We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nishi Restaurant

Nishi Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$60
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since February 2014 Nishi is under the ownership of Paul Edwards, one of the founders of Nishi and Steve Prebble a UK entrepreneur who lives in Barbados. Nishi incorporates a funky outdoor dining area and bar where you can dine under the stars, air-conditioned dining watching our famous sushi chefs and a private dining area. We are family friendly offering everything from great sushi to homemade British pies and an early evening takeaway service.
Barbados
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Been there a few of times and each time was just a good as the time before!! Expectations met with both the food and the service!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    948
    273
    61
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice food bur overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We ate here while staying at an AI resort locally , the place has a nice feel, the sevice is good, the menu is quite small, and I think quite over priced, I had steak and chips with a bit of salad on the side £30, my wife had jerk pork and mash £26, , ..the food isnt that great , you would get better in a well known UK hight street brand .

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“New Owners worth a second chance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Nishi has all the elements to have been a great success but unfortunately they haven't been able to get the service right. It was not unusual to have a reservation but still need to wait an hour for your table. Or, if you got seated, wait an hour on the food. We went recently as the management has changed. Service was much better, but food quality was down. It would be great if they could nail both the food & the experience. Nishi has great potential.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank IslanderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This year Nishi has changed for the worse I'm afraid.
Poor service and very Grumpy staff.
My wife loves their Sushi but otherwise the food is just ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phil946443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Who would have thought that there is great sushi in Barbados!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Although my wife and I are not sushi connaisseurs, we do eat a lot of sushi and seafood. We were somewhat skeptical when we decided to try this restaurant but the ratings were good so we decided to check it out. Boy were we impressed! The service right from the start was good (although you do have to ask for your bill when you are ready to go or they may leave you for a long time). The upstairs portion of Nishi has an open feeling that is very nice. They have an excellent specialty beverage list although on our second visit they were missing a few ingredients for their specialty drinks, which limited the options. The food is wonderful. The sushi rolls we had were huge and beautifully done. Altough there were only 8 pieces per roll, it was more than enough for a main entree. They also have a new, house made Baileys cheesecake that was amazing! We ended up going twice and if we had been longer, I'm sure there would have been another visit... Oh well, I guess we'll just have to go back to Barbados.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparky_buckwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nishi Restaurant also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Nishi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing