We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
M. S
Toronto, Canada

Impressed in Every Aspect!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 25, 2018
This was exactly what I envisioned as winter wonderland. It is very quiet place, warm and cozy inside with breathtaking views outside.The cottages are nestled in pure wilderness. The resort is conveniently located close by Mattawa, where one could go shopping for all the necessities .The log cabins are equipped with everything to prepare your own meals, but I feel like we would indulge in the Cardinal restaurant next time. Also heat sources are 2 in the cabin, the wood burning stove adds so much coziness to the room, but if lazy to start a fire, heaters will do. We also enjoyed the sauna and hiking all day on the trails around. Owners are very friendly and passionate in everything they do.
Thank you Nicole and Adrian, also Tammy for your kindness, you made us feel at home in no time, we really appreciate the invitation to your family event ,delicious meals and warm atmosphere. We would love to come again, hit the slopes and skate on the river, bring the ski-doos and enjoy all those fun activities.
Happy Holidays
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$148
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$148
  • Expedia.com
    C$141
  • Agoda.com
    C$148
9.1 km from Mattawa River Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$137
C$111
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$116
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$137
  • Tripadvisor
    C$111
6.8 km from Mattawa River Resort
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
8.8 km from Mattawa River Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$249
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.0 km from Mattawa River Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$140
C$132
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$140
  • Official Hotel Site
    C$140
29.1 km from Mattawa River Resort
C$226
C$205
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$205
  • Hotels.com
    C$205
  • Priceline
    C$226
43.1 km from Mattawa River Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$85
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$85
  • Trip.com
    C$80
  • Priceline
    C$85
44.2 km from Mattawa River Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Two Qeen Bed
C$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$120
  • Hotels.com
    C$125
  • Priceline
    C$120
46.3 km from Mattawa River Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$112
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$106
  • Hotels.com
    C$112
47.7 km from Mattawa River Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mattawa
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
24
0
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
0
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 28 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

What an incredibly nostalgic lodge/cabins! We were looking for something close to the Ottawa River for boating and the Mattawa River Resort was perfect for us! We enjoyed our 2 nights so much we decided to stay another night. Nicole and Tammy offered us the best hospitality and were accommodating and flexible with our changes. This location is also so close to Samuel de Champlain for hiking or tubing down the rapids(next time!). The resort offers free canoe use and the Mattawa River is spectacular to canoe. Very little boat traffic and the views are wonderful. Truly a beautiful and peaceful place to enjoy! We look forward to returning again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Conrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

Awesome,awesome,clean and personable and they all address me by my first name the same day I got there. Love the food,the bed ,bedding and pillows are so so comfy,and they have three dogs that are so passive. Great family business. Will be back,you can count on that.thank you for everything.

Room tip: Radisson cabin was so cute and fettuccini Alfredo the best
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank smurfett2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

The pictures don't do justice to the natural beauty of the area as well as the clean and well kept cabins and restaurant. Beds are comfortable and very clean, and the cabins were immaculate. The restaurant was reminiscent of quality home cooking with some very unique options as well such as a famous and monstrous burger. A simple and high quality draft beer selection, and lots of things to do. Extremely friendly and personable owners who we spent a lot of time talking to and an overall warm and friendly atmosphere. I learned a lot about the area, and the staff were quick to go above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be. They were extremely accommodating to our last minute arrival and special requests. I truly hope to return soon.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Zachary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

Above and beyond....I recently took several college students to Canada and we look for a place to stay the night before we went to Algonquin Park. We turned into the River resort due to passing by it and seeing the signs. It turned out to be amazing! The place is absolutely beautiful! The food in the restaurant was incredible! The next day we had car trouble, and the owners actually helped us to get our car to a shop, and help us pick it up when it was repaired! Cabins were really nice, the beds were fantastic! You need to see this place! Great place for families as well, lots to do all included in the price.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank lpedenlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

I had the pleasure of being 1 of a few organizers of our annual Spirit of Sisterhood Bash that saw over 60+ women on motorcyles arrive for a 3-day/2-night stay at this absolutely beautiful, scenic and peaceful resort. The owners, Nicole and Adrian Grigorov along with their staff went far above and beyond to ensure that every detail of our stay was exceptional and they were so very accommodating to our wants and needs.

The accommodtions were second to none. The wood-panelled and spacious fully-equipped cabins with beautiful balconies and views show such attention to detail, cleanliness, and comfort with everything you need to cook (pots/pans/gas bbq, dishes, dish cloths, tea towels, etc), wash (towels, face cloths), sleep (linens, awesome pillows), along with comfy couches and beds. We were amazed and delighted.

The restaurant atmosphere was enjoyable and cozy and talk about fabulous food. We had the best large portions of home-style cooking made with fresh produce infused with flavours that were so pleasant to the palate and served family-style to accommodate our large group all seated together. We never once felt rushed and walked away from the dinner table completely stuffed and satisfied. Our waitresses were friendly and efficient and made sure we had everything we needed. Chef Chris even made herself available to chat with us all. The breakfast buffet was so plentiful and had something for everyone with so many different meats, eggs, waffles, cereals, fruits, pastries, and that bottomless perfectly brewed cup of coffee.

It was the perfect getaway for us to gather together to laugh, relax and just sit on the porch and watch life go by, or do some fishing, and gather nightly at the fire pit to sing a song, tell a story and enjoyed the escape from the rat race. Many of us are planning to return with our spouse for another weekend of bliss as the location and views also show the best of what Northern Ontario has to offer. Thank you for making it such a memorable weekend.

Did we enjoy our stay? Absolutely!
Were we well treated? Absolutely!
Were the cabins first class? Absolutely!
Was the food incredible? Absolutely!
Will we be back? Absolutely!
Do we recommend this resort? Absolutely!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews