal which we went to and I would recommend others do this to meet your fellow TA'ers, as we hopefully will stay in touch.

We renewed our vows whilst there and it was amazing, so much better than I expected (and I expected it to be amazing) and Yoania the wedding co-ordinator was great and so approachable - I felt and was treated like a princess by everyone, staff and fellow guests alike.

We had gorgeous weather for the most part but our last day and half was on/off rain and so much rain on our final day that we were flooded but the maid came to the rescue with towels and soon cleaned it up with buckets and mops.

The rep was also very attentive and kept us up to date with flight times etc.

All in all it was great holiday and would recommend it to anyone of any age as whatever you want, whether it be quiet, relaxing or fun, you will find it. And yes, we would go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank skinny1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    1,761
    597
    258
    123
See reviews for
1,212
1,597
117
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just back from another great stay at Brisas. Loved it as usual! We brought some first timers again this year and they absolutely loved it.
The resort has had some great upgrades and they are very well received by everyone I talked with. The Havana Club bar is very nice and overlooks a great deal of the resort from the top of the hotel (very hot in the afternoon!)...Awesome sunsets from there! The Bucanero and The International restaurants are very classy additions as well.
Checked in, bags dropped off to room, and was at the bar meeting up with friends within 20 minutes...It was 10:30 p.m. so things were smoother than mid day and, (being on the hotel side), there weren't as many people checking in as the villa side.
Met up with many other folks who have, by chance, been at Brisas various other years the same time as I...Guess they share the same fondness of the place as I have. As well, got to meet many new friends who were first-timers to this resort and they all enjoyed their stay as well.
It did rain a good part of 3 days while I was there...how can I ever forgive the resort for that??? LOL! (just kiddin') On the last night of rain, they had the largest rain storm in 15 years (according to locals). I have included pics with this review of the massive erosion of the beach. I was told by one of the workers on the beach that they would be trucking new sand in from Guardalavaca beach area...I'm sure they will have that done soon, as they were working on it the very next morning(but maybe on Cuba time...lol).
We didn't let the rain spoil one minute of our vacation...I'd rather be in Cuban rain than Canadian snow!!!
The food I chose was fine and I usually stick to things that I am familiar with in the ala cartes and buffets...some things I am hungry for now that I'm back home....mmmmm chicken and fries....... You can even order poutine (fries, gravy and cheese for those not familiar) at the 24 hr grill.
We had an awesome Trip Advisor dinner with very awesome folks from Scotland and Wales. What an awesome way to put faces to names you see on the site!
I always manage to meet great, new friends here and this year was no exception.....
In a nut shell, It was a great stay, and although this resort may not be for everyone, it is my favorite of the resorts I've been to in Cuba and I am looking forward to returning next year!!!
Till then.....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annap.Valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel is now very tired; e.g. one of the chairs in our room had a broken leg, water dripped in from the bathroom above, the television didn't work.
The buffet area felt like a noisy canteen, if you have to go there it's better to go later in service to avoid a queue, families with children are allowed to queue jump. The bookable restaurants are a far better option, both in atmosphere and food choice; you can book these from the Saturday morning for the week ahead.
The hotel is right on the beach and has a number of pools.

Room Tip: The quality of the rooms is very variable. Rooms in the villas are in a quieter location than in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scallyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the Brisas at the end of March for two weeks as a couple. We were in block 4 of the villas and had a lovely ocean view.
We went well prepared and had read hundreds of reviews as so many of us do so we knew exactly what to expect, however....this hotel exceeds everything we had read. Take no notice of those that moan about, shabby this and tired that. We saw a few cracked floor tiles, that's all! The rooms are fresh and kept spotlessly clean, the outside areas are fresh and spotlessly clean, they work continuously to improve and of course Cuba is a wonderful wonderful place with breathtaking scenery and beaches to die for. The Cubans are warm, friendly and very accommodating and it was their hospitality that truly made this holiday as amazing as it was.
To be laying in that warm sunshine when a gardener comes along, pulls a coconut down from the tree, whip off the top, pop in a straw and hand it over with a smile and a tip of his hat was great. The bartender in El Patio (sorry his name escapes me but he looked like Nat King Cole ;o) who called out 'Morning honey' with a wave every morning, the friendly reception staff, yes I said friendly, in fact the only bad attitude encountered at the desk was the guests not the staff! The man on the beach who swept leaves and sea weed who always said good morning, in fact everyone said 'hola' with a smile, even a group of Cuban teens who were walking along the beach one day, everyone we came across was so friendly.
If you want to compare this hotel to the 5* down the road or sparkling new resorts in other countries then you're only setting yourself up for a fall but if you want to visit and experience Cuba in a clean, friendly and beachfront location then this is the place for you.

Your holiday is what YOU make it. Brisas will provide you with the tools and the rest is up to you. You will notice on here that some people party, some chill, sightsee or just unwind. Whatever your holiday expectations are then you have everything you need to achieve exactly that at Brisas
One thing I will never forget about Cuba is that we all talk of the poverty etc but I'll say this. They may be poorer in the bank but their lives are far richer that we could ever hope to achieve and that shows, go on, go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Starider1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Nice rooms, good food / drinks, excellent beaches, friendly and attentive staff. Absolutely lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the pool / stage area if you are seeking peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boudica_Blighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didsbury, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Holiday was wonderful. Very warm, grounds were beautiful, TONES of food that had flavor, shopping within 5 minutes (walking) and entertainment everywhere!!!!!!!!!! Danelle a "local" (horse and buggy guy) took us to his home. The only thing that really PISSED me off was in my mini fridge they only gave me ONE BOTTLE OF WATER FOR THE WHOLE WEEK! I had to buy the rest. I complained a LOT, but they told me to go to the bar and they would give me some from the tap. YUCK. They knew I was nursing my baby, but still refused to give me anything more than that ONE BLLEEEEPPPING bottle. Other than that the resort was wonderful and beautiful and the staff were AWESOME...everyone spoke english and other languages!!!!
Trina

Room Tip: The rooms were okay, but the beds were very firm. SPARE BED was AWFUL! Firm like the main bed, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We never tried Cuba mainly because of the bad food reviews, we love to eat & I especially would be miserable if I didn't like the food. Well, we finally decided to go and think we must have picked the right resort. The food was great at the buffet & there's 6 a la cartes, we tried 2, the seafood & the Buccanere, both were excellent. We were happy eating at the buffet, so much to choose from, always fresh. The resort was also very clean, the weather beautiful, great entertainment every night. We enjoyed walking along the beach boardwalk to the flea market almost every day. Our room was oceanview, third floor, beautiful!!! Our only regret was that we only went for 1 week. We're going back very soon...

Al & C.C.

Room Tip: We liked where we stayed, 3rd floor oceanview, we didn't find it noisy, some people say the vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guardalavaca
10.8 km away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
135.2 km away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,455 reviews
4.6 km away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,569 reviews
7.0 km away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,640 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel

Property: Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Address: Calle 2, Playa, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Hotel Guardalavaca
Guardalavaca Brisas Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel Holguin Province, Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing