We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This vacation rental establishes my definition of...”

Review of Sunset House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chuckm84
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
“This vacation rental establishes my definition of paradise.”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The property was in excellent condition and included everything to make a wonderful week. Water sports equipment, tiki bar, enormous gas grill, and convent dock. Maintenance and security provided by two great guys. These guys were there to answer questions about where to find groceries, swim suits, good cafes, etc. The location of the Sunset house is on a great beach about half way between West End and West Bay. West Bay was an easy walk on the beach away. Both West End and West Bay were a $3 dollar water taxi ride away. The water taxi service was right to the Sunset House dock.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the beach.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
“The house was clean and beautiful, right on the beach”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Most importantly, the kitchen in the main house was immaculate. All utensils were clean and in good condition. All appliances appeared to be new or recently upgraded. Having the bottles filtered water was a huge benefit due to the large group of people we had (13), there were plenty of towels and a washer/dryer in the house. The house is a solidly built house with beautifully carved wooden doors. very secure in every entry. Heating and AC kept us all at a comfortable climate. The owners are very thoughtful by providing water basins at the door to reduce the amount of sand tracked into the house. There are hammocks on every porch area, including at the outside bar/grill area and on the diving dock. The kayaks were in great condition as were the paddle boards. Expect to bring or rent your own snorkeling equipment. It was nice to have an onsite caretakers to rake the beach and straighten up all the equipment for us at the end of each day. We woke up to find everything in order, just as we found it the first day. (Thanks to Johnny for cutting us fresh coconuts too). If you have a large group (especially with teens) expect to refresh the WiFi (house comes with 2.5GB). It's best to hide the password from your kids if you can. The location was convenient, half way between West End and West Bay with water taxis available during daylight hours to take you to either location quickly. Although you can walk to West End, I would not recommend making that trip after the sun goes down, the threat of sea urchins is a problem walking in the water, which leaves a little rock climbing as the alternative. If I return for any length of time, I will consider renting a car, our largest expense was from wanting to go somewhere other than West Bay and West End and the road down to the house from the main road is not easily negotiated, especially at night. At no fault of the rental, the sandflies were pretty bad, do your homework so you can prevent bites as soon as you arrive. The guest house was also in good condition, not as fancy as the main house but was still a very comfortable stay for the five 20 year olds using that space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, beach and diving pier
Liked least: Limited WiFi access. You had to make a trip to West End to refill it and they are closed on Sunday
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyHill...
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better every time we stay here.”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Yes. We are return guests. And we will keep going back. Our third time staying at Sunset House was better than ever. The owner keeps making improvements--like adding a Tiki Bar, remodeling the kitchen with granite counter tops, refreshing all the towels and bed linens...
Two new features that we loved, were the addition of a 18' Hobie Cat--available for rent-- and the shuffle board game located in the weather-protected picnic area. We also made use of the kayak and all the water toys.
This fantastic beach house has all the (updated) creature comforts of a 5 star hotel, yet the atmosphere is more like a comfy cottage where it's okay to put your feet on the coffee table, curl up with a book on the comfortable sofas and relax into mesh hammocks.
Its a true vacation from worry, care and work.
The housekeeping staff keeps the place immaculate and fresh.
As for the beach. Walk one way and you come to the Town of West End. Walk the other way and you come to great restaurants and a perfect snorkeling beach.
One can also swim out about 20 minutes from the House onto the reef and snorkel as long as desired. We did this early in the morning before the water taxis started their day.
Later we use the water taxis to go to lunch, dinner, shopping or other places of interest.
We love to travel to new places --Europe, Canada, Africa, USA--but this is one destination we love coming back to. It has adventures in diving, relaxation, great food, a fantastic bar with more bar equipment than most restaurant. Yes...we will be back..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness, freshness
Liked least: bugs--although this house has a natural fumigation system that keeps bugs at bay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine J
Arnolds Park, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Sunset House was the very best vacation house ever. Start your day with coffee on the dock and end the day with drinks watching the sunset - perfect. There was so much to do that the TV and the ipads never were used. Our granddaughters age 9 and 10 spend hours snorkeling up and down the beach and then swinging in the hammock or building sand castles. Blackie's dinner of coconut shrimp and chicken was delicious and of course key lime pie....Yum. We used the dive shop just a few yards up the beach towards West End and they did a great job with a refresher course for us. The girls loved the Dolphin Action Swim at Anthony's Key and did rate that #1 - the zip line came in second. Yoni the resident caretaker is a hugh asset if you have any questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great week at Sunset house”
Reviewed March 12, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location was great. We were right between West Bay and West End. Easy to walk or take the $3 water taxi. We rented the whole house. Everything was as described as by previous reviews. There is snorkeling about 1/4 mile out from the pier. The outside bar was equipped nicely, with an immaculate stainless steel grill. The only downside was a really musty smell in the lower 2 bedrooms. I brought this up to the management company and they said they would take care of it. The upstairs did not have this problem.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review of Sunset House, we’re glad you enjoyed yourselves!
Per your comments we had our staff open up both bedrooms to air them out, and we had the AC filters serviced as well. The mustiness was probably due to the house being used a lot and the lower bedrooms not getting opened up. Both bedrooms are in great shape now.
We hope to have you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing