We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Party at The Millhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sharnbrook
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Thank you to Carl and Olivia and all the staff at The Millhouse. I had the most sensational birthday party with friends and family from all over the UK, from France, and from the USA. The venue was divine, the food delicious, the service excellent and all in all, it was a most special evening. You satisfied our every whim, even (amazingly) serving bowls of chips during the elegant cocktail and canape time, when one of our American friends mixed up the words crisps (UK) and chips (USA). We and our guests occupied every room in the hotel, and all were very happy with the accommodations. The location is so beautiful - if only you could have controlled the rain, but you certainly shone in every other area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to the hotel for a nice quiet break. As soon as we walked in the door the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Our room was big enough for two and nice and clean! We had a three course meal at the restaurant which was in a lovely setting and the food was delicious. We also woke up to a traditional cooked breakfast which was amazing! The staff were really helpful throughout the whole stay making sure that we were having a good time. We would defiantly stay at the hotel again we had a really nice time and we have never experienced such good customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadinePoli1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Myself, my husband and my two children enjoyed a lovely weekend stay. We had a family room which had a separate area for the children with TV and super direct views across the river to spot the local birdlife. The staff could not have been more helpful, accommodating my rather fussy 8 year old with tasty snacks and even mugs of warm milk at bedtime! The evening meal was served in a cosy and atmospheric restaurant again taking advantage of the countryside vista. We had an excellent meal and again the children were made to feel very wecome. We found this to be a great base for enjoying local attractions (safari park etc) that would have been otherwise too far to travel to from home without a comfy stopover. Great walks from the riverside right next to the hotel too. Hotel spotlessly clean (and I am a clean freak too!).

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the hotel overlooking the river is a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusyMumOfTwoPlusDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stay a couple of weeks ago with work and the venue was amazing. The staff were helpful and always very polite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the mill hotel in march this year on a business trip, i found the welcome warm and the service excellent! My room was clean and comfortable, also reasonably priced given the area.
I dined twice in the restaurant having a traditional breakfast and dinner, the dinner was particularly good I choose fillet steak with dauphinoise potatoes and had a peppercorn sauce, lovely!! And to follow a selection of their homemade ice creams which were particularly nice.

Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay even though it was a business trip and will definately recommend to my collegues and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livingoutmysuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff made my stay very relaxing. Lovely quiet location by the river, meaning great views. Food 10/10! Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mermaidregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel whilst we were going to the British Grand Prix.
Really friendly welcome from all members of staff.
We only stayed a couple of nights, but the room we had was really nice.
We only had one evening meal as we were out most of the day, but the food was really nice. Also good to see a restaurant using local produce throughout its menu.
Hope to go back this year!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayJay582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharnbrook
1.5 km away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
352 reviews
7.1 km away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
332 reviews
10.3 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 18 in Bedford
315 reviews
12.3 km away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
744 reviews
15.6 km away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Address: Stoke Mill Mill Road, Sharnbrook, Bedford MK44 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Sharnbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sharnbrook
Price Range: $119 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe we have something special for everyone here; dining in the conservatories overlooking the river or our more formal dining room; a permanent marquee for up to 120 people for weddings and functions; 9 beautifully appointed bedrooms and informal business meeting facilities. The Millhouse Hotel has 9 en-suite bedrooms all furnished to a high standard. The hotel offers single, double, twin and disabled rooms all with free broadband access, telephone, TV (digital freeview available in superior rooms), trouser press, hairdryer, fluffy towels from the heated towel rail and a good selection of tea and coffee. Guests can also enjoy complimentary toiletries in all rooms. The hotel is in an idyllic location yet just off the A6, 7 miles north of Bedford and central to Northampton, Milton Keynes, Oxford and Cambridge. Click here for our contact details. All guests can be assured of the best in choice and quality for food and wine when dining at the Millhouse. All of our dishes are created by our Chef, Matt Henman and his team, using fresh locally sourced seasonal ingredients wherever possible. He comments below on his culinary ethos: ‘I pride myself on using local produce and you can’t really get fresher or more local than Abrahams Farm Shop next door, free range venison from Harrold and P.E Burley & Son in Turvey providing our prime beef, pork, lamb, chicken and duck. I have kept prices down without compromising on quality of produce and the fresh flavours used in my dishes.’ Chef Matt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing