We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good noodles and service!”

Ito Kyuemon Uji Honten
Ranked #3 of 769 Restaurants in Uji
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Southern Kyoto
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Southern Kyoto
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

It was lunchtime when we visited today. We waited for less than half an hour for seats. There are also some souvenirs for you to buy. It was thoughtful of the staff to offer us some cold tea and green tea desserts to try while we were waiting. Instead of the desserts, we tried the cold green tea noodles, which was great! The texture of the noodles is nice. Will go again and try some other food next time when I come again.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank PennyT581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

Ordered yokubari matcha parfait (972 yen) and the Sakura parfait (972 yen). The ice cream is very little but comes with so much various type of jelly cubes. IMHO it is just an average dessert not to to die for.
This restaurant is about 5 mins walking distance from Uji (Keihan) line, not Uji (JR) line. There is a section that sells many matcha items. You can browse to buy them. We did buy quite a number items including matcha curry !

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank lydiaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2016

It is easy to get to -- only a few minutes walk out of Uji station. The place is kind of small, so you might encounter a long queue, which we did. But then we had a table in the garden, which is even better than in the house, even though it was a bit cold but no worries! you're well taken care of, there are blankets and a stove for each table. The matcha is brilliant and everything there is made of it. We tried tea, noodles and rice balls with red bean soup.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2015

We visited this place as a 2nd options after Tokichi as we tried to queue but apparently Tokichi run out almost of the stuffs before the lunch time end. Itohkyuemon main branch is pretty big and they have both cafe and the store. We waited about 20 minutes and finally got the seat, we ordered their matcha soba, warabi mochi and matcha parfait. Actually their menu is pretty similar with Tokichi only Tokichi have some more selections for matcha soba set and the dessert.

The matcha soba is just like what we expected, light and pretty good but not something that we will come back for. On the other hand, I love their parfait more than Tokichi and that what we may come back for. After finish your meal, you can go around to shop at their store and they really have a lot of selections in Matcha from chocolate, tea, cake, cookies and even curry. So its a MUST to visit if you are a matcha lover !

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2015

We decided to have lunch here after visiting Byodo-in. It was not that far of a walk and very easy to find.

We got the green tea soba noodles (amazing), matcha cappucinno (even more amazing), matcha sweetroll (off the charts amazing) and matcha cheesecake (utterly ridiculously amazing).

This was my favorite dining experience on my Japan trip. We stocked up at the store to bring tons of stuff home like matcha sake, wine, the green tea soba noodles, etc. I wish we could have packed the matcha cheesecake and sweetroll in our luggage, but alas they are cold. I can't wait until my next Japan trip so we can come back here! All the staff were so nice in the restaurant and the store.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank phoenixasia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ito Kyuemon Uji Honten also viewed

 
Uji, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Uji, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Ito Kyuemon Uji Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing