We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We stayed for 4 nights in a lovely family room with TV, DVD, 01 king bed and 2 king singles. The kitchen was set up with everything that we need and the bathroom is clean. We really appreciated the laundry facility... every night we used to dry ours Ski clothes for the next day (perfect). Marina is very kind and helpful host and helped us with a late checkout so we could enjoy the last day until 1 PM. Great location for SKI on the winter (just 15 km from Whakapapa) or Tongariro Crossing. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jferra_363806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi,
Thank you very much for the kind words and positive feedback - it's greatly appreciated!
We're happy the facilities, especially the laundry, met the needs of your family, and we were glad to be able to help with the late check-out and where else we could.
We hope to welcome you again in future should you come back and enjoy more of the area!
Best wishes,
Louis & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

Great place to stop over on the trip to Auckland. I want to come back for a longer stay now, lovely spacious room and great hosts. Easy to find, and wwould be perfect for skiing or Tongariro crossing.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 878adriennek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi,
Thank you so much for the kind review - we really appreciate it!
It's great to hear you liked the size and comfort of our rooms, and look forward to hosting you again in future when you come skiing or tackle the Crossing :-)
All the best,
Louis & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Lovely, charming hosts running a great place to stay. Lots of good help/advice on the weather, places to dine as well as things for the four of us to do while we waited to walk the Alpine Crossing. We occupied the Turoa and Wakapapa Suites, each of which is itself like a small cottage. There's also an interconnecting door which was a bonus, as was the full kitchen in the Turoa Suite. The breakfast was simple, delicious and beautifully presented; silver cutlery and coffee pot, vintage crockery, cut-crystal glassware. We also got a great packed lunch for our tramp/hike. We definite plan to stay there next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: What they describe as their suites are great. I haven't seen the other rooms but would think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simon_nz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Simon,
Thanks so much for the positive feedback and kind comments. Really glad to hear you liked the breakfast and its presentation, as well as the lunch.
We do hope to see you again soon - there are plenty of activities to still do around here!
Cheers,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

My wife and I took a long week end at Tongariro Crossing Lodge. This charming place is conveniently situated to the attractions of Tongariro National Park. Being keen mountain bikers, we enjoyed simply hopping onto our bikes at the lodge and pedalling to the Marton Sash and Window (yip, that's what its called) trail, 1 km from our bedroom door.

Getting back from a 2 hour ride, we paricularly enjoyed the high tech shower in our Jerusalem Lodge Suit, helping ease our aching muscles!

Marina and Louis are particularly helpful, giving us useful information where to dine, as well as on the local attractions. With the help of their family, they produced delicious homemade goodies for breakfast, making for a homely start to the day, before we headed out for the day's activities.

The rooms are immaculate, warm and great value for money. We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to get the Jerusalem Lodge Suite. The shower is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Gilles,
Thanks so much for the review - it's really appreciated! We enjoyed having you stay with us and were glad you got to enjoy the great biking tracks.
Perhaps we'll see you again in the winter season if you wanted to hit the slopes!
Cheers
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

TOP, UNIQUE, FRIENDLY PLACE!

You will not feel here like in hotel or lodge. You will feel here like in home.I had a separate bedroom with TV and some nice extra touches such as bedside USB charging ports, saloon with second TV and delightful furniture, even on-site free laundry facility.

I really like these rooms because of vintage furniture.

There is also parking area at the front.

It is excellent base location for doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The owners are very helpful regards Tongariro Alpine Crossing and in arranging transport to and from the crossing so you do not have to worry about anything.

I would definitely recommend this to others.

5 stars without shadow of doubt. You will love it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank piotrekj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi Peter,
Thanks a lot for the awesome review of our lodge and service - we really appreciate it! We're glad you liked the uniqueness of the lodge and furniture, as well as the little extras - we do think it stands out from the crowd :-)
We wish all the best for the rest of your biking adventure and will follow your blog closely (with the help of Google Translate, of course!).
With thanks,
Louis & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in a comfortable suite room with some nice extra touches such as bedside USB charging ports, towel warming/drying rack, etc. Our kitchen (shared with one other suite) was set up just like a kitchen at home might be - everything needed was there and we enjoyed using it. There is a great outdoor patio which would be lovely on warm summer evenings. We really appreciated the on-site free laundry facility. Louis and Marina are very nice and helpful hosts and were able to accommodate a last-minute schedule change in our booking (possible because there was space available on the new dates). Great base location for doing the Tongariro crossing and a choice of restaurants all close by - one of them exceptional. The lodge in general had a cozy and personal feel, would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The suite rooms are spacious and comfortable with nice kitchen shared with just one other suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisvw, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hello Lance,
Thank you very much for the positive feedback and kind words about our lodge and service - it is greatly appreciated. I'm glad you liked the kitchen and found the laundry, USB chargers and heated towel rail of value - we do try hard with those little extras :-) It's also great to hear you enjoyed the local dining options - for a small village, we are very fortunate with the range and quality of eateries. I hope you had a good rest of your trip in NZ, and will look you up if we ever get to Colorado. And thanks for the beers!
All the best,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We had a lovely stay last weekend at the Tongariro Crossing lodge. The owners are super helpful in giving advice on the local activities and places to eat, and in arranging transport to and from the crossing. They also offered advice on some bike rides in the area - which were awesome. The room had lots of character with really comfy beds and nice furniture. The breakfast was a highlight with home made bread, fresh fruit (including hand picked blueberries) and lovely eggs. I would definitely recommend this to others and would stay here on my next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank louhalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvanWyk, Owner at Tongariro Crossing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Hi Lou, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review :-) So glad you enjoyed the breakfast and especially the homemade bread, as well as the unique character of our rooms. And, well done to your 6-year old son for tackling the Tongariro Crossing too - what a legend! Hope to welcome you again real soon! Cheers, Louis & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.6 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,696 reviews
12.9 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
459 reviews
25.6 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
542 reviews
0.1 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
283 reviews
0.2 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Crossing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Crossing Lodge

Address: 27 Carrol Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $144 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tongariro Crossing Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Crossing Lodge is the only place of its kind in National Park Village. Our family-owned and operated boutique lodge caters for travellers seeking personal attention in a welcoming and laid-back atmosphere. We offer spacious and comfortable rooms with a distinctive historic character where you can relax and recharge after a hard day’s trekking, biking, skiing or travelling. In the warmer months, our landscaped grounds and patio garden, with mountain views, provide an oasis of calm and seclusion for weary adventurers. As travellers ourselves we know what it’s like exploring a new country or dashing down to the mountains for a weekend. We strive to offer a place where guests can feel rested, at home and taken care of from the moment they arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tongariro Crossing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Crossing Hotel National Park Village
Tongariro Crossing Lodge New Zealand/National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing