We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing in the Caribbean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Rio de Luna y Mares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“relaxing in the Caribbean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We came to Emerald Beach for sports and relaxing. Well, relaxing worked very well, sports were a bit special at first.

The hotel was perfect. It has two parts, a quiet part (Luna) and a part with action (Mares). They had life cuban music every evening in a quality rarely found anywhere in europe.
The beach is perfectly caribbean. All the colors are there. Sufficient trees for shade abundant.

The hotel is older, but in a good shape. The rooms in the Luna part (we did not see the other) are comfortable and have a lot of space. The staff was very friendly and helpful, English is no problem to them. Many staff members speak french, some german.

Sports - Sailing meant you have to sign in for a hobie-ride out and back to the beach, you are carried by a cuban sailor, don't do anything by yourself, just enjoy.(Forget Wind-Surfing, they are closing the spot when the wind is strong enough). Well, the hobie sailers were excellent and the organization of scuba diving was perfect, so we had a lot of sporty action and fun.

Cuban life - you'll have to go to Holguin or -better- to Santiago de Cuba by taxi. Go in the morning, the taxi driver will always wait for you to go back. It is not expensive. If you can, book a saturday overnight tour at one of the hotel travel agents, it's fantastic, if you like the cuban music (you cannot stay in a hotel without pre-booking).

Let go your expectations, dive into caribbean life, enjoy the stylish beach restaurants of the hotel and the nice people you can meet here.

We had a great time here and we are sure to come back.
Achim, Ursula and Julia(17)

Room Tip: Book Luna for a quiet room. Book Mares to be near the action
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Achimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,542
    1,981
    645
    202
    121
See reviews for
1,399
2,673
194
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We returned April 2nd and had a wonderful time. So nice to see all the same staff. Roger at the buffet is wonderful always has a big smile. We have been to the Sol Mares many times and I must say it's our favorit. It is dated but kept very clean. We stayed at the Playa Tequres the first week and the Mares the second. The food is Very good.
Please make sure you tip for good service, this is how they make there money. the bank is very busy in the morning.
ANYONE that has negative things to say about this resort is FUSSY.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank firefighterchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

10th time at luna & mares 1st till 27th march 4 fantastice weeks , as i have said before so many people can not be wrong, it as become our 2nd home WHY, Its freindly get to now a lot of diffrent people, the staff from the very top to the guys keeping the beach clean every day are there to make your stay the best you can have.
would like to thank Lily-Lina-Niover-cecilia customer services for looking after us and a big thank you for our anniversary meal it was fantastic. met a canadian family that where very nice people. check out their review NATHALIE B Quebec 24th march 2012 their first time at resort and they gave it 5 star rating. could write all day so please check all other reviews.
will be coming back for sure Hola to all our freinds at Luna & Mares

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaylover501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Sol Rio Luna Y Mares for the first week in April. We went with a group of 17 as we got married at the resort. We had concerns after reading some bad reviews. We have traveled all over the world and have experienced everything from five star luxury hotels to back-packers hostels. Here are our thoughts;

Rooms - We were lucky enough to get sea views for all of our guests. Amazing!!!! I emailed the hotel a year in advance to request this. Well worth it. All rooms are very clean however they are quite dated. We spent minimal time in our rooms so really didn't matter.

Food/drink - Excellent choice, all very hot and staff were very accommodating especially in our requests for a table for 18 at the last minute. Drinks came very quickly and none of our group struggled to find something they enjoyed. I am a red wine lover and can be quite picky, I wasn't expecting much from the red wine as I have visited Cuba before and it wasn't too great then, however this time I was pleasantly surprised and drank plenty!! :)

Beach - WOW! The best beach we have ever had the pleasure to stay on. Loads of bars, sunbeds, shade and all very clean. The colors of the sea and sand are spectacular!!

Staff - Amazing! Always smiling and very, very helpful. They work very hard and I didn't feel as though I had to tip to get good service as I have felt at other resorts in Cuba in the past. Yilena and Lilly in the customer service and weddings team are excellent. They work very hard to ensure everything is perfect. They made our wedding day better than we could have ever imagined.

Entertainment - Beach disco is very fun if you've had a lot of rum. We were there most nights and as we were in a group found it very messy and entertaining. The hotel put on entertainment at Mares pool during the day and there is something different most evenings. Water Ballet is excellent.

Check-in - We went with Thomson and were able to check-in on the coach. What a great idea and think every holiday should start like this. Much better than previous trips to Cuba.

Excursions - We went on the Island Paradise for the second time. Loved it as much as the first time and if you think Playa Esmerelda is lovely just wait till you see the island. Beautiful!!

Wedding - From the pre-wedding meeting to the ceremony and the evening meal, everything went perfectly. My bridesmaids and I were able to go for a spa day and massage in the hotel before getting ready for the wedding - very relaxing. Our guests went and had their hair and nails done and were very impressed. Our photos are great - much better than expected. The 3 piece Cuban band is worth every penny for the ceremony. We paid extra for a Caribbean special meal and everyone agreed it was the best meal of the week. 14CUC per person, well worth it. Yilena (wedding coordinator) and Lilly were both great, and really helped put my mind at ease. They do a great job and would recommend them to any of my friends!! :)

In summary, we would give our holiday/wedding a 10/10. Everyone in our party had a great time and I don't think it would have been as successful anywhere else. Thank you to all the staff at SRLM for making this the best holiday ever!! :)

Room Tip: rooms on Luna side are quieter. 5219 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank natfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was the best holiday I have ever been on the hotel was clean every day the maids even made swans out of our towels :-)
The staff was so lovely and could not do enough for you. The entertainment team was wonderful from playing games on the beach and around the pool to putting on shows in the evening. The food was stunning and there was so much to choose from and most of it was cooked fresh in front of you.
There was so much to do there and we also went swimming with dolphins which was amazing and great value for money!
I loved every minute of this holiday and I cant wait to return there!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We returned home from our honeymoon 29/03/12, we had 2 amazing weeks here. We stayed in 5310 on the Luna side and it had the most amazing ocean view from our balcony. I had read many reviews before going and some of the negative ones did make me worry a little but there was really no need. Yes the rooms are a little dated, but extremely clean with everything you need, large beds, tv, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge with freezer compartment, coffee maker, cd player air con...etc etc...
We travelled with Thomas Cook and they great with the exception of the flight home, which is nothing to do with the hotel so I won't go into that.
Our rep Nancy.... well what can I say... she is amazing, we love her to bits, she can't do enough for you, I recommend you go to your welcome meeting as it is worth while but if you are travelling with Thomas cook Nancy will be more than happy to help you with anything should you miss it.
I could write for days about how good this place is but will try and give as much info as poss. without going on!
Food... Very good, always something to eat even if you are fussy, we only ate in the main Buffet 5 or 6 times in the whole 2 weeks, twice for breakfast and the others evening meals. We preferred breakfast in the Luna buffet, which becomes the Italian at night (only because it is quieter and nearer our room) Lunch times we ate at one of the two beach bars or the 24hr bar ( all delicious) or we ate out as we did a lot of excursions where lunch was included. Dinner we had a mix of the restaurants and buffet, my favorite was the French, my husbands was the Italian. We also had the lovely special lobster dinner thanks to the wonderful Lilli in customer services, as it was our honeymoon she arranged champagne in our room, roses delivered to our room, breakfast in bed and a really romantic evening with lobster dinner on the beach. I can't thank her enough for making our stay so special. You won’t be able to miss Lilli, her smile could light up any room.
If you are looking for an incredible experience then look no further, from the minute you get off the plane open your heart to Cuban culture and you will appreciate every second of your holiday.
If you are materialistic and want a posh well polished place then maybe this isn’t for you, but saying that my hubby is a little like that and even he can’t wait to go back next year. We had a couple of things happen in our room, 1st the air con leaked a bit of water 2nd the refill on the loo dripped, both of these were sorted as soon as reported and customer service rang our room to make sure we were happy.
I won’t go on any more but will be happy to answer any questions honestly if anyone wants.
Cant wait to go back next year, missing the place already

Room Tip: 5310 is where we stayed but any of the 53 numbers on Luna will have amazing views. 5 is the block an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NikkiHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our third stay at this resort and we had another great time. Food was better then ever. Service was great. Staff were excellent. Beach was still great, except it is washing away in spots and rock is now showing. This didn't stop us from enjoying snorkeling and other water sports but hope it is just a temporary thing. The ants and spider in our room we just ignored. The great view of the ocean more then made up for this. The resort had more guests this year and it made it a little more noisier and crowded. There were line ups for the buffet restaurant. They ran out of some items at the beach restaurants. The elevator servicing our building stopped working and we had to carry our suitcases down the stairs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Summer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guardalavaca
6.3 km away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,381 reviews
0.7 km away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
2.4 km away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,194 reviews
370.7 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,107 reviews
369.6 km away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Rio de Luna y Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Rio de Luna y Mares

Property: Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Address: Ctra. de Guardalavaca | Playa Esmeralda, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Rio de Luna y Mares 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four -Star All Inclusive Resort with 464 rooms. Located beachfront in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province, where visitors will be amazed by the dazzling superposition of blues and greens from the sea, sky and costal shrubbery. This hotel complex is surrounded by extensive green areas and offers a wide variety of services and attractions. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons and tourist groups.Guest Rooms464 rooms: 308 Standard, 108 Standard Ocean View, 30 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 Junior Suite, 4 Suite, 8 Family Suite Ocean ViewDining7 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet), 6 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Hotel Guardalavaca
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Resort
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Guardalavaca, Holguin Province, Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing