We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of CasaCades

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Hall
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Games room
sunset from veranda
Evening Seaview from Veranda
view from bedroom 1
view from bedroom 2
Calheta Beach and Marina
Calheta Marina
Madeira Mountains
Madeira Levada Walk
Madeira Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Estreito da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kmc895531...
ellon, aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Special View”
Reviewed December 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Nice villa with lovely view across the Atlantic and the surrounding area.
Bed comfortable in main bedroom, however you could not lock the doors or windows and it could be a tad drafty. Hairdrier had bare wires showing.
Disappointed with barbecue, only 1 when we were told there was 2 and it was so rusty and absolutely filthy, my husband spent ages cleaning it.
Living room area nice enough but if you wanted to sit indoors when weather not so good, no side tables to put anything on, ie.drink or anything.
Door leading into kitchen had selotape literally holding in panes of glass.
3 heaters supplied one worked efficiently the second had only 3 legs and the third did not work.
Pool cues of which 4 were supplied with pool table only 1 cue had a tip on it.
No Hammock in sight, despite pictures.
This villa could be so much more if maintained a bit better.
Downstairs cupboard full of old furniture where we were told we could get wood for barbecue but could not get to wood without dislodging old furniture. So on the whole disappointed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Hello Kay
Many thanks for the feedback . You can see from our review history that we always receive very positive feedback and I was therefore naturally disappointed that you experienced a few problems during your stay .
In the correspondence issued to guests during the booking process I always advise that Rose and Gilberto are available throughout the holiday , to help resolve any problems .It is unfortunate that you didn’t mention these issues to Rose as she would have immediately dealt with them to your satisfaction . Having said that I would have expected some of the problems to have been noticed at the changeover of the last guests, prior to your arrivaI .
We really appreciate your honest feedback as this has now enabled us to resolve all the issues you raised , for the benefit of future guests . I know that this does not help you directly . In recompense I would like to give a refund of £50 for your inconvenience , please can you provide your bank details so I can do this online .
I know the weather was not good during your vacation , but I sincerely hope that this , together with the few ‘ niggles ‘ raised , did not spoil your holiday too much.,
Very kind regards

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_y_va_p...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful retreat”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at Villa CasaCades. What a location! The views from the veranda are amazing and it was great to have different areas to sit (whichever of us had the baby could retreat to the shade whilst the other got to soak up the sun). The garden terrace, with outdoor sofas and chairs was an added bonus. I was only sorry that we were there too early to benefit from all of the tropical fruit trees in the garden, but enjoyed spotting the growing bananas, oranges, figs and mangos.

The villa itself is clean, spacious and airy and well laid out. The same beautiful sea views are seen from the living area and main bedroom, and the other bedrooms look out onto rural land and over to the mountains. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking (there is a village shop for food supplies, and a supermarket in nearby Calheta) - though the barbeque on the veranda is also a great choice! The games room was a big hit, too.

Madeira is a beautiful island and CasaCades provides a great base from which to explore it. Calheta beach is a 10 minute drive away and has good bars and restaurants, Funchal is an easy drive away for a day trip, and other small towns/ villages and lots of good walks are easily accessible.

Thank you for a lovely holiday - fully recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and location
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ltomlin20
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Truly fantastic Villa in a beautiful location with views to die for! Super brilliant restaurant near by and the beaches in Calheta were wonderful and not far from the Villa. Hire car is a must though. Don't hesitate to book and you will not be disappointed - truly fab place to discover Madeira.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The2Alis1...
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, lovely area”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The patio was very private with lovely views. Plenty of sun loungers and plenty of room. All rooms were very large with lovely comfy beds. Fully equipped kitchen. The only noise at night was the wildlife. One of the neighbors has racing pigeons which were a lovely site in the evening. A car is really necessary as there are no restaurants within walking distance but there are lots within 10-15 minutes drive. There is also a supermarket within 10 minutes drive. Excellent internet

The pictures are a little out of date, the sofas on the patio have been replaced with a table and chairs, which was slightly disappointing.

We had a lovely week and would definitely recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the patio
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional pool table and the view from the terrace!
Liked least: Hard to find a least!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beverley...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Relaxing villa”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

we have not returned from our holiday yet still in the villa and that's how I would like it to stay but alas we have to return but will definitely be back I'm sure it is peaceful just the local cockrels for company which suits me fine earplugs do the job when they start at dawn I'm a light sleeper but didn't have a problem .villa is clean and has everything you need to make meals if you want to the sea views are lovely the main bed is the comfiest I have ever been in .There are some lovely places to visit ok madeira weather was lovely for our holiday .rosanne the manager who looks after the villa is a lovely lady she meets you locally and takes you to the villa it is good to know she is on hand should you need her .
would defiantly recommend a car

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing