We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
839
376
100
37
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
376
100
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthirsty turtlevintage pearlgarden cabanacrab racesmovie nightfire dancerslive musiccruise shiplaid backfun activitieswest endgreat divingfishthe wait stafffront porchtook great carelounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Terrific staff, good food and drinks, reasonable price, fantastic snorkeling from beach near rock wall. Huge disappointment was antiquated sewage system that created daily sewer smells and large fly problem. Other hotels and restaurants did not have similar problems on West Bay strip. Will not return to this hotel until owners cure the problem even though their location is wonderful. The cure must be identified on website before returning to this resort

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank larryhennessy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama_Manager, Social Media Manager at Bananarama Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day is a pleasure to greet you and at the same time we appreciate your valuable time in being able to give us your comment, we will emphasize to be able to improve in these aspects since the comments of people like you are how a business grows to offer a better and excellent service.

We hope for a near future, can give us the opportunity to offer the service it deserves, since our client is very important and above all very special for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time here. We prefer the bohemian feel of this place to the standard resorts along West Bay. The room was comfortable and the bar was fun. The food was good, too. The reception and much of the staff were super friendly and welcoming, though some staff at the Thirsty Turtle didn’t seem interested in doing their job. A few improvements would go a long way: Normal rather than micro-sized pillows on the beds. Better towels. Consistent customer service. But seriously, these are picky things. The place was perfect for a few nights and a really great value on an amazing beach! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

Bandaranaike is a great choice for families with young children. We had a blast and will return. Lindell and staff went above and beyond to assure our vacation was enjoyable as well as memorable. My daughters ages 5 and 6 loved visiting Marco the dive master to tell him about all the fish they saw while swimming and snorkeling. Bandaranaike is a great place to visit. Leave the hustle and bussel of the US behind and come enjoy some vacation time with your family.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank blakebecker37130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We arranged for a day pass while in port on a cruise. They met us as planned with transportation to resort. It was the best beach we saw the entire cruise. Great place to lounge, get drinks and eat. We walked down the beach a little to snorkeling where reef is closer to shore. Snorkeling was wonderful, water is clear and we saw many types of coral and fish.

Stayed: June 2018
3  Thank lakehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

If you are a diver and you want a small boat experience, this is your spot. The owner, Marcos is great. This year, Zoe was the Dive Master for all (6) of my dives. She is skills, fun, desires that we have the best experience and is safety first. We really had a great time on all (6) dives.

Regarding the lodging, this is a DIVE HOTEL and so you get what you ask for. Lindell and her team make all the efforts to insure you have a great stay. The rooms are decent and I have stayed in #8 and #7 the past two years. Queen size bed and cold A/C.

The food at the Thirsty Turtle is great. The happy hour specials and the portions are wonderful.

The only downside is that on the days the cruise ships land, the beach is crowded. To be expected and you flex with the season and influx of "cruisers"

Room Tip: If you are a diver, make sure you ask for the DIVING PACKAGES and you will get a discount on your room as a bundle.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tueffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews