We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday!”
Tea / Coffee Table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tea / Coffee Table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Tea / Coffee Table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Natteebee
1 review
“Wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed March 3, 2020 for a stay in February 2020

The Bungalow is quite honestly the best place we have ever stayed! Everything from start to finish was lovely. Sathis and his wife are the warmest, most welcoming hosts. The food is delicious and the service is top class. We cannot fault this beautiful, peaceful oasis and are looking forward to returning. Thank you for giving us the most wonderful stay and a 30th birthday to remember!

Date of stay: February 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2020
Thank you for patronizing us. We certainly enjoyed your lovely company and the charm you added. Please accept our very sincere appreciation for writing a carefully worded review with a beautiful description of the bungalow. Looking forward to hosting you again and all the very best to all of you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bioun1993
1 review
“A home away home.”
Reviewed July 30, 2019 for a stay in July 2019

We spent our honeymoon at this wonderful place. It was just a woow from the welcome to the farewell. The most hospitable hosts that i ever seen, they gave us the most pesonalized service which you can ever experience. The food was so delicious, which makes mouth watering when you just see the preparation. The location is as such, it makes u never leave the place, it's soo calm and peaceful. I would reccomend this place to anyone without a second thought! Cheers!! Mr & Mrs Abeysuriya and the team! Thank you soo much!

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2019
Thank you for appreciating our services and the property by giving a vivid description of all what you experienced. It is very encouraging to see that the value proposition we are offering to our guests i.e. less for more is working well. In a Home Stay environment, its the human touch that finally puts the ‘finishing touch’. Manel & I along with our team wish to convey our best regards and we wish both of you a very happy and a prosperous future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJayaweer...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Holiday! ”
Reviewed May 29, 2019 for a stay in May 2019

Dear Sathis,

Just writing a note to say a very big thank you to you and your lovely wife for giving us the best holiday we’ve had in a while.
I’m writing on behalf of my husband and all our friends who traveled with us.
All of us had a wonderful time. Your home is beautifully built and situated in the most relaxing and picturesque spot on the estate.

However a beautiful house is nothing without warm people. This is exactly what we encountered at your home. The warmest and best Sri Lankan hospitality. Starting with your lovely wife and Sugath. We truly felt so at home from the time we got there. They attended to all our needs and anticipated what we needed even before we did!

A special mention must be made of the very tasty meals that were prepared and presented with a lot of care. We enjoyed each and every meal.

Thank you for being so precise and upfront with all the booking details as well. It was all such a smooth operation and very pleasant experience from start to finish.

In our group, most of us work long stressful hours and everybody commented that they were able to relax their minds after a while because of the sheer beauty and informal nature of the place. A truly successful and much enjoyed holiday indeed.

I will definitely be in touch as we would love to visit again.

Thank you very much. My kindest regards to you, your family and the entire staff at the bungalow.

Warm Regards.

Date of stay: May 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2019
Dear Jovanka, Please accept my most sincere thanks and heartfelt gratitude for expressing your frank opinion using carefully chosen words. This is one of the most comprehensive and heart-worming reviews I have received during our 29 months operation. As much as you enjoyed your stay, we too had the privilege of enjoying your gracious and charming presence.

Looking forward to your next visit and hope I will be around to enjoy the privilege of hosting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timeway
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“AMAZING LOCATION !”
Reviewed May 17, 2019 for a stay in April 2019
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely wonderfull stay at Makaludola Bungalow, the view from the swimming pool is amazing, the food Satis and her team made for me was the best I received in Sri Lanka, it was the most beautifull place I stayed while visiting this country. Thank you so much. Cheers from Buenos Aires.Pascal

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2019
Thank you for taking time to write a beautifully worded review. As much as you enjoyed your stay at Makuludola Bungalow, we too enjoyed your lovely company. Please do come again and all the very best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grummy
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 18, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

This is the most wonderful place. Spotlessly clean, beautiful furnishings some of which are antique.Extremely comfortable rooms, with lots of hot hot waterin the bathroom. It is in a Cinnamon plantation and we were taken to see the cinnamon being stripped and oil being made, it was very interesting. Food was excellent and service above excellent. Swimming pool was just outside the house and with views which stretched for miles.
It seems that not too many people know about Makuludola Bungalow which I one way is a shame but in anther way it is wonderful that you can just about have the whold place to yourselves!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2019
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a beautifully worded review. As much as you enjoyed your stay at Makuludola Bungalow, we were privileged to enjoy your lovely company and charming presence. Please do come again and all the very best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.