We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Henry Morgan Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
West Bay Lodge and Spa(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foster's West Bay(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Seremein(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribe Tesoro(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Hotel(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$630
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$716
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,605 results
Traveller rating
355
653
332
151
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
653
332
151
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentertainment stafflobby bartgi divingfishair transat repsand fleaswest endmedia lunanightly showsdance lessonsdive shopstar resorttowel arteach meala la carte restaurantdeep woodsfire show
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 1,605 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Pros: beautiful beach, nice grounds, good diving
Cons: horrible organization, bad food, poor service, false advertizing

It's a shame that this nice facility is so poorly managed. It started at a check-in. 12 of us were picked up at the airport and arrived together. Would you exect a check in for 12 people to take close to two hours? Neither had I. Two, at times three, receptionists were moving slower than flies in a jar of honey, stoping to ponder some deep thoughts, taking phone calls while talking to you, giving contradictory information.
The worst of it was the organization of the restaurant. I had eaten at many buffet style places, but had never been forced into one long line, at every single meal, instead of having several stations to spread the crowd.
Internet was another disapointment. I pre-paid for the week of wi-fi because the website said it was available in the room. Meanwhile I was lucky to have it available in the lobby. Sometimes. If you need internet, be sure to get a room that is close to the lobby.
Staff was uneven. Some always ready to help with a big smile (George in the cafeteria was fantastic!), others would ignore you and/or your requests. Cleaning ladies usually did a very nice job, making pretty animals out of a towel and flowers.

Maintenance leaves a lot to be desired. All lights were burned out on the walking deck up to my room. I asked in the lobby twice, but they didn't get fixed till I escalated to the trip leader.

Food was pretty bad: fish and meat served too dry every single night, pizza worse than from a pizza hut. It's supposed to be all inclusive, but they ran out of the standard rum, tequilla and decent beer, so the free chioces were very limited. They were happy to charge you for the top shelf booze, which somehow they didn't ran out off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near lobby. Otherwise you will be walking for miles and will have no internet in the room. It's all inclusive, but the food is pretty bad - you will want to venture out. There are a few nice restaurants along the beach and not very expensive. Coffee at breakfast is so so, but the bar in the lobby serves excellent expresso drinks.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We went to this resort as part of a diving package....it turned out to be only fair at best. The room was fine, relatively clean with loud, but decent a/c. The grounds are well maintained and the adjacent beach is beautiful.
Service was okay, nothing remarkable, even by Carribean standards.
The real let down was the food....really poor by any measure. We ended up eating out as the week went on to avoid the comical combinations of ingredients found at the buffet.
A major mishap occurred early in the trip when we took the house double kayak out for a look at the reef. We didn't know that the boat had a major gash in the bottom. While looking at the reef, the water in the hull shifted, causing us to capsize. My girlfriend surfaced with a large gash in her forearm, requiring five sutures at a local clinic. That ended the diving for the rest of the week.
The kayak was so full of water that I couldn't even drag it onto the beach. When I ran to the front desk for help, I was given a gauze pad and a bottle of alcohol. No medical kit was available. The clinic was a 30 minute cab ride, good thing it wasn't more serious.
On a side note, the medical care was very good in town, at least for this level of injury.
No one inquired as to my girlfriend's condition....no compensation was offered.
I can't recommend this resort, nor would we bother going to Roatan again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amfalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Me and my wife stayed at the Henry Morgan 11-19 through 11-26 for a relaxing vacation and that’s exactly what we got. The staff works their butts off and is the friendliest people we encountered on any vacation we have been on. the restaurants are good the food is good and the prices are very reasonable. We didn’t do any excursions because we just wanted to lay on the beach all week and what a beautiful beach it is, they even rake the beach every day. this place is excellent and i would go back in a minute, we wanted to move here. i highly recommend this Resort if like the caribbean style.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My wife and I just returned home Nov.28 for our second time staying here since Feb.2011 and we had a great time here and will come back again.Yes it is more for divers, snorkelers,ect.But there is lots of other things to do in Roatan we took a island tour along with two other couples by taxi for 5hours for 100 hundred dollars and had a great time well worth the money.
Yes there is bugs there sand fleas That bite they seem to bother some people my wife but not me so we do take some repellant with us but I have to say that we travel a lot and we always bring bug spray with us because we are going to exotic island where these bug live you would be foolish not to take some form of repellant with you.They do spray smoke(vegetable oil) twice a day which does help it is the Rainey season so the bug are a little worse then they normally would be but we made the best of it.
As far as the food we always found something to eat we never ran out of anything there was plenty of everything to eat I did not see to many if any go hungry there We have been to many 5 star places and found the buffets not the hottest of food and sometimes well picked over if you arrive close to closing time.All we had to do was ask and they tried very hard to make what we wanted especially George and Andolph our waiter was always there to clear the table or to get us a coffee or cold drink.My advice to those who want to make sure that you want get a good meal every time is get there when they first open don't show up close to closing and expect to see a full buffet it just not going to happen know matter what resort you go to.over all the food was vey good, service was as good as any place we have stayed at they really try to do best that they can with what they have.
Beach grill nothing special fries, corn chips ,beans,salsa not the best it would be nice to get a little more there like burgers,chicken,hot dogs ect.This is something that we think could use a big upgrade it would be a lot better then going up to the Buffett every day I think people would use this a lot more if they put a better selection of food here.
The rooms were always very clean and comfortable lots of flowers on the bed towel animals.They do have wooden floors so when we were in our second floor room we went out of our way to make sure to walk softly or keep the tv on low so we did not bother anyone in the adjoining rooms the wall are thin so have a little respect for your neighbor .
Power does go out everyday could be to save money I don't know for sure but it is not a bad idea if they would change the 4pm time to let's say 2or3pm because people are starting to find there way back up to there rooms by 4pm.IDo know that they shut down the generators twice a day for refueling and they can not be running when doing this for safety reasons some resorts we have been to have two generators and so they switch them over to avoid this outage.We tried to work around there outage schedule and made the best of it .
Sunwing reps Lucy and Patrick did work very hard to make everyone happy but this is not a easy task.They did the best they could.When we left the airport was closed for a few hours(weather related) and they(sunwing) gave out food vouchers and were prepared to us all back to the resort for another night if needed for know additional money's but the weather cleared up and we got home safely.
So we feel we got what we paid for and would go back to the Henry Morgan Resort in the future.

Room Tip: Read trip adviser and send in room request to the resort via.email they will respond to you.Rooms on the top floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocket444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We recently returned home from a couple weeks stay at Henry Morgan in Roatan, Honduras.
From the start of this vacation we knew there would be issues however not like we experienced. The only positive thing about this resort was the room service the rooms always clean and everyday there would be fresh flowers arranged around our room. The resort is older and the rooms built around wooden boardwalks and it gets noisy with people walking by especially at night. Also if your not on the top floor look out it is very noisy as the rooms are wood floors as well. Take a flashlight with you they turn the power off twice a day around 4pm and 3am for an hour each time.
Now the problems they ran out some booze and mixes for a couple days and then eggs as well. The buffet (slop bar) was so disgusting they didn't replenish food items it was table scraps if you arrived latter. They started to ration us on our drinks when they did start to run out now this was suppose to be an all inclusive resort.
This Island is beautiful and the people are very fun and glad to see the tourist. We tried to take tours with Sunwing's however they required 10 or more people before a tour will take place. Well we couldn't get any tours with Sunwing as 90% of the people that arrived at this resort go for the diving and not tours. Rent a vechile it is very cheap $40.00 a day including tax and insurance it is a great way to see this beatiuful Island but beware of the potholes everywhere.
Also twice a day they spray this nasty stuff for the bugs etc and it isn't pleasent to be around when they are spraying.
There you go choose a different resort not Henry Morgan...

Room Tip: Take lots of bug spray Tae a flash light
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 155019None123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews