We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
145
61
29
15
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
61
29
15
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding receptionwedding venuesunday lunchfunction roomlooked greatbe visiting againfull englishtea and coffeecouple of nightsstayed here for one nightlovely foodan overnight staycooked breakfastmealphilupgradingmoors
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 274 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

We came here for a wedding, arrived all very pleasant,room standard features,could do with a little tlc, but so can most,
Breakfast good quality,slight mix on order but busy,poss say they need a bit more staff but being a hotelier I know about that, service good, the main reason for the 5 is they went above and beyond to find a small item that was lost and may I say returned safe thanks

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tricky2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and was very impressed. The area is very beautiful, the reception we received when we arrived very good. The wedding breakfast was lovely, roast beef and Yorkshire pudding. We sat in a room with seats for 100 guests and this was very snug..not a lot of room. We stopped overnight but our room was not particularly good. The shower had two temperatures, scalding hot or freezing cold. We had nowhere to hang clothes..so new suits were on the floor. The room could do with a lick of paint. The bathroom needs ripping out and replacing, especially the broken floor tiles. We did say something about the room and they did reduce the price. Breakfast was very busy for the amount of staff on. One member of staff said someone had rang in sick. One staff member carried a tea and coffee pot around..constantly refilling cups..these quickly emptied and off she went to boil the kettle again. Why not give everyone a tea pot each, so much easier and then freeing up the staff member. Plus a hot breakfast buffet would have saved them all the work of making so many fresh breakfasts. Overall a great wedding..with a few tweaks this could be a great place to stay. Oh one more thing..our wedding bar was about 4 deep so my husband went into the empty residents bar where he was refused to buy any drinks. They really did not want him buying anything in there..and we were residents as we were stopping the night in the hotel. The DJ was fantastic..i am not a lover of DJ's but Neil was great. He was up dancing with all the guests..fab.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank christine209940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Thank-you for looking after me again. Phil and Tony are the benchmarks in customer service and I was pleased to see you training up the next generation of hoteliers – they could not get better mentors.

Always there to help, go the extra mile, good friendly/family feel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
4  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2017

I stayed here whilst working in the area, the hotel is set in a cracking location with amazing views.
I believe its a family run business and all of them were attentive to everyones needs.
the service is second to none, the food is very good quality and presentation is on point
I will defo stay here again

try the crisp pork belly with mustard mash if your a foodie

Room Tip: room 24 is on the back of the building, so was really quiet
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Director of Sales at Clough Manor, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Many Thanks for your comments. We love your feedback and are thrilled to also announce we have been awarded an 'Excellent' rating from Trip Adviser for our over all service this year.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Phil and The Clough Manor Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived at Clough Manor it was clear and welcoming. Staff were friendly. The room was a fair size and was clean and included everything one would need for a couple of nights away from home. However having a meal in the restaurant proved to be challenging as ordering and then waiting for the food to arrive just took an extraordinarily long time. We ended up going back to our room and had the desert sent there which arrived 2 hours later. Then the function room below sprang into action with the constant thud-thud-thud of loud disco music! It was not a very restful night. So our experience was mixed. Friendly staff and a clean environment on one hand verses loud disc music and shockingly slow service in the restaurant.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews