We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The cabins were great - private, quiet and clean!”
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The cabins were great - private, quiet and clean!”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My partner and I have stayed at Discovery twice in the past year, and we have been really pleased with both visits. We stayed both times in the basic cabins, and it was great both in winter and summer. Very private and clean. Staff was friendly as well.

Our only complaint was the hot plates in the kitchen. Both times we visited, only a handful were working, so we had to be patient in boiling our water.

We loved the peacefulness of the place, and loved activies in the area. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin888899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    92
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
53
154
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Discovery's new bungalows at the front of the lodge are lovely. They were toasty, warm and nicely furnished. I was disappointed that we didn't have a porch or a view of the surrounding volcanoes. We were also a stone's throw away from the highway - not a relaxing spot at all.

I would recommend this lodge to people who are tramping in the area and who need a comfortable bed to sleep in for the night. It was unfortunately, not the mountain retreat we were hoping for.

We tried the lodge restaurant on our first night and we were very disappointed. Although the bungalows have a self catering facility, we were far away from any supermarkets. Had we planned better we would have bought our own food.

The people working at the lodge were very friendly and obviously have a passion for the area - a great resource when planning an epic tramp. For me, the new bungalows are fairly pricey for a spot right beside a highway.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at the Discovery Lodge mainly because we wanted to do the Tongariro Crossing. The hotel is very convenient to the park and offered an early morning shuttle and frequent pick-ups on the crossing trail. Unfortunately, we were not able to due the Crossing because of high wind, but the owner quickly told us of several different hikes in the park and we had a great hike anyway. The workers were very helpful and really helped us to make the best of a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squatchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed at Discovery Lodge the night before we started the Alpine Crossing and I believe there is simply no better place to stay for that purpose. The bungalows are brand new and very tastefully furnished. There is nothing missing and we should have stayed another night. The type and style of bungalow is a real benchmark for every lodge.

The lodge is providing a bus at different times in the morning that gets you directly to the starting point of your Alpine Crossing walk (which is a really nice walk - although not as breathtaking/life changing as Lonely Planet wants you to believe). They will also pick you up by bus on the other side of the mountain (volcano) at different times.

If you want a nice and cosy environment before and/or after the Alpine Crossing then book the Discovery Lodge. This is a place that can not improve anymore - as it is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetEarthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We stayed at Discovery lodge for two nights and chose it due to its location close to the start of the tongarrio crossing. We booked a studio chalet but due to a plumbing problem got an unexpected upgrade to a 1 bedroom chalet. The price of 165 might have been slightly overpriced for the studio but for the one bedroom it was spot on. The views of rupahu were breathtaking and the room was spotless. The only downside was the shower pressure, it was very low and after a 20km walk a strong warm shower would have been nice. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Discovery Lodge whilst touring New Zealand early this year. The studio chalet was clean and beautifully refurbished with a stunning view of the volcanoes. Ned and Callum were friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgable about the area. They provided us with an excellent packed lunch for our walk to the Tama Lakes. Definitely the place to stay for walking in the Tongariro National Park.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaide89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We used Discovery Lodge as our base for the Tongariro Crossing. To be honest, we selected them because they offer the earliest shuttle to the start of the walk (0545) and are probably the closest - we wanted to get ahead of the crowds - but the whole experience they offer (location, accommodation, dining, service) is just spot on. We stayed in one of the chalets, which turned out to be perfect - very well furnished and appointed and with an awesome view of Mt Ruapeho out of the window. If we could give them 6 out of 5 for location we would. We ended up eating in the restaurant both nights as we had not planned ahead well enough to self cater, although the facilities in the chalet were very good. The restaurant offered good food at very reasonable prices. Certainly the perfect option for the evening after the walk. Walking the crossing was one of the 3 must-do activities on our trip to New Zealand, staying at Discovery Lodge was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisharrison_24747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
9.0 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
9.3 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
24.3 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
3.5 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.8 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village
Discovery Lodge New Zealand/National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing