We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Inn Catavina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catavina
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A True Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

After a long day of driving and you're out in the middle of nowhere, the Desert Inn surrounded by the enchanting Boojum Tree forest is the perfect refuge. The rooms are very clean and arched corridors leading to the pool, restaurant, and lobby invites you to relax from a busy day of navigating the winding roads of the Baja. I didn't try the food but the bar had enough tequila and cold beer to quell my thirst. I was impressed by how well maintained the hotel was considering it's location. The price was moderate for the quality and location of this property. At sunset I suggest taking a stroll in the quiet desert to enjoy the long shadows of the cactus and the colors reflecting off the immense boulders from the brilliant sunset. The next morning I found it curiously quaint getting fuel for the vehicle. You must drive across the road and purchase one or more of the jugs of gas lined up along the roadside. All your needs and necessities are satisfied at this little oasis.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcanyoncurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamul, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stopped at this hotel with two other couples on March 31, 2012. We found it nicer than we had ever seen it before. Rooms-spotless, and power all of the time. The grounds and landscaping were is top shape throughout. The food was good overall, depending on what you ordered. A bit pricey, but all of Baja has become more expensive over the past 30 years! Service was good, and staff very nice. We would definitely recommend this as a stop.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mision, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

After a late arrival on a dark, rainy night, we were ready to relax and have a nice warm meal.
A large party filled the dining facility, but with encouragement, a table was made up for our party in the corner. The service was acceptable, an overworked waiter tried his best, but I'm dumbfounded still at how you can make nachos and cheese enchiladas inedible!

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, with tv, soaps & toiletries, but the prices were high. Thank goodness for the locals' discount. We'll probably stay here again next year on our return from whale watching...because it's the only game in town, but we'll eat before we get there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I loved this place! After a rather hairy drive with the last hour being in the dark we arrived at this wonderful place in the middle of nowhere. It was quite cold on arrival but the restaurant and the bar were well heated and we played billiards and had a great unwinding session with margaritas and red wine in the warm bar. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. the hotel was built round a courtyard which contained two smallish pools. It was too cold too swim in February but I can imagine it would be magical to swim under the desert stars in the summer. I awoke to a desert paradise right outside the bedroom window. the desert either side of the hotel is very beautiful, with white granite rocks beautifully placed by Nature and wonderful fact, including the beautiful cedrous trees. iIf you get a chance visit the pintrura rupestres five minutes north of the hotel. You park and walk for about five minutes up to an overhang (watch out for rattlesnakes...there are warning signs although we didn't see any) Magic to see these wonderful paintings done by the Yuman tribes. make sure you buy water from the hotel before you move on. The restaurant was good , especially the breakfast. The evening meal also good although the chef was a bit liberal with the salt. 90 dollars a night, but well worth it for such a gem in the middle of nowhere. Don't forget to step a little away from the noisy generators and the lights to look at the night sky!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona, Utah
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We passed this going south, made a note of it, then stopped on the drive back to the US. We were informed by the front desk clerk that this place is no longer affiliated with the Desert Inn chain of Baja hotels. Mexican decor, thick walls with big windows. Air conditionied. Clean, sweet lavender smelling sheets. Out in the middle of the Baja desert cactus environment. Rocky terrain. Nicely landscaped walking path out back to explore and decompress. Onsite power generators are a bit loud, but they provide the electricity that makes it possible to run the hotel and restaurant. Traditional Mexican food was passable, not great. Only downside was low class California tourists next door - saggy old women changing their clothes with the door wide open. They were an embarassment to the more thoughtful American guests. Apologies Mexicans!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UtahShunpiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio vista
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

An unbelievable find in the middle of nowhere. The staff was helpful, the grounds were extraordinarily clean, the rooms were clean-truly a desert oasis. The staff brought us cervezas and margaritas by the pool while our kids played, and yummy chips and salsa out of the blue! Dinner and breakfast were delicious and, the best part, my dad was able to put the whole thing on his visa card! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcyrutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

After hours of car through a beautiful but hot and dusty desert, it was like heaven getting here. Beautiful, fresh, large, clean rooms, and very good restaurant.
Not exactly "budget", for Baja California standards, not very expensive either, and well worth it.
At the time of my stay, renewal works were taking place on the roof and in courtyards.
I would go back again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gallettgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catavina
26.5 km away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
5.8 km away
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Palacio Azteca Hotel
#17 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
5.2 km away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel La Mesa
Hotel La Mesa
#30 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Velario
Hotel Velario
#37 of 46 in Tijuana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Inn Catavina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn Catavina

Property: Desert Inn Catavina
Address: San Quintin Punta Prieta portion of Highway 1, Km. 178, Catavina, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Catavina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catavina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Inn Catavina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Inn Catavina Hotel Catavina
Desert Hotel Catavina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing