We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for any occasion.”
other traveller has booked this property
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2 Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage Great Views of Mountains
Mont Rouge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EsmarieR1
1 review
“Perfect for any occasion.”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Mont Rouge is the perfect location fot any occasion, from wedding venue, family and friend get togethers to romantic getaways. The location next to a stream, with views of the mountains and orchards are amazing anytime of the year. Cottages are wonderful and the service is always friendly and truely welcoming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Hello thank you so much for our lovely review.

We get often get complements about our friendliness , we always say it takes nothing to be friendly. And it was so nice meeting you and all our wonderful guests, makes the job easy.

see you soon. i do expect you will be here soon again this year..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amor0310
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overwellmed”
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

At first you dont know if you made the rigt decision........ Then you unlock the door of your cottage to the most beautiful scenery.. Overwellmed by natures beauty and farm life, with a waterstream that flows right by your window when you open the sliding door ... Giving it a calmed and relaxed ambiece. The acorns falling on the roof ... can be a tricky experience to figure out what caused the sounds. :-) A definate yes!!! Cottage 3 .... if you are only 2 people

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Hello

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It always makes our harts glad when we hear people had a good time and made the decision to come and stay on our farm. We do hope that you will come and visit us again and bring the family to stay in one of the larger cottages.

PS you should hear how lovely the sound of the river is during winter. Sorry about the acorns falling on the roof (at Stellenbosch Univ that would have been a sign of good luck) that is what happens if you build a cottage between oak threes.


Was lovely meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blessed03...
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

When we walked into one of the cottages at Mont Rouge Farm we were overwhelmed... All our expectations were exceeded. We had the most wonderful view from our patio. The sound of the river just below our cottage was fantastic and so good for our souls. The cottage we stayed in was like a tree house, so perfect! The place was tidy, spacious, clean and very beautifully decorated. We were greeted with such friendliness and help from Marisha. All in all it was one perfect weekend and we felt so blessed and privilege to have been there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sound of the river just below our cottage.
Liked least: Everything was perfect. Nothing to complain about.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for such a great review. It make my me so happy to hear this and that you had a great time. I do hope you will be able to come and stay again and that it will be just as great and special as the first time. We are surly blessed with a great place and a great view of the mountains.

see you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colleen70...
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“perfect”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

we had such a pleasant experience from the time I made my inquiry, beautiful cottages, clean well equipped, fresh bread and the most lovely little oranges were all in the cottage on arrival. little rusks coffee, tea and milk for the next morning. the owners husband made a point to come visit us in the evening to see that we were all settled in and if we needed anything. what a friendly couple thank you for making our stay a lovely experience.
Colleen van der Merwe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, wonderful setting in the mountains great service
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Hello Colleen

Thank you for this beautiful review..must say it was great meeting you after all the emails...We hope to see you here again. Good luck with the last part of the year.
xxx

Marisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kikiblom
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway from the city”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a wonderful stay! The cottage was perfectly kitted out for the 10 of us and the interior decorating is absolutely beautiful. Even though the weather was very stormy we had such a cosy and relaxing visit - spent a lot of time around the fire place! Thanks for making us feel so at home and for providing the perfect getaway spot in the stunning Winterhoek Valley! Will definitely return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great design and decoration of the house - very cosy!
Liked least: The fact that there was no webber and the braai area was not under roof so could not braai in the rain
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
To getaway from the city is always a great treat. I am so glad you could have fun and enjoy it around the fireplace even with the stormy weather out side. Glad we had that little fireplace put in for you!!! And enjoining it with friends makes it even better.

See you here in Summer of even in Winter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belindaha...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“My Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My husband and I were looking for a midweek break away from the city and every day hustle and bustle. We stayed in the little cottage at Mont Rouge for just 2 nights yet it felt like a weeks rest. It is simply beautiful. From the warm welcome we received from Marisha to the lovely decor in the well equipped cottage, we felt very comfortable indeed. We were truly able to relax and soak up the lovely views and soothing sound of the bubbling stream running under the cottage. The farm is set in gorgeous surroundings and we even encountered a little buck whilst taking a stroll through the orchards.
I would highly recommend this cottage and hope we get to visit again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are always so happy to hear that people had a great time and was able to relax. You will have to come in the winter , when the mountains are covered in snow. Make a nice fire inside and just take in the view!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanga z
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect retreat for the weary soul”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed recently with a friend in their largest cottage (cottage 3), beautiful! Decor style is rustic/country with the prettiest antiquish decor relics! Loved the scenic views from the very large, private veranda, with a river stream running just along the cottage, and the amazing dam and large clearing nearby. We felt as though we were staying in the heart of a nature reserve, so green, mountainous and just plain amazing! The owner/manager Marisha is extremely warm, friendly and welcoming, and yet not at all intrusive, so we spent 3 amazing nights and days resting, doing a bit of writing work, running (perfect uphill, scenic roads for jogging!) and restaurant hopping. Will definitely return, this time with my entire family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage furnishings, the farm itself, the scenic views, the quiet and peacefulness and jogging trail
Liked least: very hot 3 days though the fan helped a lot!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you so much..

So glad you liked our cottage. We had much fun with the decor. Loved that part the most .

Glad you had a great time. Makes me happy to hear things like this.

makes it worth wild doing this job..

See you hopefully again.

kind regards
Marisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing