We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
95
31
6
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
31
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa lovely staywonderful hostsnew zealandtongariro crossingnice extra touchesvintage furniturebreakfast was delicioususb charging portshelping us planfree laundry facilitya great place to stayheated towel railfamily unitwashing machine and dryerbeds were very comfortablefriendly placethe kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 135 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2017

Great place to stop over on the trip to Auckland. I want to come back for a longer stay now, lovely spacious room and great hosts. Easy to find, and wwould be perfect for skiing or Tongariro crossing.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 878adriennek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Hi,
Thank you so much for the kind review - we really appreciate it!
It's great to hear you liked the size and comfort of our rooms, and look forward to hosting you again in future when you come skiing or tackle the Crossing :-)
All the best,
Louis & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017

Lovely, charming hosts running a great place to stay. Lots of good help/advice on the weather, places to dine as well as things for the four of us to do while we waited to walk the Alpine Crossing. We occupied the Turoa and Wakapapa Suites, each of which is itself like a small cottage. There's also an interconnecting door which was a bonus, as was the full kitchen in the Turoa Suite. The breakfast was simple, delicious and beautifully presented; silver cutlery and coffee pot, vintage crockery, cut-crystal glassware. We also got a great packed lunch for our tramp/hike. We definite plan to stay there next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: What they describe as their suites are great. I haven't seen the other rooms but would think they would be pretty good too.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simon_nz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Hi Simon,
Thanks so much for the positive feedback and kind comments. Really glad to hear you liked the breakfast and its presentation, as well as the lunch.
We do hope to see you again soon - there are plenty of activities to still do around here!
Cheers,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2017

My wife and I took a long week end at Tongariro Crossing Lodge. This charming place is conveniently situated to the attractions of Tongariro National Park. Being keen mountain bikers, we enjoyed simply hopping onto our bikes at the lodge and pedalling to the Marton Sash and Window (yip, that's what its called) trail, 1 km from our bedroom door.

Getting back from a 2 hour ride, we paricularly enjoyed the high tech shower in our Jerusalem Lodge Suit, helping ease our aching muscles!

Marina and Louis are particularly helpful, giving us useful information where to dine, as well as on the local attractions. With the help of their family, they produced delicious homemade goodies for breakfast, making for a homely start to the day, before we headed out for the day's activities.

The rooms are immaculate, warm and great value for money. We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to get the Jerusalem Lodge Suite. The shower is to die for!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Hi Gilles,
Thanks so much for the review - it's really appreciated! We enjoyed having you stay with us and were glad you got to enjoy the great biking tracks.
Perhaps we'll see you again in the winter season if you wanted to hit the slopes!
Cheers
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2017

TOP, UNIQUE, FRIENDLY PLACE!

You will not feel here like in hotel or lodge. You will feel here like in home.I had a separate bedroom with TV and some nice extra touches such as bedside USB charging ports, saloon with second TV and delightful furniture, even on-site free laundry facility.

I really like these rooms because of vintage furniture.

There is also parking area at the front.

It is excellent base location for doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The owners are very helpful regards Tongariro Alpine Crossing and in arranging transport to and from the crossing so you do not have to worry about anything.

I would definitely recommend this to others.

5 stars without shadow of doubt. You will love it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank piotrekj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Hi Peter,
Thanks a lot for the awesome review of our lodge and service - we really appreciate it! We're glad you liked the uniqueness of the lodge and furniture, as well as the little extras - we do think it stands out from the crowd :-)
We wish all the best for the rest of your biking adventure and will follow your blog closely (with the help of Google Translate, of course!).
With thanks,
Louis & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in a comfortable suite room with some nice extra touches such as bedside USB charging ports, towel warming/drying rack, etc. Our kitchen (shared with one other suite) was set up just like a kitchen at home might be - everything needed was there and we enjoyed using it. There is a great outdoor patio which would be lovely on warm summer evenings. We really appreciated the on-site free laundry facility. Louis and Marina are very nice and helpful hosts and were able to accommodate a last-minute schedule change in our booking (possible because there was space available on the new dates). Great base location for doing the Tongariro crossing and a choice of restaurants all close by - one of them exceptional. The lodge in general had a cozy and personal feel, would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The suite rooms are spacious and comfortable with nice kitchen shared with just one other suite.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisvw, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Hello Lance,
Thank you very much for the positive feedback and kind words about our lodge and service - it is greatly appreciated. I'm glad you liked the kitchen and found the laundry, USB chargers and heated towel rail of value - we do try hard with those little extras :-) It's also great to hear you enjoyed the local dining options - for a small village, we are very fortunate with the range and quality of eateries. I hope you had a good rest of your trip in NZ, and will look you up if we ever get to Colorado. And thanks for the beers!
All the best,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews