We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay the extra and stay at the Mayan Princess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Henry Morgan Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Reviewed 29 April 2010

The hotel is suffering from age and management is in money saving mode. Although all-inclusive the offering of beach grill was closed during the entire stay as the staff stated that there was not enough guests (Hotel looked pretty full to me) Most staff live on-site and it was observed on a number of occasion that they will cut to the front of the food line so they can eat before guests (yes there are tipically line ups for meals).
Beware divers, even though you may book a boat dive, if there are not enough divers the center will revert to taking out boat tours and tell you at the last minute that you only option is a shore dive. Internet is $10 US per hour yet at the Mayan Princess it is free.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ripwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2010

This all inclusive hotel is well located at West Bay, beautiful beach.has a lot of italian guest. Room was ok, but buffets /food wan not great.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank thmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

i have been in Roatan twice, I've been diving with TGI Diving , I found a great staff, great boats and an excellent service. Price are very good and all taxes are included!
The Henry Morgan Hotel is in a perfect location, the beach is amusing !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvialove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

The complaints people have on here about this resort they must be crabby people to begin with.
We did the Roatan roulette and got the Henry Morgan we paid 2400.00 tax everything included for 2 adults and 2 children 8 and 10 (last min deal).
Airport
Starting right from the airport we were greeted by staff from HM they took are bags and we were off on the bus very quickly short drive to the hotel(nice bus and air conditioned).Once there check in was quick and once at are room are bags were delivered with in 15 min right to the door.

Room

We stayed in room 242 on the second floor very nice two big beds comfortable mattresses and pillows.The room had nice wood floors and ceilings very clean.The bathroom is a regular standard bathroom shower,sink,toilette and had a hair dryer,ceramic floor and counter top.It was not newly renovated but everything worked and it was clean(no complaints here)We had a gallery look out to the mountains with to hammocks(which we enjoyed).There is also a rack on the gallery you can hang you wet stuff out on.There was a TV with remote and a fridge below that also.Lots of cupboard space and draws for your stuff and of course air conditioning.The towels were white and clean every day.The rooms are in a quiet area surrounded by gorges trees and flowers every where.

Staff

Are maid was wonderful we could not ask for anything better she went beyond her duties ,being friendly and leaving a tip everyday goes a long way sometimes (some people should try it).The staff at the reception was very friendly and nice.You can get change there anytime.


restaurant
Jose was are waiter or George at the resort the were always so friendly and big smile and bend over back wards for you.These people are there working and are just as good as you treat them the way you want to be treated.I know where I am from that you tip when you go out for dinner I do and they greatly appreciate it.Also had a drink and always dishes picked up quickly. The food is what it is you aren't at home you are in a different country and you won't starve.

Pool
It's big clean warm and has a really nice deck and chairs around it.If you sit on the left side as you walk to the pool area in the afternoon if you watch towards the mountain you can here and see the big macaw parrots flying around they come over the pool also.Amazing site.


Beach

Gorges gorges gorges it's white sand it gets so hot that the sand burns your feet in the afternoon.Water is clear and the fish and reef are amazing.The best snorkeling is to your left down by the wall and you can see different crabs on the big rocks and iguanas in the water amazing what you see not far off shore hundreds of different fish,sea snake,jelly fish minute ones the size of dimes,sea turtles a big one and small and a 6 foot manta ray..The things they sell on the beach Carlos and Kevin are locals who sell stuff and are very friendly and nice you want something ask Carlos he will get it.The beach bar the lady who works there makes the best strawberry daiquiris then anyone.The beach is clean they work hard to keep it like that and those who say they bury garbage they dig holes and buried the seaweed.When ever we sat by the beach one of the guys always brings the pads for the chairs
.
Beach towels
Always had when we asked...

Bugs/mosquitoes

None I think I saw 2 mosquitoes the hole time and no sand fleas and we were on the beach all the time.



The 4 of us loved Roatan it is hot and never cools down even in the evening you do not need a long sleeve shirt or pants.I think the travel clinics exaggerated about malaria we did take anti malaria pills but won't again as there was no mosquitoes maybe in rainy season.we did the glass boat tour and the park we loved both.People are friendly and very nice.All the complainers must be stuck up and snobs should try and treat people how you want to be treated and a tip dollar here and there goes along way....Defiantly going back!Can't wait till next year

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindie-mai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We stayed at the Henry Morgan Resort for two weeks. The resort was great, all amenities are short walk distances. The room was rustics but comfortable. Yes the Bathroom could use some upgrade. The maid service was awesome the room was all the time really clean. Food was good, we never went hungry. Also the teenager never complaint about food or not able to find something to eat. The staff was awesome from the front staff to the kitchen and server staff.... The resort accept all credit card and if you require cash you can go to the Maya Princess they have an ABM machine to withdraw American money. Advice to bring bug spray for the sand flee. We participated in two tours the first one was sailboat trip for the day and proceed with Dolphin encounter and snorkelling with the Dauphin. Second trip was the famous Zip line and both trip was awesome. Scuba Diving was great the staff at TGI were great. Snorkelling was also great, the best place was in front on the Infinity Bay resort a few minutes walk on the beach from the Henry Morgan. Also request room to the second floor.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We did the Roatan Roulette, and we won with the Henry Morgan Resort. It is a great Resort .
It was apparently the busiest week of the year, on Roatan. The Santa Semena holiday down there, and we were in the perfect place, as most the crowds gathered at each end of the beach, where as our beach was just a walk way to each end. They told us it would be busy and it sure was…. So many people on the beach!! There were security guys making sure that no one would sit at our beach, but that was about all they were useful for. When we told them about a group of boys, picking up things of the chairs, they just shrugged if off. It was my husband that had to go tell them to put the stuff back.
The hotel itself was great. The rooms were Rustic as everyone has commented about , but Rustic for me was just great!! We loved the room. Any problems were fixed right away.
Most people have commented on the food. We were told that the Mayan had much better food, but we found that our resort was far better. The service at the other hotel was very poor. There is enough there that even the fussiest person can get by. The lunch time meals at the beach were a bit frustrating, as there were never more then 2 hamburgers out at the same t time, so there was always a wait for that. We did try the buffet a couple of times and it wasn’t too bad for lunch.
Most people speak English, except for a few of the entertainment team, and a lot of the shops not far from the hotel, are owned by Americans.
The only draw back to this hotel was that it was so far to get to the beach from the room. It was a good 5 minute walk, where you had to walk to the lobby and walk through to the other side, where the pool was and then past the pool to get to the beach. Made you hope you didn’t forget anything you were taking to the beach. Other then, that I have no complaints. It was a great holiday!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Beachglassgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

My partner and I were looking forward to our side trip to Roatan from touring mainland Honduras, for him to try the acclaimed diving and for us to have a respite from our tour. We bit the bullet and paid the exorbitant all-in price per person, for 2 nights at the Henry Morgan (originally 3 nights, but one night canceled, as due to rain the ferry could not leave La Ceiba - as it turns out, a blessing in disguise!). When we arrived at the Henry Morgan,the reception staff were not friendly, no smile, no eye contact. Somebody did come and bring us a juice. They signed us in and pointed in the direction we should go to find our cabin. We were given a TV remote control and told we could call reception from the room in case we needed anything. We were not given any information about where meals were served, where the beach was, when meals times were - nothing. A plastic bracelet was put on our wrist to be worn at all times for the restaurant to know that you are guest for the meals. When we arrived at the room, we were shocked. There was a wet towel on the bed. We are all for the island feel, but this room was grubby. The TV was already on in the room and the remote did not work. We could not turn the TV off. The old white dresser looked like it had been kicked with black shoe scoff marks. The walls were dirty. There was no view except to a small balcony with a sorry hammock. The towels looked like they had had a million and one washes; they looked gray and worn out. The shower was full of mold marks. Shocking. There was no phone in the room. So we walked back to reception and asked to speak with a manager who then took us herself to see another room - equally as bad, if not worse. In this room, she herself noted a card with the phone number to call reception, but there was no phone in the room. The small shower stall was more moldy than the first. It was clear that she understood that this was unacceptable. Our point was: we paid and want what we paid for. In order to remedy the situation, we were "upgraded" to another partner hotel/condo Las Sirenas (an HM condo), nearby on the same WestBay beach strip. While we waited to be transported there, we had lunch in the closed school style cafeteria at Henry Morgan. Once at Las Sirenas, we noted that the food was exactly the same. These are self service buffets that have mostly Italian and island food. The leftovers are recycled into salads. We were there 2 nights and on the second night I had extreme food poisoning, with fever and chills. Although you are paying 'all in' there is a nice man on the beach that brings the mats for the beach chairs, and clearly expects a tip each time. We don't mind tipping, but you are there to relax and pay prime prices to do so. Overall, to us the HM charges 5 star prices for 2 star quality. Las Sirenas was better: cleaner, more modern and higher standard room, friendly staff. But there were still issues with the food. Bad wine. Plastic cups for everything, plastic bracelets. With the prices we paid, they should not even have to cut corners, but rather want to give good quality and service. Our romantic getaway, turned into a real nightmare. We may go back to Roatan someday, but not soon and definitely not to the Henry Morgan hotels/resorts. In a way, we felt robbed, were stressed by the whole situation, and got sick to top it off. We were happy to get back home and look forward to our holidays in Thailand!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sevenstars4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.8 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 km away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
549 reviews
3.4 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
720 reviews
23.8 km away
Media Luna Resort & Spa
Media Luna Resort & Spa
#19 of 42 in Roatan
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Morgan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Morgan Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $308 - $1,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry Morgan Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry Morgan is an All Inclusive Resort located in the best beach of Roatan, West Bay. Our mission is to anticipate and deliver on the dreams and expectations of every guest's perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Henry Morgan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Morgan Hotel West Bay
Hotel Henry Morgan
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Beach Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing