We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ainotar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Akaslompolo, Lapland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maggie532...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Wonderful house in a perfect location”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

A great house to stay in a great location. So close to everything but in a peaceful location. Our family group of 10 had a very cozy and comfortable Christmas week's stay here in this perfect, magical location. Ages ranged from 2.5 years to 66 years. We had cars to get about and explore the area. So much to see and do or just stay at Ainotar and walk, ski, play in the snow and then chill out in the sauna. Simon R was very helpful with advice and information. We had a wonderful Christmas Day meal at The Round. A good time was had by all and would definitely return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrilong...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place so magical”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

8 of us stayed here from 27th December to 4 January and had the most amazing time! The cabin is gorgeous and the photos do not do it justice. It's just so lovely and walking distance to the supermarket, restaurants and bars. We really enjoyed bringing all the shopping back by sledges! We had lovely dinners in Jullis and the Tower restaurant. We booked our Snowmobiling, Reindeer and Husky trips with Snowfun Safaris who are just up the road. It was so magical hope we will go back again as loved Akaslompolo.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation and fantastic position”
Reviewed December 31, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Ainotar at Akasolompolo is one of those places that appears not to have been found! We stayed as a whole family over Christmas following a recommendation by friends. What a recommendation. The house was brilliant and was adapted for us to house 12 persons. It never did feel cramped. The location is very near to restaurants (We had Christmas lunch at Poro) the local supermarket, and ski and skidoo hire We hired three cars to make travel easier but you could use local buses. We were fortunate to see the Northern lights on 3 consecutive nights at the cabin. The view from the cabin is magic overlooking a ski pathway and in the distance the ski resort. Some toys, games, skis, and toboggans are all at the house. We lit the fire every day but to be honest the house was always toasty warm. Amply wood supply. Temperatures can vary it was -30 at times but we were not cold. Have the right clothing. The ski slopes were warmer -7. Our age group was 6 to nearly 70 and we all said best holiday and Christmas ever. Could be used by disabled but there are steps up to the house. Otherwise you could use ground floor. 2 bedrooms are on first floor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose- everything!
Liked least: towels could have been bigger.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LK74
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cabin in a magical setting.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent Christmas week at the cabin in Akaslompolo. From the moment we arrived it was perfect, with a Christmas tree at the entrance and toboggans for the children.

The cabin was big enough for 10 of us to sleep, and eat.

It is in a lovely position, right by the cross country ski tracks, and the view from the cabin over Christmas was stunning. It's only a few minutes walk from the supermarket, restaurants and places where you can hire snowmobiles etc.

We hired cars and enjoyed exploring the area too.

We had a fantastic week at the the cabin, and have already recommended it to friends who have booked for next Christmas!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cabin and location”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week in Yllas staying at the Ainotar cabin. It is a fantastic cabin with excellent facilities and a brilliant location. We were a group of 9 adults and there was plenty of room for us all, the only thing we thought it needed was an extra sofa or maybe some bean bags.
It is a short easy 10-15 minute walk from the cabin to the main resort where the shops, restaurants and supermarket are. My personal favorite place to eat and drink was the Selva Pyy pub which had great food and a good selection of draught and bottled beers.
I would highly recommend Yllas express for the transfer from the airport to the cabin which took about 40 minutes, they also picked the key up for us before collecting us.
We did several excursions including a Husky & Reindeer safari and a snowmobile trip out to the Ice village which were all incredible experiences and great fun. These were all done through Snow fun safaris who were great and couldnt do enough to accomodate us. Their office is less than a 10 minute walk from the cabin.
The ski bus leaves from the Kaltio hotel which again is a very short walk from the cabin and takes you out to the slopes and the hire shops.
All in all we had an amazing holiday and I cant recommend Yllas and Ainotar highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing