We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
258
183
64
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
183
64
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa sonia lovely hotel mount etna the bus pool area amazing views pizza sun loungers the air conditioning large terrace antique furniture hire car evening meal would highly recommend this hotel breakfast was excellent on duty shuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 534 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2016

We had a lovely and very restful stay at Hotel Villa Sonia. The hotel has a very peaceful atmosphere where you can really relax. Our room or rather suite was huge and our view of Mt Etna quite stunning. The staff were extremely helpful and offered useful advice abut visiting other places and historical sites in Sicily. They were also very helpful when I realised on our way to the airport that I had left my phone in our room and then helped me to have it sent back to the UK. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to return.

Room tip: A high floor facing Mt Etna are best.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andycourthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

We moved from Taormina to Castelmola in order to relax before our long trip home & This hotel was perfect for this.

The pool was big and very clean.
The rooms were spacious and offer perfect views of Mount Etna.

The hotel is decorated with antique type furniture on all levels which was interesting to look at.

Breakfast was lovely.
The restaurant serves extremely good food however very slow. We waited over 1 hour for a simple sandwich and fruit salad!

The staff could not have been any more helpful - they were all brilliant.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

We have just returned from a week staying in Villa Sonia. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and create a very relaxing atmosphere. The location is fantastic. The hotel has stunning views and it is vital that you choose a room with a view of Etna, but after a short but quite steep climb up to the village of Castelmola, the views are even more sensational. The village is quite busy in the day, but very quiet in the evening, although there are a variety of restaurants to choose from.
It is very easy to travel down to Taormina, either using the hotel shuttle service, which is excellent, or by the public bus. The buses run very much to time. It is nice to go down in the morning, to enjoy the hustle and bustle and return to the beautiful pool and relax in the afternoon.
We would highly recommend this hotel and location, particularly for a quiet relaxing time and will certainly try to return before too long.

Room tip: Ask for Etna view
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marionfox31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2016

We recently visited Sicily two weeks ago. The staff at Villa Sonia are extremely helpful especially Cinzia who organised our hotel transfer. Villa Sonia is located in Castelmola - a 10 minute drive up from Taormina and there is a free shuttle bus that you can pre book a place on from the hotel. Otherwise there is the Interbus that is 3 euros return. I would recommend upgrading to a superior room with a view of mount etna. There are restaurants in Castelmola which is a 5 minute uphill walk from the hotel where the prices are cheaper than the hotel restaurant with great views.

Overall, hotel villa sonia is a great base to visit Castelmola and Taormina without the busy streets and high price of staying in central Taormina. Breakfast is a buffet but quite basic. This hotel is ideal for a short break.

Room tip: Choose the superior room with a view of Mount Etna
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SKK142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

Stunning views og fantastic atmosphere. Very helpfull reception, great pool area and Nice breakfast. Room was plain and small. Located 10 minutes by car from Taormina. It is Not possible to Walk to Taormina from the hotel, due to it is far up in the mountains and the road is very hazardous to walk.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sandiefn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews