We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glacial beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Glacial beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel is completely made of ice and snow. Each room is a masterpiece created by an artist. Here you can see beds, tables, lamps all made of ice and snow. You will feel like in the fairy-tale. It is one of the best experiences I've ever had. On the territory you will also find a small chapel (operating one!), of course made of ice and snow. You can drink a glass (made of ice) of cocktail at the ice-bar and make a trip in a dogsled.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadiya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    337
    95
    38
    12
See reviews for
229
758
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel is amazing. The rooms, especially each unique art room, are must sees. You hafta get a drink from the Ice Bar in a shot glass made of ice. And I guess you really do need to say you've spent the night sleeping on a bed of ice. It just comes with a big price tag. Most people recommend spending just one night in an ice room (it's not the most comfortable night of rest). The rest of the time at the hotel is spent in extremely overpriced, run of the mill, warm rooms. If you're cost-conscious, you might be better off staying in a more affordable hotel and taking the day tours to the hotel. There were buses every day loaded with tourists that would tour the hotel...which got annoying actually. The good thing about staying at the hotel is you can pretty much take pictures 24/7. And being that I'm a photo enthusiast, that was definitely a plus. Don't think I could imagine having to bus back and forth multiple times just to take pics.

The staff is very friendly. They provide all the gear you need to stay warm: single piece winter coat, mittens and boots. Coldness was never an issue. For your night in the cold room, I'd strongly recommend separate sleeping bags. These things are not comfortable and the last thing you need is any movement waking you from a very hard fought slumber. We talked to a couple who shared a sleeping bag and regretted it. The sleeping bag itself is extremely warm. It's just the opening for your head that gets cold. You need to find that money spot at an angle where you can breath without having cold air blow onto your face.

The hotel food is good. Make a trip out to the Homestead Restaurant (I don't know why they don't provide shuttles). The bruschetta was good, the salmon was excellent. Reindeer took getting used to. My wife loved their drinks that came in ice. I personally liked the flavored beer. The hotel restaurant was pretty good as well. Duck, veal and char were all tasty. Nothing special about the elk carpaccio. Chocolate and apple pie desserts were just OK.

Make sure you try and plan a trip out to the reindeer farm/church on the day you make reservations for the Homestead. It's a lil bit of a hike. You get to feed and take pics with the two reindeer.

For excursions, we did the ice driving, snowmobiling, horseback riding to see the Northern Lights and dog sledding. Ice driving was a great experience. My wife, who's never driven stick before, managed just fine. They could have taken a lil more time explaining the whole concept of drifting. We could not get "figure 8" down. Our snowmobile actually broke down halfway thru our tour, but the hotel refunded us the full price, which was nice of them. Bummed we didn't get to see the Northern Lights but the excursion was nice, complete with a nice meal in a hut at the end. For some reason, my wife and I booked two individual sleds instead of sharing one. One would have been much better, as one could take pics as the other drove.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HouseHusband78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed one night in an ice room in the ice hotel.

Overall - Go if you enjoy camping

The ice hotel is open for people to look at the rooms during the day. We went to one building to check in. When check in, they explain how the hotel works. Luggage is stored in a locker. We have shared bathing facilities (i.e. like a gym). Warm outdoor gear is available if planning to walk around in the snow or go the ice bar. Check out is in the “warm” hotel. If want the certificate, that states we survived the ice hotel, we had to put our name downs on the list. At 5pm, there is group explanation on how to stay warm in the ice hotel room. We were told to be warm and dry. Then wrap in blanket, and use the sleeping bag.

Room: The standard ice rooms are all the same style and do not make a difference. The door is woollen? cloth so you can hear loud noises from other rooms. The experience is like camping as sleeping in a sleeping bag. My feet and head are the parts which got cold.
There is free water in the lobby near the lockers. Also there is a computer and printer available for use.

Breakfast: The breakfast range was limited. The quality of the drinks i.e. hot chocolate, juices were better but the food is about on par.

Service: They appear to hire young staff (20s) to handle the ice hotel whereas the older staff worked in the warm hotel. The staff knew the standard information about the ice hotel but lack the professional manner.
For example, I asked for a 7am wake up call, which is delivered in person (as no phones). No one came to wake us up at 7am. Also, the staff are meant to wake up everyone with warm ligonberry juice at 7:30am. One couple missed out and the wife was very disappointed. The staff did not offer to provide a cup then but just said that they did go to all the rooms.
The staff does push only the ice hotel related items. i.e. Tours / Restaurants. The impression we got was that the restaurant would be fully booked for dinner, but it was only half full.

Ice Bar: The drinks are cheaper if reuse the ice glass. However, if hold the glass too much, it will melt and drink will spill out. I enjoyed the ice bar the most, as met other tourists staying in the ice hotel, and some Swedes who were staying in the warm hotel. They close the bar at 1am. If not feeling social or ice bar is too cold, the other people staying in the ice hotel would spend time at the tables in the lobby before they go sleep.

Room Tip: For couples, recommend to get individual sleeping bags and not the double one, if you are likely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Once in a lifetime experience, dog sledding,snow mobiles, wilderness dinner, sleeping in an ice room and topped off with a fantastic view of the northern lights from the ice balcony with a vodka..
By the way, I've room not really that cold at all, in fact we cooked in the sleeping bag. Going to the toilet was an adventure though.
Staff helpful, and very very well versed in safety etc.

Loved it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an art room, they are just a bit more magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_HUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We really enjoyed. our stay at the icehotel - staff was friendly.We stayed one night in the cold accomodation- it's expensive but an exciting experience

Food in the restaurant is really good, but overpriced as well as the drinks, even for being Sweden

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emelieochjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lempäälä
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The service in the hotel is extremely unprofessional despite the premium price.

We were on honeymoon in March 2012 and wanted to spend one night in a memorable place and thought an Art Suite in Icehotel Jukkasjärvi would be the right place. Because were staying there just for one night and we had seen photos of the suites, we asked the hotel over a month earlier if it would be possible to get a specific art suite since we are just married and are staying there just for one night. The booking system itself does not let you to choose in which Art Suite you want to stay and the quality of those rooms vary greatly. We got a reply from the hotel saying that "I've made a note in your booking about your request for the Art Suite - Kraken's Lair, so the one in the reception can give you that specific Art Suite." So far so good.

It took us two days to drive there. When we got to the reception and showed them their email, they said the room was already given to someone else. What a big disappointment. It was not late or anything, we arrived around 14:00 and you get the rooms at 18:00. When we asked them how is this possible, they just insisted they cannot promise any rooms.. you can only make wishes and that we should have interpreted their email that way, like it was our fault. What are these room wishes good for if it does not matter at all if someone makes a wish earlier than someone else and they just give the rooms randomly. There was like three rooms left from which we had to choose.

When we checked out night later, we were asked if we had enjoyed the stay.. we had not. We explained again what the problem was and the person asked we wanted to talk with the manager. She then took our email, went to a backroom to talk with the someone who I assume was the manager. When she came back she just said they cannot make any room promises despite what they said in their email, and that we should have read their email so that it was not a confirmation, so it was not their fault.

There was no compensation whatsoever.. no free hot drink at the bar to make feel you better when we arrived or anything. If the hotel knows you are on honeymoon and you pay the premium price of 700 euros/550 gbp/850 dollars a night, I think anyone would expect better service than this from any hotel. It does not seem to matter to them if they leave bad taste in customer's mouth and ruin their holiday. With prices you pay they surely could afford to make things alright.

There is not much to see in the area besides the art suites of the hotel, so if you are going there, I would suggest to visit there during daytime and pay the entrance ticket to see the art suites, and then sleep somewhere else. There is only two restaurants in the area and they are expensive. One is near the hotel, the other one is some 800m away from the hotel. There seems to be only two settings when can you eat at these restaurants.. one around 18:30 and the second one around 21:00.

The parking place is quite small near the hotel and you cannot drive your car next to the entrance. When we arrived the parking place was full and we had to leave car further. Be prepared to drag all your luggage some 200m in snow to the hotel as it is not part of the service.

Not recommended to just married couples looking for a unique experience.

Room Tip: Just visit the Art Suites during daytime and save your money to some other hotel, activities and goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Evotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the IceHotel March 30-April1. We spent two nights. I went with my husband and our 4 kids (10, 8,6,and 4). We had a great experience. 2 nights was enough for us though (mainly b/c with kids those ages there are only so many things that they can do). We spent 1 night in the warm accomodations, and 1 nice in the cold room (with a warm room on reserve - i wasn't going to chance it with the kids). Kids slept great. No one moved into the warm room. It was definitely a trip we'll remember. While we didn't use the Icehotel for tours (mainly b/c the times didn't work out for us) we used Kiruna Guidetur (info@kirunaguidetur.com) and were happy with them. This was an expensive trip though and think that a couple of outside hot tubs would have really been a nice touch for those staying there. I'm giving it an average rating on value, b/c like I said it was expensive and I guess I expected for that price for the Warm rooms to be a bit nicer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cthurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
14.9 km away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
15.6 km away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
14.2 km away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
12.6 km away
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
#8 of 15 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
26.7 km away
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
#4 of 15 in Kiruna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Property: Icehotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icehotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing