We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for us”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Forge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

sydney b
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect for us”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is our second year at The Old Forge and we enjoyed it just as much as ever.
If you want a lovely holiday come to Great Ayton, have a Suggets ice cream a pork pie from the butchers, a walk up Roseberry Topping and stay at The Old Forge.

Perfect
,

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed your latest stay at The Old Forge, we really hope to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara40...
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Gathering”
Reviewed January 12, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The house is in a lovely location with plenty of amenities ,shops and Pubs within the village with plenty of open spaces for dog walking and hiking.
The house is of a good size and was clean warm and comfortable with a well stocked kitchen.
We were warmly welcomed by the owners who had thoughtfully provided a decorated Christmas tree and a beautiful seasonal welcome food pack, which was gratefully received.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as did the whole family thank you very much.

Date of stay: December 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
So glad you enjoyed your Christmas stay, we hope we can welcome you back to The Old Forge really soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnfaye
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 11, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely clean and comfortable property, in a very nice area. All amenities just a stone's throw away from the door. The owners have thought of pretty much everything. We loved our few nights here with the open log fire. Would highly recommend! Thank you.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
Thank you for your fantastic review, we hope we can welcome you back to The Old Forge really soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HullColly...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Cosy cottage in central village location”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wonderful cottage in a central location near to village shops and pub. Lovely open fire. Fantastic for larger family gatherings. Excellent walk from the cottage to the top of Roseberry Topping with amazing views. Comfy beds, two good showers and kitchen very well equipt. Nice touch with welcome provisions on arrival. Thanks for a great weekend.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
Thank you for your great review, hope we can welcome you back to The Old Forge soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney b
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The Old Forge Has It All”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location for us was perfect We were a party of 6 and Jasper our labradoodle.
The walks in the area are great especially Roseberry Topping.
Everything we needed was at the Old Forge, it was warm it was comfortable. What more can you ask

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Hi Sydney, thank you for your fantastic review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back to The Old Forge in the future. Alex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the Old Forge in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Decor needs updating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for your great review - we try very hard to make our guests comfortable but we can't help the North Yorkshire weather unfortunately! Hopefully you will have some sunshine on your next visit to The Old Forge.
Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.