We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it, stay there. It is like nothing in this world.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it, stay there. It is like nothing in this world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent one night in the Ice Hotel. Yes, it is true that if you haven't slept out in the cold with a sleeping bag, you won't have the best sleep, but you can always stay in the warmer accomodations if you are really worried about the cold.

Here are some tips:
-Don't bother booking activities through the hotel as they are marked up very high. Do a little research and pick a local vendor who will gladly pick you up from the Ice Hotel. We did a great late night snow mobile trip with dinner at a hut and it was far, far, less expensive than the hotel's offers.
-This isn't really a full resort, which means there will be down time as others have said. Go for a walk down the road, take a book, enjoy the sauna. One suggestion for the hotel is to add a more comfortable room to the warm services building so people can rest, take a nap, etc. If they had a little more comfortable room, they could add on a bar or cafe and people would literally spend whole afternoons just relaxing before dinner and their cold sleep experience.
-Have a drink at the ice bar. Expensive but worth it. The second drink in your ice glass is a bit cheaper than the first.
-If you want to avoid the hotel restaurant for dinner (on Easter weekend the Homestead was closed due to a leaky roof), go on a tour which includes dinner or grab something to eat at the store down the road. We LOVED the Ice Hotel restaurant for lunch, it was ok for breakfast, but expensive for dinner.
-After 6pm the Hotel closes to the public. I went in and found no one there, so took tons of photos of the rooms. Trying to get pictures with the crowds can be difficult as some rooms are tight.
-Don't give up on the northern lights even if someone local says they are unlikely. After a 3 hr snow mobile ride, our guide said it wasn't likely, but the skies cleared after midnight and we saw a little activity, even with a full moon.

Room Tip: Room 303 is slightly more expensive than some others, but much closer to the bathroom and art suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NH48K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    315
    88
    38
    12
See reviews for
209
712
44
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

What a fab place this hotel is. Cool in every sense of the word. Just came back from a trip to sweden. I spent my last night of the trip at the ice hotel and loved every minute. Especially the ultra cool ice bar. Yes its expensive but sometime you have to pay extra to find something that little bit special and this is it.
I ate in the restaurant and experienced some of the nicest food ive every eaten. And got the bonus of the northern lights. Perfect. Go there at least once in your life you will not regret it

Room Tip: I stayed in a basic ice room there are art suites which are really really cool if you pay extra but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie_pigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

we stayed in an ice room at the ice hotel on 29/03/2012 for my wifes birthday and we have nothing but admiration for the hotel and all the staff,firstly let me say that all the staff that we encountered could not do enough to make our short stay comfortable and memorable from the moment we arrived they made us feel very welcome and wanted , this was the iceing on the cake for us, because we had to leave very early for our flight home (5 am)we asked about early breakfast as it was before normal serving time and low and behold when we went to reception to pick up our diploma (for staying in an ice room ) we were given two packed breakfasts . top marks ice hotel
as for the ice room it was -5 indoors and -15 outdoors on the night we stayed, thankfully when you stay in an ice room you are supplied with a thick sleeping bag, sheet,and bed socks to keep you warm 11 out of 10 ice hotel












0

Room Tip: take very warm clothing as it can and does get very cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill and karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here in march 2012. Beautiful, sparkling place. We stayed in one of the icetooms with a bed and some icefurniture. It was -5 c in the room. A warm sleepingbag and snowmobileshoes was included and this kept the cold away. After a good nights sleep they served warm lingonberrydrink by the bedside and in the reception. And the breakfastbuffé was very good.
It´s pricey but one night in a cold room is an extraordinary experience! You can walk in to all the rooms during daytime and se all the iceart.
The hotel was amasing with the different rooms, the icecorridor and the sculptures. The sun, snow, the ice and the nothern light sparkled during our stay.
We tryed the icesculpturing class which was great fun and not as hard material as we expected.
The Kiruna area is beautiful overall!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kubbist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

First the good part. The whole icehotel experience is amazing. For a handful of rooms they invite for artists to propose a design theme (all to be made up in ice and snow of course) and some of these designs really are works of art. There are other ordinary rooms (no art) but still all ice. We had the suite, which was really beautifully decorated, but I have to say, not quite as spectacular as some of the other art rooms. The staff is really welcoming and helpful in every way (except one mishap). Thanks to solar spot 1421 we had the most magnificent aurora Kiruna had seen in years (according a local resident). A whole sky shimmering with silvery green silk curtains. The restaurant across the road has a surprisingly elegant selection on their dinner menu. Try it out.
The not so good part. The hotel offers some acitivies like snowmobiles, dog sleds and horseback riding. These are hideously expensive. We opted for one activity only, a snowmobile drive into the mountains to look for moose and reindeer. 6000 Swedish kroner for 2 persons on one snowmobile, which is almost 1000 euros. That is a ludicrous amount of money, but hey, the description said from 9am to 3pm. 6 hours of driving. So what. You only have this life, right?... Unfortunately it wasn't 6 hours drive, it was about 4. Departure was a farm some 35 mins drive west of Kiruna, plus time to gear up, plus time for warm lunch. Oh the lunch was really nice, but I have to say that I'd rather have been driving some more and then just stop for a sandwich and a glass of warm cranberry juice en route. But the guide Matti was a really nice chap. The description also almost promised moose sightings. There was one on the path just outside the farm when we took off. Joke was that this was the 'guaranteed' moose. Tied up. Or stuffed. We couldn't tell ;-)
If you plan a visit to Icehotel, check out the Sami place down the road towards the church. We went there on the morning we were to leave Kiruna, and found out that they had some good offers of activities and for somewhat less than the Icehotel activity price level. Check out www.nutti.se
The very bad part. Our room, the suite was excluded from the guided tour for day visitors starting at 10am (ours was the only room with a door to lock) so we went for breakfast early in the morning, planning to go back and snuggle in the sleeping bag as we had nothing else to do until our flight home in the afternoon. Unfortunately the staff had emptied our room while we had breakfast, including all the items we had left in the warm sleeping bag. When we asked for our belongings, staff just asked if we really expected them to go thru a hundred sleeping bags (meaning, they really did NOT offer to). I was so angry about that. Remember, if they tell you that you have the room until 11am, you really dont. Be sure to bring all your stuff if you leave, because it is probably not there when you return.
That was a bit of a disappointing experience to end an otherwise really lovely stay.

Room Tip: Warm room #55. Nice big room. Icehotel art room (any of them)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaddieBrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Ice hotel… this is not a review of the Hotel itself, this is a review of a 4 days magical adventure organized by the Hotel…

Day1: The plane lands in Kiruna… just one runway and around it only snow… our tour supervisor KK picked us up and drove us to the kennel… after a quick lunch…off we go on our sleds, each one of us pulled by 4 dogs…Alaskan Huskies! The dogs are adorable and always want to be on the run! Driving the sled is not hard, there are a couple of brakes you will learn to use, for the rest they will follow the leader…Ana! Perfect silence… just the noise of the dog’s pawns on the snow…shhhh…..
After 2 hours, we arrive at the camp… a cute Lodge of a few cabanas… it was only us in the camp, so each one of us took a small cabana equipped with 4 beds… of course, no running water, no electricity, wood heating, candlelight, and northern lights if you are lucky…
During our 4 days trip, we saw Northern light 3 times… first night they were light, the second one, much stronger, the third … woow… it was like fireworks lighting up the sky….what a wonderful moment…an amazing experience… not only green but purple, pink, yellow….
Anyway, the camp was fantastic, on the border of a frozen lake, the girls (Ana and Emma) set up the sauna for us, and then prepared us a fantastic dinner by candlelight… great white is available for an extra fee of course…

Day2: After we set up the dogs (put on the harnesses and leach them up to the sleds, off we go…, magical moments sledding through forests, lakes, beautiful scenery…
About the equipment: You don’t actually need much! The ice hotel will provide you with the shoes, overall, balaclava, hats, even gloves! Actually you need a pair of jeans underneath the overall, and a thermal underneath the jeans. Also bring along Goggles (for the snowmobiles), a pair of sunglasses (for the dog sled) and a good pair of gloves (the ice hotel mittens are not that good).
Anyway, we arrived at the ice hotel, and had a couple of hours ice sculpting… very relaxing, it is like carving into butter… a really nice and unique experience (you should try it!)…then a tour of the hotel, and the night…

SLEEPING IN THE ICE HOTEL:
Sleeping in the ice hotel is not an easy thing… get prepared for a rough night…you have to get undressed in your locker, get your sleeping bag, prepare your sleeping bag (get the sheet in), do that BEFORE you go to your room… once you’re ready, you go to your freezing room (-5), you are wearing your thermals, thick socks, a balaclava, you remove your fleece, and shoes, and slip into your sleeping bag…
Now…you need to find a way to fall asleep…good luck!

Day3: After a rough night and a good breakfast, off we go for a 2 hours drive of the “Rangers”! Awesome fun, drifting on the frozen lakes, riding and bumping up and down through the forests… our guide “Andreas” was the absolute best! After lunch…off to the snow mobiles… we spent 2 days and rode over 200km on the snowmobiles… it was absolutely fantastic! Andreas was an awesome guide and took great care of us! Ice fishing, games, great cooking, sauna, bonfire, we had a blast!
The lodge (2 rooms with 6 beds each) is not as comfortable as the kennel’s lodge… but it is cute, and Andréa’s cooking is awesome! He will set up the sauna for you, and put a few beers in the snow for you to grab just outside the sauna…yeay!

Day 4: Long ride on the snowmobiles… we wanted to go fast… we went fast… we also appreciated the scenery… and Andreas was kind enough to take stop us at beautiful spots for a coffee break… well he’s got his thermos! We slept in the warm accommodation of the ice hotel on our last night…woooow.. how good it was to have a comfy bed, a shower and a plasma tv…awesome!

CONCLUSION:
A fantastic adventure, good food, good laughs, new sensations, fantastic scenery…
Can you do it? Yes you can! At your own pace… we were 6 guys so we went fast and crazy at times… the nights in the cabanas are comfortable enough, and you are so beat up at the end of the day that you will sleep just fine! The night in the ice hotel…well…that’s another story!

TIPS:

-Don’t bring too much stuff…you won’t need all that…
-Register at the lobby before you go to sleep in the ice hotel… you will get your certificate the next day!
- Put your sheet inside the sleeping bad while you are still in the lobby!
- Take a suite… you’ll pay a bit more but you will have your own locker room (that makes a big difference since you spend A LOT of time changing).
- Take an empty plastic bottle with you in your ice bedroom (they don’t provide any at the hotel)… if you fell like going to the toilet (men) you will be glad to have it! (going to the toilet is an expedition once you’re in your ice bedroom… you have to dress again, then undress again…)
- Look out for Northern Lights from time to time…they come fast, go , and then can come back after seconds, stronger then before… they were at their best around 10PM…10:30.
-Bring Ski Goggles if you are going to ride snow mobiles (they don’t provide them)
- Do the sauna the Swedish way! Don’t hesitate to throw yourselves naked in the snow before you go back into your hot sauna! That’s a one shot in a life time… and this is the time!
- Do this trip…it is unforgettable! :)

Room Tip: Suite! You get a private Locker!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank toyBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The ice hotel itself was amazing! Beautiful sculptures and rooms. We only stayed one night in the ice hotel and in the area and thats ALL you need. Its definitely expensive but worth saying you did it once. They let you tour all of the rooms. Surprising enough its not that bad of a nights sleep. I slept in a pair of long johns and my husband in his boxers inside the subzero sleeping bag. The only area that got cold was my face. It was negative 15 degrees when we stayed and I was amazed how I really didnt get that cold at all! Bring your own liquor. We let it chill in our room and would refill our glasses. The drinks are over $10 and are small with not even a shot of liquor. Definitely worth this once in a lifetime experience! I would also recommend the dogsledding. It was a fun but relaxing ride.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorj32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
14.9 km away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
15.6 km away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
14.2 km away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
12.6 km away
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
#9 of 15 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
26.7 km away
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
#5 of 15 in Kiruna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Property: Icehotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing