We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely views, great location, a few things...”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Ecluses- private pool with child guard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Ecluses- private pool with child guard
moon over portiragnes beach children's play area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Villa Ecluses- private pool with child guard
moon over portiragnes beach
children's play area
fireplace in luxury lounge and dining area
A recommended daytrip to nearby Carcasonne
reception and dining area
pool with shallow zone for smaller ones/relaxing
view from balcony to sea
Fresh Baguette for Breakfast under the Parasol shade
Villa Ecluses Balcony overlooking Canl du Midi- beautiful for sunsets
NATURE BY THE BEACH
migrating flocks of flamingoes
flowers in bloom
manicured garden
Shepherd and Sheepdogs moves flock watched by tourists
bathroom 2
bathroom 1has additional self contained shower unit
masterbedroom with kingsize double bed
Barbecue house patio and sheltered dining area
Bring the sunshades and the suncream - portiragnes beach
portiragnes beach -hot and sunny safe swimming blueflag beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Portiragnes, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarkB10
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely views, great location, a few things missing (like 2 bathrooms)”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We had a great time during our 6 days at Villa Ecluses. As the name implies, it is located at the end of a street across from the locks on the Canal du Midi, and the area is lovely. The rooms are spacious and the grounds are great. Although we didn't use the swimming pool, it looked well-tended and inviting. The view from the upstairs balcony is magnificent. Dinners and happy hours at the table out there were magical. The villa is a short walk from the center of Portiragnes, where we found a wonderful bakery for breakfasts of croissants and café au lait and a couple of bars, notably La Part de l'Ange, that were nice slices of French country life. There is ample parking on-site, and the place feels very private and secure. The WI-FI nternet works well.

However, there are a few things that should be clarified or corrected, as they differed from the description on Trip Advisor. We were a group of 8 adults, and one of the big selling points was that Overview indicated that the house had 4 bathrooms. Later in the description, it says three full baths plus a shower. In fact, this is a 2 bathroom house. There is a full bath upstairs and another room with shower, sink, but no toilet. Downstairs, where 3 of the bedrooms are located, there is one bathroom with a shower, a tub, a sink and a toilet, and one small room with a toilet but not even a sink or place to wash your hands. This was awkward at times with 6 adults sharing the downstairs area. There are no dressers or drawers for storage in the bedrooms, although there are shelves in the closets that can serve for some. Mostly, we left things in our suitcases the whole time. The description also claimed television, but we could never make the cable box work even though we followed the furnished directions. We weren't that interested in watching TV, but nevertheless we felt that the description was misleading. Towels, bath soap, and toilet paper were supplied in only the minimum quantities, requiring us to go to the grocery store immediately. None of this ruined our experience there, but it did not measure up to other experiences we have had renting houses like this in Italy, UK, and the United States.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Hi Mark
Im delighted you enjoyed your stay and the magical evenings there at the dinner table .
I do apologise for the misunderstanding you had about the bathrooms.
There is 2 full bathrooms with bath and shower upstairs and downstairs and a third bathroom upstairs with shower only. The fourth is what is known in France as a WC ... toilet room only
Im sorry you felt you didnt have enough toiletries also.
The TV is fully functional from the remote control as described in house manual. As per your tempoary issue with getting connected to the wifi connection ,if you contacted me on email or phone I would have assisted you straight away once I was aware of the issue, but Im delighted you enjoyed your visit. Wishing you a safe journey home .
Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
HI Jennifer,
Many thanks for your lovely review and I'm delighted you had a great holiday at Villa Ecluses mediteranee and that you have arrived home safely
Its back now to the football season now for the winter ......so enjoy that!!!

Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your lovely comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jacm0r63
Paris, France
1 review
“Superbe Villa”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Marvelloues Villa with superbe pool in sheltered garden
We all Swam each day ... lovely patio to lie out after
Great activities bikes provided for many many cycle and walk path

All of us enjoyed this tri immensely

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Delighted you a
Had a fun time

That's what holidays are for

Safe home

Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Hi

thanks for fabulous review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay
I look forward to see you again

Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
veronica1...
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This beautiful villa is situated a stone’s throw from the Canal Du Midi. All downstairs bedrooms had French Doors to the garden which was fully enclosed. The garden had a play area with swings and slides and the pool, with child proof fencing, had lots of flotation devices - great for our 3 year old boy.

The house was very clean and well decorated. The view from the balcony out to the Mediterranean was fantastic. There were 2 well equipped kitchens but much of the time we ate at the local restaurants.
It was absolutely perfect for a peaceful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Many thanks

Im delighted you had an enjoyable stay

Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziconess
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“super”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a great week here at the 4 end of July. House was big enought to easily accomodate 4 adults, 2 teenagers and a toddler with plenty of room to spare.

The pool is fantastic and the balcony shows a great view towards the med, lovely for watching those summer storms.

Local area has all you could need and the house is located close enough to Agde and Beziers for travel not to be a problem.

Recommended & thank you for a lovely week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing