We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - thoroughly enjoyed my stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I've stayed at two other resorts in West Bay before and decided to go cheap on my solo trip there - PBC also had the cheapest single supplement. I had a great time, the staff was great, the room was a nice size, the balcony was huge, the food was great, the drinks were plentiful. Any issues I had, were dealt with promptly. I found the staff were really willing to please. Internet was $50 for the week. Fri and Sat night dinners were buffets on the beach. The buffet was definitely no Mandarin restaurant - usually 3 or 4 breads/buns, salads, veggies, rice or potatoes, meat, fruit, desserts. Unless your picky, you wont starve. I didn't buy the dive package - I dove with Mayan Divers. Will post separately.

Room Tip: theres only 26 rooms - I'm sure there all good...lol
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vixxxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Paradise Hotels & Resorts and we look forward to your next visit to take advantage of all our packages. We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of our Single's Supplement and although you did not choose to Dive with us, we hope that in the future you will take advantage of our onsite Dive Center.

Its always a pleasure to read about repeat visitors to Roatan and I hope you continue coming back to our gorgeous island.

Paradise Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Thanks to all the trip advisor contributors, we made our choice, Paradise Beach Resort. Booked two weeks prior, March 19-26. Our Sunwing Reps Lucie and Patrick were the greatest.
The resort was just as everyone described. The friendly staff with all their happy faces made our vacation the best one ever! The outstanding snorkeling, hot temps, and cold drinks, helped too. We will return.

Room Tip: Emailed and requested king bed and upper level, both requirements received.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunnytales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear Guests,

We are very happy that you had such a great time at Paradise and we look forward to your return. It is always a pleasure to read that previous guests' reviews have been helpful.

The property was resently taken back from a management group and is now being operated by its owners and as we have seen from the reviews, everyone seems to be very pleased with the changes.

We look forward to your next visit.

Paradise Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I celebrated our birthdays at the Aqua Lounge Restaurant and it was the best meal in the West Bay area. We got a seafood sampler platter which consisted of grilled fish, lobster and shrimp, with rice and vegetables which was delicious! We were not impressed with customer service at other restaurants in West Bay, but this was amazing. Would definitely recommend for the ambiance and food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HappyOrangeDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Paradise Hotels & Resorts and we hope to have you back with us very soon. If you need an excuse, you can always celebrate your next birthday, your husband's, anniversary or just any reason to come down and enjoy a piece of Paradise.

Hope to see you soon,

Paradise Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were at the PBC for one week March 12 to 19 on a Sunwing AI package. First time in Roatan. We are in our 60’s and have stayed at 3 to 5 star resorts in the past. The resort is small (which we prefer) and lovely with a nice feeling of seclusion even though West Bay has resort beside resort. No annoying resort activities except for loud music at the beach bar on cruiseship days.

The grounds are really most attractive and very well kept. Staff were all uniformly pleasant striving to be very helpful from beginning to end. Almost everyone speaks English as well as Spanish. Rooms were clean and perfectly adequate and any problems (no water a couple of times) were taken care of swiftly. The new ownership is seen to be making improvements.

Buffet meals were really quite good and varied if simple, the fish fresh, with plentiful fruit and desserts that thankfully weren’t overly sweet but if you’re one to insist on 5 star gourmet fare go elsewhere. Honduran coffee is good, so is their beer served cold in bottles and the wine was from Chile (you do get refills if desired). They will make food to order as well if needed. Roger is a jovial chef. There were three very nice special dinner evenings –one at the main buffet, one on the grounds behind the behind beach bar, one right on the beach, with music and dancing.

The beach is beautiful, the water crystal clear, turquoise in colour and calm. Evenings are warm. Snorkeling is possible right off the beach to the far left of the resort. Long beach walks possible for those of us who like long beach walks. A few too many boats for my taste but it is a snorkeling/diving island so understandable. Water taxis can take you on a pleasant boat ride to West End for $3 one-way for a bit of a throwback to hippie days. The section in front of the PBC is actually free of boats so better than most of the resorts to either side. Sundays are more quiet as many beach vendors take the day off.

Cruiseship days (Tues, Wed and Thurs) are crowded on West Bay but again, the section at PBC is relatively free of those hordes who leave by 3 p.m. and no guests had problems getting lounge chairs. However, it might be a good idea to do something else on at least one of those days. We did an Island Tour with the Sunwing reps and spent a glorious quiet afternoon on beautiful French Key (Patrick and Lucie of Sunwing were great reps). The Caribe Sky ziplines are also fun and not scary at all for first-timers as it turned out. For jewellery hunters, be sure to visit Karla at her Karma Jewellery stand right on the beach heading to the right from the PBC. She designs beautiful, quality and unique pieces.

I picked this resort based mainly on all the positive reviews here on TripAdvisor. We were very happy and think it was the best choice for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Kanadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were at the PBC from February 13th to 20th and had an excellent week! We really lucked out with weather - it was around 30 every day with no rain and a great breeze.

HOTEL/ROOMS:
The hotel is beautiful and really clean. They are constantly cleaning the grounds and raking the beach and the housekeeping was excellent. The rooms were recently renovated and have everything you need other than an alarm clock and a hairdryer. We’d read about this ahead of time so just brought them along with us. The safe is big and there`s a fridge in the room. We had requested a king size bed and got 2 doubles - we mentioned it to reception and the next day we came back to a king bed in our room. All of the staff were really friendly and would do their best to make your stay enjoyable. The management are always around and constantly making improvements. It`s a small resort so you see the same staff and guests every day and we ended up meeting some really great people.

BEACH:
The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling was fantastic. There`s so much to see just off the shore. There are vendors on the beach and people offering massages but no one really pushed and they`d leave you alone if you didn`t want anything. I had a massage one day for $10 for 30 minutes and it was really good. They do the massage right on your beach lounger so it`s a little strange being surrounded by people but you quickly forget once you start relaxing. You can`t beat the price and the massage was surprisingly good. There is massage tables set up along the beach as well but it was just so easy to have someone come to me and not have to go anywhere.

FOOD:
The food was really tasty but the selection is limited and it wasn't usually hot. Overall we found the quality was better than what you get at a lot of resorts and we enjoyed the majority of the meals. They also set up tables on the beach one night and have a night with the tables set around the pool - both nights were great. At breakfast they make eggs to order and they had some nice sides and pastries available so as long as you`re not picky you won`t go hungry. We brought a few tubes of Pringles to snack on at the beach or between meals because the meal times are set and there`s nothing available in between.

BAR:
They are going through some growing pains as far as bar stock goes but I'm sure they'll get that sorted out. They only offer 1 glass of wine with dinner so if you’re a wine drinker the best bet is to buy a bottle and bring it with you to dinner. The week that we were there they ran out of vodka 5 out of the 7 days and ran out of ice a few times as well. I generally only drink wine and vodka so it definitely limited my options. They did have 4 different bottled beers available instead of the draft that they usually serve at resorts. We were there to dive and were up at 6:45 every morning so it wasn`t a huge deal but when I wanted to have a drink it would have been nice to have the basics available – I can understand not having premium alcohol included but wine and vodka seem to be pretty basic bar stock to me. Isaac makes up for it though and is one of the happiest bartenders I`ve ever met. He`s constantly singing and dancing and having a good time. The bars along the beach close at 10pm so if you`re looking for a party you`d be better off in West End. If you`re there to dive you`ll probably find you can`t make it to 10pm anyway so it`s not such a big deal.

BUGS:
Sand fleas and mosquitos were almost non-existent - we doused with Deep Woods Off every night and only got a couple of bites between us. Some others had bites but nothing like what we`d read about. The strong breeze probably had a lot to do with that. We were taking Malaria tablets but we may not have needed them for that week - better safe than sorry though.

DIVING:
Diving was excellent! We did 10 dives and the coral is in the best shape we've seen anywhere. We had some issues with bad rental equipment at TGI, Henry Morgan`s- it's the 1st time we've ever had bad rental equipment anywhere but we had 4 different pieces of bad gear so they aren't maintaining it properly. When we mentioned it to the owner/manager he really didn't care and wasn't at all concerned. Unfortunately we had pre-booked the dive package through SunWing so we didn`t have the option of going elsewhere unless we bought another dive package. It's the 1st time we'd ever pre-booked and kicked ourselves because there were so many other dive shops around that we could have gone to if we could have afforded to throw away 20 dives and pay again. We got our gear sorted out on the 2nd day and just made sure that we used the same gear for the rest of the week. We have most of our own equipment and just rent BCD`s and Regulators – it`s convinced us to buy our own this year so we don`t encounter problems like that again. The dive masters were really good and we loved the sites they took us to and really enjoyed all of the dives. We saw morays, groupers, crabs, lobsters, turtles and so many different varieties of fish – it was incredible! The boats are a bit overloaded at times but the dive groups themselves were usually not more than 8 people.

WEST END:
We took a water taxi into West End a couple of times and walked back along the beach one day. There's a road side stand called Chapi Catrachas that makes amazing baleadas for $1.50 each – you can get them with chicken, beef, egg and other fillings and they are delicious! We kept going back for more… The town is great because it's not all built up and has so much character. A couple of drinks at Sundowner's and Baleadas at Chapi's made for a good afternoon after diving.

All in all we had an excellent vacation and will go back. The growing pains they are going through are so minor and we'd go back even if it was exactly the same again. The island, people and diving were all worth it. We`re already planning to head back to Roatan in December. If you have any questions feel free to message me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank BarneysBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I just spent 10 amazing days at Paradise Beach, I swear it was the most romantic of my life. Every evening my girlfriend and I would go down to the beach bar to have a cocktail at 6pm to watch the sun set or sit at the new rooftop bar over looking the bay, sandfly free :D, it was truly magical.
We stayed at the new Ocean Drive hotel. The rooms were completely sound proof and blinds blocked out the early morning sun, a trie plus!! They were fully equipped with air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, King bed, mini bar, great shower, and WiFi!

The food was spectacular, the Pomodoro pizzeria was delicious!! The sea food at the beach bar was spectacular with an amazing grill and fantastic sebiche.
All in all this was really the best vacation of my life, Thanks to al the staff at Paradise, they made the trip.

Room Tip: Bring sun screen and a lot of alo vera!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gl0balTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was my third trip to Roatan having previously stayed at the Henry Morgan we decided to change things up a bit and stay at Paradise Beach Club and I must say that this turned out to be a great idea. Myself and my girlfriend went down with another couple and were given top floor rooms side by side our balconies connected which was awesome because it ended up being one massive balcony which overlooked the lush and well manicured landscape of the hotel, we pretty much had the entire top floor to ourselves. We requested to have a table and chairs brought to the balcony and this was done in a flash. Food was very good although on most days we ate at BananaRama which was ideally located right beside the Hotel (great place to eat having excellent food and top notch prices also live entertainment). The Beach bar was located directly on the beach which made for easy treks to get drinks, very well staffed, never had to wait more than a minute to reload on booze. On a side note I would like to mention that the beer at this resort actually tastes like beer and and comes in bottles which is unlike most resorts on other islands where they pour it from a keg and is watered down which in turn makes it nearly impossible to catch a buzz. West Bay Beach is immaculate, much nicer than any other I have been to. White sand and clear blue waters, visibility is endless making snorkeling right off the beach very rewarding. For more underwater scenery try heading down to the rock wall which is a short 5 minute walk west, there you'll find an abundance of marine life and a very healthy coral reef system which seems to strech on forever (look for a resident named Auzzie, he rents snorkel equipment at the lowest prices on the beach and will even take you out on a tour and use an HD snorkel mask to capture videos of your underwater adventures, we did this several times and were very pleased with the results).
The rooms at Paradise beach club were very nice having recently been updated. The beds were massive and very comfortable the bathroom was great, showers were excellent (best water pressure i've had the privilege of enjoying at any hotel). Housekeeping service was outstanding also

We will definitely be returning to this hotel on our next visit. Thanks to all the staff at Paradise Beach Club for making our stay the best it could possibly be.

Room Tip: If you are going with another couple ask for rooms to be next to each other this will create an extr...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Josephcn285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 km away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
536 reviews
0.3 km away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
0.1 km away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 km away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Hotel

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#4 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $134 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tropical gardens, the newly renovated Paradise Beach Hotel with direct access to the renowned West Bay Beach and only steps away from turquoise waters and world famous coral reef is a great family destination. With four restaurants, two swimming pools, fully equipped dive center and Gym, Paradise Beach Hotel has something for everyone. Roatan as a destination is renowned for its Dolphin attractions, world Class Golf Course, numerous outdoor activities and its close proximity to the USA with direct flight from Atlanta, Dallas, Houston, Miami and El Salvador. Come and join us for one of the most beautiful sunsets in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Club Hotel West Bay
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Hotel Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing