We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
79
19
9
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
19
9
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval castle one night hunting trophies entire castle castle experience top floor spa suite gated keyed claudia furnishings tub comfort convenience tirol hiking
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 118 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

This is an absolutely amazing hotel experience. We stayed here with 2 families and all had a great time. Rooms were just like the photos on the website. Kids had a great time exploring the grounds and all the rooms in the castle. Entire staff was great especially Claudia who greeted us with such enthusiasm. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a fun experience!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank BrooklinHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

We found this amazing castle hotel through the boutique category. It’s amazing. Fully restored castle. Done to the highest standard. You feel like a king. Good restaurant downstairs. Sauna in the castle Tower.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lutz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlossMatzen, Manager at Schloss Matzen, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear Mr. Lutz H.
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Amazing renovated hotel inside a medieval castle! Don’t let the “medieval” part throw you off! It has all the convenience of the modern world (free WiFi) spa with sauna steam room and gym (all inside their tower!) the bathrooms are renovated too! Excellent shower separated from bath tub and completely closed glass box style so no mess when you take a shower (unlike most European hotels!) service is great, prices are incredibly affordable for a stay inside a real castle! I can’t believe we found this hotel out of the road we just stopped by and found out this was a brand “new” hotel they just opened inside this 1190’s castle! So cool! They have free parking too and delicious restaurant just below the castle and a nice park too which belongs to the property I believe it’s a trip back in time but with all the comfort of today! I still can’t believe we found this gem just by looking out the car window on the way from Innsbruck to kufstein!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Padilha1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017

We planned for a long weekend (5 nights) in Tirol. We found the place in TripAdvisor. We arrived late in the afternoon. The reception was very helpful and nice and also efficient. We got a big key for the room. The castle is amazing, well maintained and decorated. The room was one of the smaller but still big enough and again well decorated with nice furniture, paintings and a wooden floor. The bath was huge and everything as clean. The garden is amazing. One of the nicest parks I have ever seen in a hotel. We will come again.
The only negative points: The Wifi is slow and the water could be hotter.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs. Ask for a room in the lower floors if you struggle with stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Werner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

I loved this boutique Hotel! It is in great renovated condition, the staff was more than amicable and caring, the wellness Spa tower is so unique, you feel like you got lost in a Disney movie! I would definitely come back to this spacious (rooms), clean (overall) and cozy (rooms and entire castle) place!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elisabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews