We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Clough Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clough Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denshaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I recently stayed at the Clough Manor with a friend of mine who was visiting the UK from Qatar.

We were on an unplanned road trip and we were searching for nearby accommodation.

Staying at the Clough Manor could not have been any better! Our twin room was spacious and full of character. We opted to have dinner at the hotel restaurant and the salmon risotto was cooked to absolute perfection! Breakfast was plentiful with locally sourced options.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

13 - 19 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

After an incident on the M62 and a number of hours in traffic we managed to stumble upon the Clough Manor and rang ahead to book, we arrived and were greeting by very welcoming hosts who were very pleasant and easy to talk too. We stayed in a 4 poster room which was excellent size with lovely views out the window. The shower wasn't the most powerful but that aside everything else with the facilities was excellent. The breakfast the next morning was superb and really enjoyable, overall the stay the staff and the team were all excellent.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

It's a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. It's quiet, the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The food is great and reasonably priced. We stayed there in February and loved it so much that we came back for more

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wingskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We came here for a wedding, arrived all very pleasant,room standard features,could do with a little tlc, but so can most,
Breakfast good quality,slight mix on order but busy,poss say they need a bit more staff but being a hotelier I know about that, service good, the main reason for the 5 is they went above and beyond to find a small item that was lost and may I say returned safe thanks

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tricky2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and was very impressed. The area is very beautiful, the reception we received when we arrived very good. The wedding breakfast was lovely, roast beef and Yorkshire pudding. We sat in a room with seats for 100 guests and this was very snug..not a lot of room. We stopped overnight but our room was not particularly good. The shower had two temperatures, scalding hot or freezing cold. We had nowhere to hang clothes..so new suits were on the floor. The room could do with a lick of paint. The bathroom needs ripping out and replacing, especially the broken floor tiles. We did say something about the room and they did reduce the price. Breakfast was very busy for the amount of staff on. One member of staff said someone had rang in sick. One staff member carried a tea and coffee pot around..constantly refilling cups..these quickly emptied and off she went to boil the kettle again. Why not give everyone a tea pot each, so much easier and then freeing up the staff member. Plus a hot breakfast buffet would have saved them all the work of making so many fresh breakfasts. Overall a great wedding..with a few tweaks this could be a great place to stay. Oh one more thing..our wedding bar was about 4 deep so my husband went into the empty residents bar where he was refused to buy any drinks. They really did not want him buying anything in there..and we were residents as we were stopping the night in the hotel. The DJ was fantastic..i am not a lover of DJ's but Neil was great. He was up dancing with all the guests..fab.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank christine209940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Thank-you for looking after me again. Phil and Tony are the benchmarks in customer service and I was pleased to see you training up the next generation of hoteliers – they could not get better mentors.

Always there to help, go the extra mile, good friendly/family feel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
4  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

I stayed here whilst working in the area, the hotel is set in a cracking location with amazing views.
I believe its a family run business and all of them were attentive to everyones needs.
the service is second to none, the food is very good quality and presentation is on point
I will defo stay here again

try the crisp pork belly with mustard mash if your a foodie

Room Tip: room 24 is on the back of the building, so was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Director of Sales at Clough Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Many Thanks for your comments. We love your feedback and are thrilled to also announce we have been awarded an 'Excellent' rating from Trip Adviser for our over all service this year.

We look forward to seeing you again.


Phil and The Clough Manor Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denshaw
4.9 km away
The Gate Inn
The Gate Inn
#1 of 1 in Diggle
66 reviews
3.6 km away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
8.5 km away
#9 of 11 in Oldham
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
10.9 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadderton
558 reviews
8.5 km away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clough Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clough Manor

Address: Rochdale Road, Denshaw, Oldham OL3 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham > Denshaw
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denshaw
Price Range: $76 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clough Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clough Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clough Manor Hotel Denshaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing