We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High price, poor service”
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Lempäälä
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High price, poor service”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The service in the hotel is extremely unprofessional despite the premium price.

We were on honeymoon in March 2012 and wanted to spend one night in a memorable place and thought an Art Suite in Icehotel Jukkasjärvi would be the right place. Because were staying there just for one night and we had seen photos of the suites, we asked the hotel over a month earlier if it would be possible to get a specific art suite since we are just married and are staying there just for one night. The booking system itself does not let you to choose in which Art Suite you want to stay and the quality of those rooms vary greatly. We got a reply from the hotel saying that "I've made a note in your booking about your request for the Art Suite - Kraken's Lair, so the one in the reception can give you that specific Art Suite." So far so good.

It took us two days to drive there. When we got to the reception and showed them their email, they said the room was already given to someone else. What a big disappointment. It was not late or anything, we arrived around 14:00 and you get the rooms at 18:00. When we asked them how is this possible, they just insisted they cannot promise any rooms.. you can only make wishes and that we should have interpreted their email that way, like it was our fault. What are these room wishes good for if it does not matter at all if someone makes a wish earlier than someone else and they just give the rooms randomly. There was like three rooms left from which we had to choose.

When we checked out night later, we were asked if we had enjoyed the stay.. we had not. We explained again what the problem was and the person asked we wanted to talk with the manager. She then took our email, went to a backroom to talk with the someone who I assume was the manager. When she came back she just said they cannot make any room promises despite what they said in their email, and that we should have read their email so that it was not a confirmation, so it was not their fault.

There was no compensation whatsoever.. no free hot drink at the bar to make feel you better when we arrived or anything. If the hotel knows you are on honeymoon and you pay the premium price of 700 euros/550 gbp/850 dollars a night, I think anyone would expect better service than this from any hotel. It does not seem to matter to them if they leave bad taste in customer's mouth and ruin their holiday. With prices you pay they surely could afford to make things alright.

There is not much to see in the area besides the art suites of the hotel, so if you are going there, I would suggest to visit there during daytime and pay the entrance ticket to see the art suites, and then sleep somewhere else. There is only two restaurants in the area and they are expensive. One is near the hotel, the other one is some 800m away from the hotel. There seems to be only two settings when can you eat at these restaurants.. one around 18:30 and the second one around 21:00.

The parking place is quite small near the hotel and you cannot drive your car next to the entrance. When we arrived the parking place was full and we had to leave car further. Be prepared to drag all your luggage some 200m in snow to the hotel as it is not part of the service.

Not recommended to just married couples looking for a unique experience.

Room Tip: Just visit the Art Suites during daytime and save your money to some other hotel, activities and goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Evotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    338
    96
    38
    12
See reviews for
229
759
51
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the IceHotel March 30-April1. We spent two nights. I went with my husband and our 4 kids (10, 8,6,and 4). We had a great experience. 2 nights was enough for us though (mainly b/c with kids those ages there are only so many things that they can do). We spent 1 night in the warm accomodations, and 1 nice in the cold room (with a warm room on reserve - i wasn't going to chance it with the kids). Kids slept great. No one moved into the warm room. It was definitely a trip we'll remember. While we didn't use the Icehotel for tours (mainly b/c the times didn't work out for us) we used Kiruna Guidetur (info@kirunaguidetur.com) and were happy with them. This was an expensive trip though and think that a couple of outside hot tubs would have really been a nice touch for those staying there. I'm giving it an average rating on value, b/c like I said it was expensive and I guess I expected for that price for the Warm rooms to be a bit nicer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cthurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent the final night of our 4 day trip to Sweden here and overall, we felt it was a real anticlimax. The reception and staff were as chilly as our basic ice room. On arrival, when checking in, We were told that the only available table for dinner that night was in the hotel restaurant and had to be at 6.30.We had a good meal but it was not worth the £250 we paid per couple. one other interesting fact was some of our party wanted to eat in the cheaper restaurant and were told that it was full.They telephoned this restaurant to make sure and were told that both restaurants were in fact nearly empty- all evening! The art rooms were fun to visit and photograph and we saw spectacular Aurora on our way back to the main hotel.We survived the night and were glad we hadn't splashed out on an art room. Overall, it was an experience , but as someone who dislikes camping, I hated the fact that the nearest loo was back in the warm hotel, a fast 2 min run away in the freezing night .I was less than impressed by the "gym-type" changing rooms with only luke-warm showers. In Summary then, go for it if you like to camp and want the experience and don't mind the expense. Otherwise, buy a ticket and visit the Art rooms, then, hasten up to Abisko to the mountain lodge!

Room Tip: dont bother with expense of art room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wilsonSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Overall staying at the Ice Hotel was a good experience. I was more impressed than I thought I would be with the art hotel rooms – it would have been great to stay in one of the rooms – sadly there was no way we could have afforded it so we were in the basic snow rooms which were okay. We were collected from the airport on arrival and then given a quick introduction to the hotel. Somehow no one told us about the clothes that you really should change into if you’re going to hang around the Ice Hotel complex so we didn’t figure that out until later (or maybe I wasn’t listening hard enough). There was also a guided tour of the art rooms in English starting shortly after we arrived which again no one told us about so we missed out on that. (This is different from the “how to sleep in the ice hotel” tour which was at 5pm).

All the staff we encountered at the Ice Hotel were pleasant and helpful to deal with. We had a few drinks in the warm bar and a sandwich which was expensive for what it was but tasty. The cheaper restaurant was fully booked and has two set time sittings so it’s worth thinking of that in advance if you want to visit. We had a look at the menu and it looked nice. The Ice Bar was good for a drink or two but a bit quiet when we were there. Breakfast was very good.

We didn’t book activities through the hotel which was probably a good thing as they were fully booked and would have been quite busy.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin on the second night which was comfortable although quite small and basic. The changing rooms for the cold accommodation are alright and mostly communal which we were expecting. The saunas are single sex and are closed in the evening. Our trip was quite busy and because they don’t recommend you to have a sauna before you sleep in the cold accommodation or within an hour or two before you go out on an activity we didn’t manage to have one!

Since there were 4 of us travelling together we managed to get the hotel to order us a taxi on our way back to the airport which worked out cheaper than using the bus and we managed to beat the queues at teh airport as a result.

Room Tip: The rooms were a bit run down when we visited at the end of March so probably best to visit earlier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent one night in the Ice Hotel. Yes, it is true that if you haven't slept out in the cold with a sleeping bag, you won't have the best sleep, but you can always stay in the warmer accomodations if you are really worried about the cold.

Here are some tips:
-Don't bother booking activities through the hotel as they are marked up very high. Do a little research and pick a local vendor who will gladly pick you up from the Ice Hotel. We did a great late night snow mobile trip with dinner at a hut and it was far, far, less expensive than the hotel's offers.
-This isn't really a full resort, which means there will be down time as others have said. Go for a walk down the road, take a book, enjoy the sauna. One suggestion for the hotel is to add a more comfortable room to the warm services building so people can rest, take a nap, etc. If they had a little more comfortable room, they could add on a bar or cafe and people would literally spend whole afternoons just relaxing before dinner and their cold sleep experience.
-Have a drink at the ice bar. Expensive but worth it. The second drink in your ice glass is a bit cheaper than the first.
-If you want to avoid the hotel restaurant for dinner (on Easter weekend the Homestead was closed due to a leaky roof), go on a tour which includes dinner or grab something to eat at the store down the road. We LOVED the Ice Hotel restaurant for lunch, it was ok for breakfast, but expensive for dinner.
-After 6pm the Hotel closes to the public. I went in and found no one there, so took tons of photos of the rooms. Trying to get pictures with the crowds can be difficult as some rooms are tight.
-Don't give up on the northern lights even if someone local says they are unlikely. After a 3 hr snow mobile ride, our guide said it wasn't likely, but the skies cleared after midnight and we saw a little activity, even with a full moon.

Room Tip: Room 303 is slightly more expensive than some others, but much closer to the bathroom and art suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NH48K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

What a fab place this hotel is. Cool in every sense of the word. Just came back from a trip to sweden. I spent my last night of the trip at the ice hotel and loved every minute. Especially the ultra cool ice bar. Yes its expensive but sometime you have to pay extra to find something that little bit special and this is it.
I ate in the restaurant and experienced some of the nicest food ive every eaten. And got the bonus of the northern lights. Perfect. Go there at least once in your life you will not regret it

Room Tip: I stayed in a basic ice room there are art suites which are really really cool if you pay extra but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie_pigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

we stayed in an ice room at the ice hotel on 29/03/2012 for my wifes birthday and we have nothing but admiration for the hotel and all the staff,firstly let me say that all the staff that we encountered could not do enough to make our short stay comfortable and memorable from the moment we arrived they made us feel very welcome and wanted , this was the iceing on the cake for us, because we had to leave very early for our flight home (5 am)we asked about early breakfast as it was before normal serving time and low and behold when we went to reception to pick up our diploma (for staying in an ice room ) we were given two packed breakfasts . top marks ice hotel
as for the ice room it was -5 indoors and -15 outdoors on the night we stayed, thankfully when you stay in an ice room you are supplied with a thick sleeping bag, sheet,and bed socks to keep you warm 11 out of 10 ice hotel












0

Room Tip: take very warm clothing as it can and does get very cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill and karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
14.9 km away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
15.6 km away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
14.2 km away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
12.6 km away
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
#9 of 15 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
26.7 km away
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
#4 of 15 in Kiruna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Property: Icehotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icehotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing