We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I could stay here forever!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holetown, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BHMarsh
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I could stay here forever!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Wow! What a find!
This is an idyllic setting, sandwiched between Royal Westmoreland and Sugar Hill above Holetown, the location on the west coast is perfect - if you have a car. Carol can even sort that for you at great rates too.
Carol, Dick and Lottie are a great team who will make sure you have a relaxing, comfortable time. The villa is equipped to a basic but adequate standard and is a joy to stay in. The pool is a real bonus - a properly deep and sizeable enough for real swimming.
This is a place that I don't really want to help publicise - I want to keep it a secret so that I can go whenever!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen M
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed March 21, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

As someone who travels a lot both for work and pleasure, I am very particular about the places I choose to stay at; Hummingbird exemplifies the hidden gems I take hours of searching to find.

Carol, along with her partner Dick and daughter Lottie are the most gracious hosts, and their cottage was simply perfect. Situated overlooking a stunning vista with horses grazing and a lovely golf course in the distance, Hummingbird was a perfect retreat for our family. The rooms are all a good size and the wrap around porch with loungers, a hammock and a lovely big dining table was just heaven to relax on both day and night. There is a wonderful breeze that comes into the cottage keeping it cool on a sunny day. We needed for nothing as the kitchen was very well stocked. The pool is spotlessly maintained and we had it to ourselves most of the time. Even at night it was a pleasure to swim in with the adjacent trees all lit up with tiny fairy lights! And no worries that it isn't heated! It was the perfect temperature, not cold remotely.

We had an issue with the rental car we hired from Lottie which was our fault and she and her family could not have been more understanding and kind about it. Little details like fresh beach towels showing up outside our door the day before we took our catamaran trip, or boogie boards the day before we went to the "big waves". It is attention to details such as these that separates this little gem from the big hotels.

Really, nothing was too much for them and I simply cannot recommend this place enough. A short 25 minute walk to town and right across from a lovely spot to eat dinner if you don't feel like cooking.

Thank you for a wonderful time and I hope we will be back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumof2_33
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Although we originally booked Hummingbird, our booking was changed to Westerlee a few months beforehand. Carol, Dick, Lottie and Katie were all incredibly welcoming and friendly. The accommodation was perfect for our family needs (2 parents, 2 teens) and we all made good use of the fantastic sized pool. The view each morning with my coffee was picture perfect and the location of the property suited us perfectly. Holetown is just down the road and has a wide range of places to eat and shops to potter around. Easy access to the beautiful beaches and the car package made life very easy for us.
We loved our stay and would recommend to anyone who wants the freedom of self-catering and exploring this beautiful island, the privacy of their own villa but without extortionate costs.
Thank you for the memories

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraDavi...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil getaway at Hummingbird”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Carol, Dick, Lottie and Neville were very attentive throughout our stay. Had plenty of recommendations. Quickly sorted any issues we had. We were the only guests on site. If you love nature, as we do, you'll love Hummingbird. We saw Lizards, Horses, Monkeys, Frogs, and Hummingbirds of course. Enjoyed the large pool heated by the sun, diving board and slide. 20 min walk to beach. Beautiful views of golf course and sea. Great book collection and outdoor seating. We made use of the binoculars and spotted baby monkeys on the other side of the paddock. Well equipped kitchen. Was great to be provided with plenty of towels! Will recommend Hummingbird to others, if we are so lucky to return to Barbados we would love to stay again. Thanks!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathynorr...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed February 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Wonderful location in beautiful tropical grounds. Lovely pool shared with just 3 other properties. The best view in Barbados from the terrace. Carol, Dick and Lottie - the best landlords ever. Our 12th visit and going back again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melchloec...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have just returned from the most relaxing 10 days here with my two teenagers. The house is very clean, spacious, well equipped and in beautiful gardens. The views are breathtaking and it is so peaceful. Although we spent most of our time at the beach the pool is great with a diving board and slide. Carol, Lottie and family made us feel very at home - there for us if we needed but not at all intrusive. We opted for the car package which I would recommend as it made the whole hiring process very straight forward. It was our first time on the Island so I was a little worried that we had made the right decision to be based away from the beach but it was perfect - only 5 mins by car to the shops,restaurants and beaches. This is such a great place - you will not be disappointed!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gbolade S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real Island Living”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Perfect location for a family holiday. Good distance from all that is good about Barbados. I could stay in this property all day and still get the island feel that Barbados offers. Area sits close to the top of a hill and features a lot of early morning visits to the property by Monkeys. Carol, the owner, is a very lovely lady who lives nearby (but your privacy is intact) and is more than willing to help as may be required. Property has a very decent swimming pool which was perfect for days we decided to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Open Space, hammock and the wrap around verandah
Liked least: One room gets stuffy at night due to no cross ventillation - could also be due to season we were there.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing