We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for, 'All Inclusive means different things in different countries.”
Review of Telemachos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Telemachos Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dassia
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for, 'All Inclusive means different things in different countries.”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I have thought long and hard about what to write so trying to be totally fair here goes.

All inclusive Greek style is not the same as Spain or Majorca. For a start there is just simply not the volume of people. You will not find the mountains of food to be taken and wasted in this hotel. We viewed it as self-catering with extras as we met quite a few people on our travels that had paid a much more than us for just that. At least we had a bar that was open, food if we wanted it and places within walking distance to for drinks and food if we wanted.

This is a small family hotel and if you book out of season and get out of season prices i.e. cheap then that is what you get. There were 3 meals a day, I admit the choices were limited but they obviously did not have the resources to cook lots of different dishes that would be wasted at the end of the day. Some of the meals were really quite nice, I could not eat them all but that was due to my dietary restrictions, however the puddings were a little on the sparse side, even ice cream would have been better than melon or jelly. Yes you could go down the road and get nicer food but it cost a lot more, when you take the price, deduct the flights, accommodation, staffing there very little is left to provide 3 meals and the unlimited drinks expected, I think someone worked out it was about 40 Euros per person per week, so on that limited budget I think the chef did quite well.

Drinks were limited to local beers and wines etc. as it said in the brochure and I am sure that the lemonade was flat purely because the bottle was opened so many times that it wasn’t worth putting the lid back on. During our stay we kept seeing them going out and buying more.

However, I wish our towels had been changed, we did ask the lovely lady at breakfast using sign language, which got us lots of soap but alas no towels, the bin being emptied would have also been appreciated, especially when you are asked not to put toilet tissue down the toilet! As would bigger sheets as they just kept coming away in the night, but as staff seemed to be thin on the ground we made our own bed and generally tidied around, which we would have done had we been self-catering anyway.

One thing that would have made all the difference would have been access to hot water, even a kettle would have been better than the warm water that was given out when the very nice but harassed lady a breakfast managed to bring out.

I am aware that people were unhappy about certain issues and attitude of the staff, but it is not a young person’s hotel, and I for one did not appreciate the serenades at 4.00 am.

On a final note, people have always loved the Greek Islands for their hospitality and food, but ‘All Inclusive’ is killing their business soon there will be no café’s to eat in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chef_dlc, Hotel Chef at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
We thank you for your review, as you clearly understand the situation as you experienced it.
You are, of course, quite correct, when you say we cannot make a large choice of food for only a few people. It would be totally unrealistic to try and make a large selection, as we would require to have sufficient of each item to provide for every guest, and what, as you suggest, would happen to what was not used? Such a course of action would not allow us to operate at an affordable price to guests.
We further thank you for your cost assessment, as many guests simply do not understand the point you make about the distribution of the costs of the holiday. We also have a duty to try to keep costs to a minimum, to avoid price increases, and, as you so honestly admit, we buy regularly as we need things, especially at the end of the season, rather than maintaining large stocks, which might well not be used.
If you had problems with anything in your room, all you needed to do was speak to someone at reception, as there is always someone available who speaks English, and could have assisted you.
Your final comment is, of course, well noted, and while we regret this problem, we can only try to keep it to a minimum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    188
    177
    148
    482
See reviews for
352
365
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

we arrived friday 21.10.2011 it was raining and no entertainment so we had to venture out the so called hotel. we arrived home late on a few nights and the staff we violent and threatening we were told to leave the hotel and were threatened with violence, we moved to another hotel along the road the magna gracia we had to pay extra to do this. whilst being here we spoke to a family in a similar situation basically they witnessed what we did but their son 19 years old was physically assaulted by the staff and the woman he was with was spat at, we will be persuing this complaint to the greek embassy as this was literally the worst situation i have been in abroad and would hate to see this happen to other, please take on board other comments as they are all true

Room Tip: dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chef_dlc, Hotel Chef at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
You failed to say in your review that arriving home 'late' a few nights meant coming back to the hotel after 03.30a.m, making so much noise that most of the other guests complained about you to the management.
You were spoken to by the management about the problem, but you became extremely aggressive. At NO TIME were you, or any of your party, physically assaulted.
You were also overheard, by neighbouring guests, saying what you were going to do to cause damage on your last night at the hotel, and after these guests reported this matter to the management, you were advised to ask your representative to move you to an alternative establishment. You declined to wait for your representative to come to the hotel, and left of your own accord.
You are, of course, quite entitled to complain to the Greek Embassy, but we, of course, are also entitled to refer the matter to the Police, as we have the details of the other guests who overheard you saying what damage you would do on your last night, since you would be leaving the next morning before anyone knew about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dassia hotels

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I took my chances on this one as I booked very late so did not read the reviews - BIG MISTAKE. we paid £320 each
Its not all inclusive as you are asked to pay for any drinks and food you want after 9.30pm!
I was in the"new" block which could have been ok if it had been cleaned! The rest of the hotel was dirty and shabby.
The food was basic but very little choice was offered and the best option for dessert was jelly or tinned fruit - In a three star hotel? really?
Im an optimistic traveller and dont let this type of thing spoil my holiday normally but the worst thing here was the attitude of ths staff - it felt like being in a concentration camp where every morsel you ate or drink was being paid for personally by the staff! I was lead to believe this would be traditional greek hospitality - I think this hotel shames your country if this is the best you can offer your visitors? The excuses that it was end of season and strikes dont wash either as no-one failed to take my money on time and every other establishement we went into had plentiful supplies!

Room Tip: new block is the better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrewersLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chef_dlc, Hotel Chef at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
You may well have paid £320 each, as you claim, but what you fail to understand is that the price you paid was NOT paid to the Telemachos Hotel. The price you claim to have paid (we do not know how much you paid for your holiday) covered EVERYTHING relating to your holiday - Return flight, airport taxes ( outbound and inbound) airport/resort return transfer, travel company services, including the services of a local representative, and, finally, the hotel costs, which included 3 meals per day, unlimited snacks and drinks during the all-inclusive opening hours, room, maid service, laundry, use of electricity, water and so on.
How is the Hotel not all-inclusive? There is no law that dictates what hours all-inclusive must operate, or what must be offered. Guests come to Greece with the expectation that all-inclusive means unlimited food and drink 24 hours a day. This simply does not happen in Greece. All-Inclusive means that meals are paid for, and during the relevant opening times, snacks and drinks are also available, at no charge. There was nothing in your booking arrangement to indicate that you would have an unlimited (by time) supply of drinks and snacks, as the all-inclusive hours are clearly stated on both advertising literature (including websites) and at the Hotel. If you were not informed of this at the time of booking, this is the fault of your travel agent, not the Hotel.
The Hotel is neither shabby nor dirty. Service maids clean the rooms regularly, and all public areas are cleaned several times a day, and other reviewers have confirmed this, independantly.
There was plenty of choice for meals, and the statement you make regarding dessert is completely untrue, as fresh fruit was served several time a week.
Greece has been going through a very difficult period recently, and many guests commented on the lack of supplies in local shops, guests who stayed at the same time as you. Hotels are no different from anywhere else, when it comes to supplies, and when ferries are on strike for a week, no-one gets supplies, as almost everything comes to the island by ferry.
When you stayed at the Hotel, it was the end of the season, despite your assertion that such a claim 'does not wash'. There are no flights from the UK after the end of October, and the International Area of the airport closes down as well. How can the 'end of the season' not have an effect? If you choose to go on holiday at the tail end of the season, wherever that may be, you cannot expect the same level of facilities as you might receive when everything is in full swing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

WOW.....we booked this trip fairly late on so like other people you take your chances.. Let me start with the positives....2 members of staff Nondas & the chef Derek were absolutely perfect I could not fault either in any way.. Nondas was a perfect host as he was always more than willing to help & was very personable & extremely friendly. He met us at reception & took our bags in when we arrived & he suggested we upgrade for air con. He assured us we would get an excellent room & we certainly did. Basic but clean with a stunning view & we got a perfect view of the bay & sunrise every morning..Derek the chef was Scottish & like Nondas could not have been more helpful, his food although limited due to lack of guests was absolutely perfectly cooked (lemon chicken & beef stiffados exceptional) thanks Derek... now the negatives which i will keep brief. The TV lounge appears to be primarily for the manager (JOKE) to watch his favourite football team Olympiakos & bark orders at the other members of staff. YOU MY FRIEND ARE A TOTAL DISCRACE BUT WE HAD WORDS SO YOU KNOW YOUR A JOKE ALTHO MY LANGUAGE WAS STRONGER THAN THAT...i had to tell him to put on a premiership game on last Sunday as he got up & started walking away with the remote control. We picked up the remote & the staff went into severe panic...we were told we couldnt change the channel as this was the bosses team..YEAH SURE WE COULDNT...i told the manager to change it over & he was very unhappy but as I assured him I was the paying guest what i wanted outweighed what he wanted to watch. HE WAS A USELESS SHOCKING ADVERT FOR THE HOTEL (never found out his name or I would mention it). Whoever run this hotel do yourselves a favour & sack him. The barman was more interested in either a fixed odds coupon he had just put on or texting someone...he even told us one nite (we were all inclusive) my partner couldnt have another drink as she still had a dribble in her glass...he quickly was told what was really going to happen & we got our drinks...dont take anything poured out the Gordons Gin bottle or the Smirnoff bottles as they were water..also keep & an eye him when he pours the drinks sometimes he forgets to put in what you asked for & you just get a mixer...In summation the hotel could be good as its in a lovely location but the MANAGER & BARMAN must be removed...Finally breakfast is a disgrace as well. Nothing to do with the chef as a cleaner served out brekkie...YIP A CLEANER dishes out brekkie....Once again Nondas & Derek thank you, you both could not have been better hosts

Room Tip: Top floor facing sea...you will need to upgrade though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chef_dlc, Hotel Chef at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
We thank you for your review.

Unfortunately, it is not possible to please everyone, all the time, and when more than one family is staying in the hotel, it is impossible, for example, to keep changing TV channels to suit everyone's taste.

Arguments between members of staff and guests do not do anyone any good, and should be avoided whenever possible.

In the heat of the moment, many things appear to be out of proportion, and cause problems where none really exist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Myself and my partner spent a week at this Hotel all inclusive for which we paid £300 each. We were not expecting to turn up and find the Hilton so were not disappointed. The room was basic but clean (although we did have to transfer rooms as the one we were originally put in smelt awful), the food was basic but enjoyable and the pool area was nice although the pool did turn green during the course of the week.

The All Inclusive finished at 9.30pm every evening one one night at dinner my partner was told he couldnt have anymore food as they were running out - shocking considering we had paid for all inclusive.

We did pay the extra 50 euro for the air con and it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Try and get into the new building as that is 4*. Also pay for the air con as the rooms without it ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chef_dlc, Hotel Chef at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
The swimming pool is cleaned and chlorinated every night, after swimming is closed for the day, and a number of other reviewers have commented on this fact. To suggest that the pool turned green during the course of a week would indicate that it was only cleaned once per week. That is the only way such an event could happen, and it is simply not true.

It was not shocking in any way that your partner was told he could not have any more food, nor were we ever running out. Your partner was told to 'come back afterwards' for more, as he was asking for a double helping at the initial serving, whilst there were a number of other guests waiting to be served. It is not fair on other guests to provide one with a double helping, before they have even had theirs. and many times, guests leave some food, from the initial serving, simply because they have had enough. Assuming he wanted it, had your partner chosen to come back for a second serving, after finishing the first one, he would have been given it. At least your comment has one beneficial result, in that it refutes comments that have been posted in other reviews that the food is inedible, as he would hardly be likely to want extra right away if this was the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

After making a late booking and being unable to look on trip adviror as normal. I took a chance on this hotel!! BiiiiiG!! mistake!!The first thing we were asked when we arrived was would we like to pay fifty pounds for air conditioning? We said we would see how we coped with the heat. Apparently the air conditioning was not too good anyway.
The bedroom was very basic-not a problem- but the bathroom was not only basic but extremely dirty. Basic and clean would have been ok! The toilet had stains at the back caused by some minerals in the water, no problem - but the bottom of the pan was filthy dirty and took rather alot of elbow grease to remove with the toilet brush, which was surprisingly clean - obviously not used very much!! They did put blue cleaner into the pan, when they came in to clean!! Not much use though! The sink was equally black and grimy in the overflow and the drainage hole. I had to use a cotton bud or two before I could use it. The shower and floor drains were so full of dirt I had to use the surprisingly powerfull shower spray to clear them with the aid of my cotton buds. The shower curtain was milldewed.
After this cleaning session I felt slightly easier using the facilities.
I did not however feel like trying to clean around the top of the shower tray as it was all black and slimey. We had paid very little for this holiday and tried to make the most of it.
Complaints made to staff - they said tell the manager - he said see the staff!! They suddenly did not understand what we were saying! I will add that a few of the staff were fine.
We would have complained to our Thomas Cook rep, but after not receiving the appropriate paperwork on the tansfer, which never matrialised as promised- thus we never receive the info on our welcome meeting and so never saw anyone.
Maybe they new it was best to give us all a wide birth as all guests were complaining. We were on B&B - toast and jam and the coffee were the saving grace! but even the coffee was watered down by the end of the week and one day there was no butter! The guests who were on All inclusive only had drinks untill 9.30 pm. They only had a coice of two dishes for their evening meal. which they said was ok. Lunch I believe was salad and meat.
My husband was watching one of the international rugby matches on the tv in the lounge and the manager just came in and turned it over to the basket ball!!
The swiming pool was fairly clean on our first day but as the week went on it bacame green and cloudy - I could not use it!! It was like a dirty fish tank.
They only sold small beers at the bar for 2 euros! When they ran out of the draught beer at the outside bar they went into the inside bar poured a tray full of beers and put them in the outside fridge ready for their customers-probably flat by the time they got them! They never opened the bar in the inside lounge. The electric games machines did not work and the pool table although some people lost money on it -did not have all the balls to play with!
We booked a room for our last day to use for a shower and somewhere to rest as we had an early morning flight! the room was even more disgusting than our first room. with shower rail lower than the shower head and it was loose. Just as dirty. The pillows had no pillow cases and were covered in milldew and we could not use them.
To be fair the towels and sheets, although old and thin in places were fairly white -clean and pressed! they were only changed once.
What saved our holiday was the resort of Dassia! The weather! and the company!! Most people although as unhappy with this hotel as we were-made a joke of it all - They all said they we would be complaing to Thomas cook or other tour companies still using this hotel for unsuspecting guests!!
We have been travelling to the greek islands or many years, always to 1,20r3 star hotels and although some have been extremely basic - they have been spolless and the people running them most welcoming!!
This most certainly cannot be said of the Telemachos. They are missing a Great opportunity here as they have a great location and only need to keep the place in good order and be more friendly!
We were in the old part of the hotel!! I cannot comment on the newer rooms-these appeared to be used for short stay guests!

Room Tip: Simply do not go there!! Unless you hear thet they have cleaned up their act Or find out about the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynnshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YianniAki, Manager at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Air conditioning is an optional extra, payable locally at the hotel. You say that apparently the air conditioning was not too good anyway. This is hearsay, not your own experience, and at total variance to comments by other reviewers, who stayed at the hotel around the same time as you, and said the air conditioning was well worth it. (the 50 euros)

Had your bathroom been in the condition you claim, all you had to do was tell reception that you did not think it was good enough, and you would have been given a different room. You claim you had to clean the bathroom yourself, with a lot of elbow grease and cotton buds. I find this very surprising - I do not know of anyone who, having paid for accommodation, would then spend time and effort cleaning it.

It is totally untrue that, by the end of the week, the coffee was watered down. The coffee was prepared exactly the same way every day.

Your comments about the drinks availablity to all-inclusive guests are meaningless, as you were only bed and breakfast. This service was not available to you, and you have no direct experience of it. The availability times for the all-inclusive service is noted on the advertising literature, and posted on the hotel notice board, and really was no business of yours, as you had not booked the service. Similarly, the choice of dishes for lunches and evening meals was not as you describe, and yet again, you offer an opinion on something you had no personal experience of. Hearsay is simply not acceptable.

The comments you made about the swimming pool are also not true. The swimming pool did not become green and cloudy as the week went on. The pool is cleaned and chlorinated, every evening after closing time, as a number of other reviewers have commented on.

The inside bar is not used at the time of year you were at the hotel, simply because it is far too hot indoors, and even the air conditioning in the bar area is ineffective as doors are always open, and many windows as well.

If you cannot comment on the newer rooms in the hotel, how can you say they appeared to be used for short stay guests? Once again, you are posting comments on a subject you know nothing about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I travelled with my group to Albania and we had to stay one night at Korfu before taking the ship in the morning. It was difficult to get just one overnight there so we were happy to sleep anywhere. One night in Telemachos was more than enough. The hotel was shabby, air conditioning did not work, the dining hall had a bad smell. Just good for taking a shower and get to sleep as quickly as you can. Cannot immagine to spend my holiday there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tilia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YianniAki, Manager at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
The Telemachos Hotel is not shabby, and all the staff resent your false and misleading statement regarding this.

The air conditioning is not faulty. It works perfectly, but you declined to pay for it. All guests, who wish to have the use of the air conditioning, pay for it on arrival at the hotel. You did not want to do so, therefore it was not available to you.

There was no bad smell in the dining room. There has NEVER been a bad smell in the dining room, and I cannot understand why you should make such a false claim in your review. The dining room has windows open all day long, and several throughout the night as well. There are also fans running in the restaurant area, and in the adjacent bar/lounge area. Not one single other guest at the hotel has ever complained about a 'bad smell' in the restaurant area.

If the hotel was so bad, how could you give it a 3/5 (60%) value for money rating? Both cannot be true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dassia
12.4 km away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
11.3 km away
Royal Boutique Hotel
Royal Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kanoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
16.1 km away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Dassia Beach
Dassia Beach
#5 of 15 in Dassia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#4 of 15 in Dassia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.3 km away
Primavera
Primavera
#6 of 15 in Dassia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telemachos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telemachos Hotel

Property: Telemachos Hotel
Address: Dassia 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dassia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Telemachos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Telemachos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telemachos Hotel Corfu
Tilemachos Hotel Corfu
Telemachos Hotel Dassia, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing